Showing posts with label skincare. Show all posts
Showing posts with label skincare. Show all posts

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can already tell. I mean, I can feel how my skin lacks something & it just feels different too. It was the perfect opportunity to try out something new since I think my skin had been pretty neutral already.


So, I guess it's high time now to tell you all what I think about the products that they've sent me. It's been 2 months (i got this 2nd of May this year but I only started using it a week after that) now so I can safely tell my opinion about this compared to people who had just used this in such a short time.

I have to be honest, I don't use all of them. In fact, I am only using 2 as of the moment, the Dump Off Drawn & I'm Wrinkle Insulator. I hate piling products on my skin because it just suffocates my skin. I feel like there's a lot going on in my skin so I try to use as little as possible. I might give some thoughts on Soothe & Matte, Off With Those Heads, etc.. but I prefer to do a separate post on them in the future once I've really gone on using them.

The products that I chose are mostly anti-aging because I'm already 28 & I want to be able to prevent any fine lines & wrinkles as much as possible. With that said, it would be pretty hard for me to really show you any dramatic change in my skin because I'm a firm believer that anti-aging products should work slowly & not shock the skin into changing it. If the anti-aging products that I am using cause a dramatic change in such a short time (like Olay's claim of 7 days wonder!) I will automatically ditch it because it would be scary to see the effect if I'll be using it for such a long time.

This first post will be about my favorite anti-aging product of all~ (Yes, I'm saying that it's the best I've tried so far!) This deserved a separate post because of its awesomeness!!! I didn't even realize how visible the results are until i did the side-by-side comparison of the before & after.

In that case, Bliv is doing pretty well. Let me start by telling you about my experience...


Isn't the packaging cool?!
This ampule-like packaging is just simply the best! It's so hygienic & very easy to use too! I love it!

It makes me feel like I'm applying something formulated by genius people who have already found the solution to all skin problems.


But of course, this is just not about the packaging, right?
Let's take a look at the box description


You can take a look at the website description too. Click HERE.

Now for my verdict...
I am really trying hard to find fault in this product but I can't! It broke the image of serum that I had. I've always thought of serums as heavy & sticky, something so concentrated that it suffocates your skin. But this one doesn't!

This is just like water!


It feels so light it's really just like you applied water on your skin. It is absorbed really easily. No need to wait for minutes especially if you're on the go. I hate it when my skincare takes too long to be absorbed by my skin. It makes make-up application really hard & troublesome too. You think everything is ok then once you applied your powder on... boom! Immediate caking happens! argh!

I like how this product doesn't give that "visible results" look immediately because the effect of this is giving you more of a younger feel. It just feels like my skin is firmer within a few weeks.

Now, this stuff is not really moisturizing. I mean, if you are the type who needed additional moisture then you will need to apply your favorite moisturizer on top of it. This is applied prior to your skincare routine, as most serums usually are. So don't go thinking that this would substitute your usual moisturizer.

Very skin-friendly & easily absorbed by the skin. I can't stress enough how important that is to me since i sweat very easily. I can't abide heavy products because they make my skin sweat instantly which is just useless because my skin hasn't even absorbed it fully yet to reap the benefits & it's already on its way out.

You wouldn't really see/feel anything after a couple of days of use. I think the effect of this can just be felt over a long period of time, on which I'm just so happy that I waited until 2 months until I made this post because this is a very nice product to try.

Let the picture do the talking now...
I zoomed it in, go ahead & click to your heart's content & tell me if my skin didn't look younger with continued use of this.


I forgot to just put the word before & after but I think you know how this works... Left is before & Right is after as usual...

How awesome is this?!
It just looks (& definitely feels) younger!
-Smaller pores (seriously?!)
-Smoother skin (close to baby's butt! lol)
-Lessens redness (whoa!)
-Look at my tiny acne scar... it doesn't look as deep anymore!

This is definitely a must-have for me!
I think the picture just told you why even without me enumerating it, no?

