Showing posts with label sweets. Show all posts
Showing posts with label sweets. Show all posts

Thursday, October 06, 2011

Food Spot: Hana Restaurant in Little Tokyo

I met together with Lea again last monday for some girl bonding time. We decided to eat lunch at Little Tokyo.

First spot on the rosters of restos there is Hana.


The resto is actually pretty small, but it has that real japanese feel to it.


It even has that nice sushi bar!


We were just talking while waiting for our orders. We ended up with almost the same order, tempura udon, but the waitress suggested if i want soba just to make it different & i said ok.

Tempura!!!!

There's really a difference when you eat tempura at an authentic japanese restaurant compared to ordinary japanese fast foods. Tempura in regular fast foods are just fried shrimp covered in batter. Tempura here is way way beyond those bland ones that you order somewhere out there.

Hana's tempura is somewhat sticky on the inside, which compliments the refreshing taste of the shrimp. You can really tell that they used fresh shrimps! I have never been a fan of shrimp dishes all because i can't really tell the taste of it from other seafood, but this time, i was able to fully savor the taste of the shrimp!

It's juicy & a bit sticky on the inside but crispy & light on the outside. Ah.... i have to go back if only for their tempura! It gave me a taste of what seafood heaven is like!


Mine is Soba...

I have never tasted Soba this good!
If you are hesitant in trying out japanese noodle dish, start out with this one. I'm sure you'll love it!
Especially for filipinos since the soup base is actually sweet, not too sweet though. Just enough to give your taste buds some sweet tender loving!

The soba is firm yet soft.
Unlike other noodle dishes that i've tried where the noodles are overcooked it just crumbles with the touch of your utensils. It doesn't have any strong taste so it compliments the soup base really well. I just hope that put in a couple slices of kamaboko. I like kamaboko!

I didn't put the tempura in my soba because i don't want to drench it with the soup. I rather like it crispy!


Hers is Udon...

I just also tasted her soup & compare to mine, the udon soup base is not as sweet as mine. I guess it compliments the udon better with the soup base as being savory better than sweet.


banana parfait - Php 180

One of the classic japanese dessert!
I was actually looking for pudding on the menu but since they don't have it so i just copied Lea's order too.hehe

I thought that it's just one of the usual sweet treats that you can order from common dessert shop. Actually, it almost is. The only difference is in the ice cream that they used. I think it's a vanilla flavored home-made ice cream! The texture is really different but i think that's what made it quite special!

Unfortunately, it was drowned with the big dollop of whipped cream & choco syrups but it's still nice to know that it complimented everything perfectly.

The bar for my taste of japanese food has just been raised when i dined at Hana!
Oh, one more thing, Hana is known for their takoyaki.

I tasted their takoyaki the first time i dined there together with Walter. It's good!
Well, im not a fan of ginger so i didn't really like it because of the Beni Shoga, but it's way better than the takoyaki that you buy at the mall. I guess next time i buy takoyaki, i'll just ask them to hold off on Beni Shoga. hehe

We also went to Teppen to buy some groceries... as if i didn't make a stop at Choto Stop for my furikake fix..hehehe

furikake - Php 80 each at Choto Stop

I could live with furikakes alone! hehe
I'm not sure about the shiso furikake though. That's the first one that i've opened. I like sesame leaf but this shiso furikake is quite overwhelming.. hmmm...

On to what i bought at Teppen....

seasoned laver (kim) - Php 45 each ( i bought 5 packs)

I love love love Kim/Gim!
I actually prefer this over Nori. 
I just can't describe it but it's more delicious...

 instant noodle - Php 25

I'm sorry but i don't know what kind of noodle this is. I think it's still ramyun... just not spicy.
Unlike the Shin ramyun that is soooooooooooooo spicy it makes my ears itch, makes my face red, makes my eyes teary & makes me sweat tons!
LOL

Almond Pepero - Php 39

Yes, it's only Php 39!!!!
Compare to Almond Pocky that you can buy at SM for double or sometimes even triple the price, this one is only for less than a dollar! I actually got 3 boxes but i gave it to my brothers. hehe

Then finally, as if the banana parfait wasn't enough. I asked Lea to also try out their ice creams. She bought an Ice Cream Sandwich, while i got the Double Bianco!