You might ask me, are you using anything else?
I know serums are supposed to work together with another product to act as a vehicle but I know my skin & my skin produces oil almost as soon as I wipe my face dry after washing.
But nope! When I use something, I don't use anything else. No creams or even sunblocks (i know it's bad but I just can't abide it), no facial soaps or anything too because I only use Safeguard (you all know that soap, right?) for my face so any changes that you see is all because of this serum.
A-may-zing!!!

Look, no need for make-up already!
W00t! w00t!

I use it 2x a day, morning & evening only together with an eye 'cream' & that's it.
With all that, I guess the only thing to do is to tell you the pros & cons, right?

PROS:
  • true to what they claim. I'm living proof!
  • feels so light like you're not even applying anything at all
  • cute & hygienic packaging
  • fast & free shipping (they use DHL!)

CONS:
  • not locally available (online only-visit their website)
  • expensive ($49 each)

Will I recommend it?
I think you only need to look at the picture to tell you that I highly recommend it.

Now, one thing that you have to be aware of is that since this is available online & will be delivered straight to your house by DHL, you might have to pay customs taxes, which I did. I can't remember the exact amount but I think it's somewhere at around Php 550, I think ($12+). So just be ready to pay for any additional expenses that you might incur though.

I so love this product!
I can't wait until I finish the whole bottle!
What anti-aging products are you using?

I'll be reviewing the other Bliv products that I've tried but they're not as exciting though. This is the only one that deserved a separate post because of its awesomeness! hahaha!

Hope you all are having a great day!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

ps:
Product sent as sample. I did not receive any monetary compensation for this post. Opinion shared is personal view & is no way influenced by the company. Use at your own discretion.

Sunday, October 02, 2011

Collagen by Watsons Hydrating Facial Gel Preview

Sorry for not being able to blog for a week, i have been so busy with my new schedule.
Lots of students... isogashii, isogashii! (busy, busy)
But it's good... i have to make sure i have enough money to invest on my make-up kit anyway.

I have been using this for almost 3 months now so i guess it's high time i do a review about it. I'm sure you have seen this on the aisle of facial moisturizers in Watsons. I initially bought it because at that time my skin is feeling a little bit dry because i temporarily switched to a different soap.

Since this one has hyaluronic acid & is cheap so i thought to myself, why not? What have i got to lose?
I bought it, been using it since mid-July, & im glad that it didn't broke me out so i used it regularly. I'm glad because even if it has dimethicone, it didn't give me a bad skin reaction.

Yay!
I hope that i'll be able to overcome my problems with silicones.

This will just be a pre-review. I figured that it's better to do a pre-review then do a post later so that it'll be easier in the end.


This is what it says....


I'm sure most of you have heard of collagen. You see it in most anti-aging skin care. I think that it's better to start using collagen earlier rather than at a later age. 
Moreover, by the age of 25, collagen levels would start deflating about 1.5% each year. This is the reason why the skin gets wrinkly and nonetheless, old. -by collagencreams.org
What exactly is a collagen?
Collagen.org gave an easy definition of what it is.
Our skin is made mainly of collagen, which is a protein. More than 80% (dry weight) of our skin is made of collagen. There are three major parts to our skin: collagen, elastin, GAGs, Glycosaminoglycans
Collagen is a main structural protein found throughout our body. Collagen provides the strength our tissue and organs require while elastin provides the ability to stretch and recoil.
Just like what they said, it provides the strength our skin requires to keep it firm & smooth. It's like thin fibers underneath which supports the skin. Take a look at this picture. Those white strands are collagen.

pic taken from pchi-china.com

As we get expose to the sun's damaging rays, the collagen in our skin begins to degrade. That's when you start seeing those fine lines on your skin. That's why most of anti-aging creams these days have it because it enhances the production of collagen beneath the skin therefore promoting a vibrant & younger-looking skin.

But keep in mind that this doesn't work instantly,ok?
I remember reading an article before saying that you can just feel the effect of collagen creams (or most topical products) after 6 months of continued use.

What, with all the hype about collagen you can take them in several forms like as topical creams, as injectables, & also as supplements.

Now that you have an idea about the wonders of collagen, let's get to the product itself.


It's packaged in a big tub, so you have to use a spatula every time you use it. It's in gel form (as what it says).


I was expecting that this won't be heavy on the skin since it's in gel form, but it's a bit heavy & sticky. So don't get a big scoop when you use it. You can get away with just a small amount (just the amount that you'll be able to get if you dip the tip of your finger). It will go a long way! It will make it easier to be absorbed by the skin rather than slathering a think gunk on.

Just apply it how you put your regular moisturizer & wait until it sets before you add another product (if you like to layer on different products). You can either apply this as your last regimen, that is if the other products that you do use are way lighter than this.

I like that the expiration date is included at the bottom so i'll know when to ditch it.


As of now, i am liking it so far, but have not seen/feel any obvious effect. As what i said, it might take more than 6 months before i'll be able to see any results. But currently, i find it an OK product.

One thing that turned me off of it is the scent, it has this weird scent that i find a bit disturbing but it just grew on me later on that i don't pay attention to it like before, anyway, the scent will disappear later on.

I have to say that this is quite cheap!
I think i bought it for only Php 150, more or less ($3).
To think that it is already 100g, you get a big amount of product for what you pay for!
*update*
I went to Watsons today & saw that they are having a promo for this.. it's Buy one get one free for only Php 219.
^_^

PROS:
  • locally available
  • affordable
  • has hyaluronic acid
  • large amount of product (it's full to the brim)
  • one tub could last you for a long time (when applying, less is more)
  • really moisturizing! (best for dry skin, but i am able to use this even if i have combination skin)
CONS:
  • no spf
  • heavy & sticky on the skin (less is more)
  • has dimethicone (silicone)
  • somewhat strong scent
  • packaging - have to use spatula pa!
  • only available in Watsons (obviously)
I'll let you all know what i think about it once i'm finished with this tub. Currently, i'm halfway done with it!
^_~
No bad reaction so far!

Hope you all will have a great October!
This is my birth month....
I hope that this will be a lucky month for me.

Have a great week,hunnies!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Monday, July 18, 2011

Artistry Essentials Balancing Set Experience

How many of you know Aristry?
please raise your hand...


I did not even had an idea about this brand, so i was surprised to know by their claim that they are one of the top 5 in prestige brands along with such as Lancome, Estee Lauder, etc. I did a bit of research & surprisingly they are indeed 1 of the top 5 in sales figure!

How come i didn't even have an idea about this brand?!
I got the pleasure of getting to know Artistry a couple of weeks ago by Dr. Meeko Hilario. I was invited on their product launching which is the Artistry Intensive Skincare Anti-wrinkle Firming Serum.

It's an anti-aging product so he asked me if i would be interested to come together with my mom. My mom said sure. We stopped by at their center first to get to know their products.

Their Artistry Centre is located in the heart of Makati.


That's my mom in the pic because she was with me on their launching. My mom was impressed with their the Artistry Intensive Skincare Anti-wrinkle Firming Serum during the launch.

I like this one...


I wasn't able to really try that product but i have tried their Balancing Set so i'll share my thoughts on this set.

Dr. Meeko told me that their Balancing Set is designed specifically for those that got sensitive, combination skin. Since my skin had shifted from very oily,acne-prone to acne-prone,sensitive & combination skin, he suggested that i try out their balancing set since it's not only for sensitive skin but it would provide a mattifying effect as well, so i said sure...