Double Bianco - Php 55

It's not named as Double if it isn't double!

What you see there is the sweet vanilla ice cream generously slathered with thick strawberry syrup, but underneath is a nice surprise! A sorbet! The tangy taste of sorbet compliments the sweetness of the vanilla ice cream!
^_^

I am one happy & full lady!

hahaha!
Thanks for the pic,Lea!
At least hindi na ko mukhang sako dito!
LOL

I'll make a haul post tomorrow.
Hope you all will have a great day,ladies!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Sweets: Matcha Pudding~

A little break from beauty blogging...
let's about something sweet!

I love matcha!
Every time i go to a coffee shop, i always look for matcha lattes/frappuccinos. The best one i've tasted so far is the one from Bo's Coffees. Make sure you try it when you are in Bo's. I think i've tried Starbucks before but since i can't even remember it then i guess it didn't made an impact.
*shrugs shoulder*

Anyway, i bought this at Choto Stop last thursday. It is in a pack of 3 & i gave the other 2 to my brothers.


It's a very light & sweet pudding!


I'm actually expecting that it would have a bitter sweet taste just like the regular japanese pudding, but since it doesn't have a caramel so there isn't.


It's very sweet!
Unfortunately it doesn't even have the matcha taste that i am looking for. If there is the sweetness of this hid the matcha flavor. sad....

My brother actually gobbled it in just 2 bites!
haha
I'm sure kids will love it!

While, I, on the other hand tried to really relish it by taking small bites in order to really experience the full taste. I won't recommend it if you really want a strong matcha taste, but for something light that can clean your palette from the heavy meal that you've eaten, this is good!
^_^

I bought a pack of 3 for Php80 at Choto Stop.
Now, i have to make my own matcha pudding!

Hope you are enjoying your wednesday,darlings!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

ps:
I will post the pin-up look (for those who had requested it on facebook) within this week. I just can't find teh time to finish it up because i am not satisfied with how i explained it on my draft..haha!
But i will post it!
^_~

Friday, September 09, 2011

salamat to salamat.ph + korean & japanese food!

The best things in life are free...so as what the saying goes.
It's great that there is a company that actually believes in that & really gives out some of the best things in life for free! I'm talking about Salamat.ph.

I went to Makati yesterday because i have to drop by at Salamat.ph's office to claim the GCs that i was able to grab  from their site. For those who have been asking me if their site is real, yes it is! Most discount/group buying websites will require you to pay in credit cards or paypal. How about for those who doesn't have any? Well, fret no more, Salamat.ph wouldn't require you to any of it since you just need to download the coupon for free then present it to the merchant! How easy is that?!

Yes, it's true!
You can check it out HERE.

Here are my GCs that i got from their website.


Their office is located at the 6th floor of Multinational Bancorporation Center along Ayala Avenue in Makati.


Here are their gorgeous ladies, April & Mylene (i hope i remember that right!), who accommodated me. They are very friendly! Thanks,ladies!


Salamat, salamat.ph!
I'll be bringing my mom when i drop by at Skin Metro to avail of their services. Yipee!
Guys, do check out their site Salamat.ph because they offer great deals. Make sure you also take a quick look at their community board to find out the latest promos happening.

I'm not affiliated with the company, i'm just sharing my experience as a user.

Then, i decided to drop by at Choto Stop to buy some japanese foods. I just decided to walk from Ayala to their store..yes, i was able to make it through. haha!

I first passed by Teppen to buy a couple of Gim (Korean Seaweed Laver) because i prefer it over Nori.


I'm actually bad at directions, but since i was just walking i thought that i won't get lost...luckily, i was able to reach my destination..haha!

I was just planning on getting some furikake since i want to make some onigiris. I bought that onigiri/kimbap wrapper because i remember watching it at Aeris' video before, so furikake to make my onigiri better is what i need. But when i browse around the store, i found out that they do have Maxim Strawberry Latte!


Cho Ureshii~!
I have been craving for this & i have been seriously checking out NapaJapan.com even though i have put myself on an online shopping ban. The urge to drink it again is so overwhelming. I wanna scream when i found that they have a lot of boxes!

I died & went to Maxim Latte heaven! My original plan of buying 3 furikakes, enokitake, & dashi powder all vanished just because i saw pink in my eyes!
La la la la la~!

I also saw one Matcha pudding hidden in their freezer & i immediately grabbed it!
OMG!
I can't believe that i am lucky!
I asked if they do have Maxim Matcha Latte but they said that they are out of stock but they do carry it. I have to really drop by every now & then.

For those wondering how much it is. Most items in Choto Stop are sold for Php80 each... except their instant noodles which are Php50 each.

Yay!
I'm so happy i could fly!

Then when i got home, a package greeted me & when i opened it, i saw a cute purple box full of Nivea goodies!


What a way to end my day!
Yay!

I love Nivea products!
I have tried their eye cream & it does work! Take a look at my post to see the difference.

Did you all know that Kate Middleton actually uses Nivea Cream?
Yes, it's true.
You can read it HERE.

No wonder she looks amazing! I tell you, Nivea products are amazing!

I'll do a review for their creams most probably next year. I am using collagen as my night cream & i can't stop it yet. You'll only see the effects of topical collagen products with at least 6 months of using it, as what i read on an article before.

I usually hate thursday, but this time, it's an exception.
I'm so happy yesterday!
Shiawase~!
^_^

I'll be making a pin-up look today, if i could do it because of my busy schedule so just wait for it,ok?

Hope that you'll have a nice friday,hunnies!
Jaa ne~!
^_~

Monday, August 15, 2011

Food Spot: Gloria Jeans Coffees

I went to Robinson's Galleria last Saturday because i figured that it's the shortest way from the MRT Ortigas Station to Strata 100, that's where my Make-up Workshop was held the past 2 Saturdays. I was late on my first Saturday & i don't want to be late again so i was already in the Ortigas area an hour early. hahaha!

I took the long route before by going around St. Francis Square just to get to that building so i was 30mins late! geez!!

It's 12pm & i haven't had my lunch yet so i decided to grab a quick brunch (yes, i don't eat breakfast!). Gloria Jeans is located at the main entrance of the East Wing & since i want to make sure that i can break into a sprint if ever i am already late so i decided to hang my hat there for a while.

I don't frequent coffee shops as much as i do before & mostly i just stick with one shop so this is my first time trying out Gloria Jeans.


I ordered their Mixed Berry Smoothie & Blueberry Muffin. I love Blueberry Muffins! Just give me a whole tray of it & i'll die happily! hahaha!

I just asked them to have it on the go since i plan to really walk.


Their Mixed Berries is nice though i find it sweet. I didn't know how they made it or if they put an artificial sweetener but i find it sweet for my taste. I am used to a very mild sweet taste. that's why. I still like it though...

As for the blueberry muffin....hmmm....


I'm still undecided though....
It's very filling, of course, but as for the taste, i think the ones from French Baker is still by far my favorite!
I like the cream cheese on top, plus the fact that they reheated this but then i don't find any special taste to it to make an impact on me.

But this muffin is big!
I just ate half of it & i'm already full so i just kept the other half.
I lasted more than 6 hours on this whole piece alone!hahaha!

The center of the muffin is filled with blueberry jam so be careful when breaking this in half because the jam would ooze from it.


The smoothie & this muffin gave me the energy to survive the whole day.

I can't judge GJ on these 2 alone though so the next time i go back i'll be trying out their lattes instead.
Any recommendation?

Have a great evening,sweeties!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Monday, August 01, 2011

Sweets: Maxim Strawberry Latte

Just a quick post...
One of the best latte that i have tasted!


This is perfect for those days that just seems to never end.


If you are stressed out from all the work & activities, just pop open a pack of this & pour it on a cup of hot milk. You'll be engulfed with the sweet scent of strawberry as you hear the popping sound that it makes as it dilutes in the hot liquid.


It's so frothy it's like the ones from coffee shops!
As you drank it, the wonderful taste of strawberries just seems to spread to take away any lingering taste in your mouth. It tastes so mild but not overly sweet.


I just wish that Maxim Lattes are available here in the Philippines. I'd kill just to see this on the grocery aisle, that's how good this is!

I have been checking NapaJapan when they will be restocking this but to no avail...
*sigh*

Anyway, if you ever get the chance to travel in Japan, make sure you grab a few boxes of this. You'll be thanking me once you tasted how awesome this is!

By the way, thanks for the support & motivation, ladies!
I really appreciate it.
My camera is now working! Thank goodness for little things!
^_^

Hope you all will have a great start for this month!
Jaa ne~!
^_~

Tuesday, May 03, 2011

Spotted: Kit Kat Mint Chocolate~

Nestle Philippines is bringing in new Kit Kat flavors in the market & boy! am i glad~

I have been fascinated with all the different flavors of Kit Kat in Japan. It makes me wish that somehow it would also be available here in our country as well. When i spotted this at the grocery yesterday i thought that this would most probably be a chance for new flavored Kit Kats to be available!


They also have an orange flavored one but since i don't like the combination of choco & orange so i didn't buy it.


I like that when you break the fingers it will have this mild minty scent that will trickle your nostril!


It doesn't have a strong minty flavor so even if you don't like mint chocolates you'll still be able to appreciate this. It just served to enhance that choco goodness that Kit Kat is known for. The melt-in-your-mouth chocolate that Kit Kat is known for is still there & is no way altered by the mint so it's a delight in the palate!

I bought this at the SM Hypermarket for Php 109 (i think) per pack. One pack contains 9 bars of 2 finger wafers.

Makes me think too if they are planning to have a pinoy version just like how kit kat have their very own japanese version. I'm not sure if i i'll like that... Can you imagine a "guinataan" flavored Kit Kat?! LOL!

I'm just thinking way way ahead...sorry! Don't mind the babbling of an over excited Japanese Kit Kat fan.. XD

If you like Kit Kats then make sure you try this one,ok?
^_~

Have a great day,ladies!
Jaa ne~!

Monday, December 06, 2010

Sweets: Maxim Matcha Latte

 When im feeling tired or restless i reach for a cup of tea. Even if i am trying to not take too much caffeine i can't help myself. It's like a cup of tea can cast a relaxing spell on me. For that extra strenuous day, i pop open Maxim's Matcha Latte.


I sure hope that this is available here but then i guess that's just wishful thinking. I got this from Eileen who bought it at Japan... 


I saw a website (NapaJapan.com) where you could buy these, but they are almost always out of stock.. T_T
It's so easy to do this for you just have to pour hot water then let it fizz away! I would want to try the traditional way of preparing matcha but this one is good for those who wanted to enjoy matcha in an instant.


In my case i prefer milk for it makes it all the more creamy & it compliments the matcha flavor really good!


See how frothy it is?


Matcha Latte daisuki~!
^_^

I am about to run out of this so i am searching high & low where i could buy it. Anyone knows a website where i can buy this? I don't mind buying this online even though i am avoiding the tax.. but i can risk it for this one. That's how much i L-O-V-E this!

Do you also like green tea?
If you could get your hands on this one, make sure that you do!

Another nail design will be up maybe tomorrow~!
Have a great evening/day,ladies!

Jaa ne~!
^_~

Sunday, November 21, 2010

Sweets: Ice Cream Sandwich + a cute polish!

There was a time when ice cream sandwich is available here when i was a kid. I don't know the name though... i remember loving the Coney Island ice cream when i was a kid but it just disappeared after a while..so sad.

Anyway, i immediately bought this since i love ice cream sandwiches!


Sorry, i can't translate it since i can't read korean characters...


This is how it looks like. It's actually a sponge cake!


This greeted me when i opened it.
It's cookies & cream ice cream sandwiched between 2 soft sponge cake.


Itadakimasu!
*chomp*
*chomp*

This is delicious!
The sponge cake is actually really soft & compliments the ice cream perfectly.
It's not too sweet & it doesn't break off very easily unlike others that i have eaten. The ice cream is also not too sweet so you can gooble it down without any 'it-might-give-me-cavities' type of worry.

You might not believe it, but as i keep on eating it, i keep on saying "delicious!" every now & then. It's that good!


I try to do small bites trying to fool myself but i keep on eating & eating that i realize that there's no more.

Oh well, I'll definitely be buying this again. This is the perfect reward for me if ever i do something hard & accomplished it. It's just Php 39!

I bought it here at Homesaver...


Where they sell Korean housewares & etc...


They even sell some beauty tools & what nots.. I bought a really good nail polish that has a hint of holographic on it. It's really pretty! It's Ottie Nail Polish #45 in Tender Polish. I bought it for Php100 (approx $2).


I never realized that taking a good pic of holographic polish is hard to do. I wasn't able to take a good one since as what i said it's just a hint of holographic, not really a full holo look. But i'm already happy with it!


Can you see it?
It's hard to,huh?

Anyway, there are also a lot of nail art stickers on it which is only for Php 33 which is way cheaper compare to buying it at the mall! Yay for that!

Well, I always drop by Homesaver as much as i can. I also love the korean snacks that they carry. I'll make a post about the best ones that i've tasted so far.

I just had a pretty relaxing weekend.
How about yours?

Hope you will all have a good start for your week, ladies!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Sweets: Bungeoppang Ice Cream

I was just browsing around a korean store in a small mall the other day, named Homesavers. I like going there because they have a lot of nice stuff, but not as cheap as Saizen though. I was surprised because the last time i was there they don't sell any foods but now they do!

Ureshii wa!
I'm happy!
^_^

I happily bought a couple of korean foods & of course i didn't pass up the opportunity to try the bungeoppang ice cream that i found on their freezer. In Japan, they call it as Taiyaki... shape is the same.

Sorry if the pic looks crappy because i only used my cell phone. I didn't expect to do a food taking session at that time.


I was surprised when i saw this in the chest freezer. I would have bought more at that time but i know that it would be bad for the weather was so hot that time & buying ice cream then traveling home might just make it end up in a mess.

I was walking but stopping some time just to take these pics...hehe


Oishisou?
Looks delicious?


Let's take a bite then!
Itadakimasu!
*taking a big bite*


See how much the vanilla ice cream is inside?
I love it!

The "bread" (i'm not even sure what to call it!) is chewy. It's almost a wafer minus the crunch factor... it's like if you make the wafer chewy then you'll have this. I like it. It actually compliments everything.


You'll see how much the red bean is once you get to the middle part of it. I know that beans is not good for my knees, but what the heck?! I like it! It doesn't have that strong bean taste, in fact the taste is subtle & you might not even realize that what you are eating are actually beans!

Amai!
Sweet!

If i'm not mistaken, Binggrae is the company that made these. On which they are known for their snack items.. i have tasted their Melona popsicle & it's good too!

For those who wanted to try this too, you can buy it at Homesavers, that got 2 branches in Metro Manila. 1 in Araneta Square Monumento & the other is at Tutuban Mall (based on what the SA said to me). I bought mine at Araneta Square in Monumento. I'm planning to do a little post about it since i'll be blogging about sweets,right?

I'm not actually sure if i should just do stolen shots or ask the permission of the management in taking pics. I personally don't like using my blog to be given free reign over something. Speaking of that, i remember 1 time when i attended an event, there were people asking me if i had a business card... that got me confused... do i need a business card?

I'm a blogger & i don't really plan on making blogging as business or something. I know some people actually do it, but not in my case. Should i?For some reason the thought of doing that & giving my card away seems embarrasing...
(-__-")

Well, there goes my 2nd sweets post!

Hope y'all will have a relaxing day!
Jaa~!
^_^

Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...