Let's start with their cleanser first:


ESSENTIALS BALANCING CLEANSER
  • Patented Oat Extract gently exfoliates, refines, and smoothes, revealing an even tone and younger-looking skin
  • Exclusive Artistry Tri-Balance features:
  • Desert Hydration Complex, a unique botanical blend featuring Indian Fig, chosen for its ability to live in harsh desert environments, restores optimum hydration
  • Exclusive Artistry Balancing Matrix featuring Burnet Root and Witch Hazel are effective astringents/clarifiers to control shine
  • Hypo Lipid Matrix (HLM) maintains optimum moisture balance
  • Maintains moisture and helps control shine all day
  • Ideal for combination-to-oily skin and safe for sensitive skin
What i like about this cleanser is that it's so gentle it won't leave your skin feeling tight.
It is really able to get rid of any dirt & grime because when i used their toner i did not see any dirt on the cotton pad. I'm sure you have had your share of cleansers that strips the essential lipids of your skin but not the dirt sitting on the surface. You'll know it doesn't work when you use your toner & see dirt on your cotton pad.

It's in a gel-form & it doesn't lather that much (based on what i remember), in fact i was really skeptic as to how it could clean my skin without it lathering, but i was flabbergasted when i saw no traces of dirt on my cotton pad... to think that i braved the city without anything on except moisturizer... yes, no make-up! I can go out now without any make-up at all, but my skin is hardly perfect,ok?

I was exposed in dirt & pollution prior to arriving in their office but this cleanser did remove the dirt off my face...even on the crevices of my nose.

Trust me in on this..
If you are looking for a cleanser that is really gentle & very effective, then this could be a good pick!

Their toner...



ESSENTIALS BALANCING TONER
  • Exclusive Artistry Tri-Balance features:
  • Desert Hydration Complex, a unique botanical blend featuring Indian Fig, chosen for its ability to live in harsh desert environments, restores optimum hydration
  • Exclusive Artistry Balancing Matrix featuring Burnet Root and Witch Hazel are effective astringents/clarifiers to control shine
  • Hypo Lipid Matrix (HLM) maintains optimum moisture balance
  • Mattifying powders and Acerola Cherry absorb and control oil to produce a smooth, matte finish
  • Responds to skin immediate and changing needs preparing skin to receive optimum moisture and treatment benefits
  • Ideal for combination-to-oily skin, providing a long-lasting oil and hydration balance for a matte, shine-free look
  • Safe for sensitive skin

As for this toner....
It is cloudy at the bottom on which you would have to shake it first to make sure you will get all the benefits it claims to have. I'm sure you are familiar with what toners are... it removes any residue that was left from our cleanser & at the same time it preps our skin for the products that you are going to put like moisturizers or serums, etc.

It's true that it does leave a smooth finish as if you apply a small amount of powder on the skin. I guess that is what they call as their mattifying powders. It doesn't sting which is good!

Although one thing that turned me off of this is the scent...
It has this weird "natural" scent on it. I guess in a way it's herbal but it's quite unique... i guess you just have to get used to it though... but it's not something overwhelming that would really put you off of it permanently..LOL! It will grow on your eventually.

Then finally their Balancing Lotion...too bad they don't have anything on their website about it...

It got SPF 15 UVA/UVB protection...

It's in a white fluid-gel form (as far as i remember) that is easily-absorbed by the skin. It's so light it didn't even feel like you put anything at all. It's amazing how your skin just seems to drink it up.It doesn't leave you with a greasy-feeling instead it just feels right somehow. It's not greasy, very light on the skin & seems to somehow "mattify" my skin as well.

I applied my primer before trying out their liquid foundation as well.



I choose the Balancing Foundation in Vanilla for that is their fairest...
It is perfect for my skin. It just seems to disappear on me leaving me with a smooth even look.
I like how it didn't have that heavy-feeling that screams "i'm wearing liquid foundation!". This is one of the nicest liquid foundation that i have tried... not that i'm into liquids, mind you..hehe. But this is really nice!

Please check out Nikki's post about their liquid foundation.

I only used their foundation & i used my own blush & lip products to finish my make-up...
We head on to the product launch together. I'm actually quite happy that i didn't have any reactions at all.

Now here comes the tough part...
I was in an air conditioned-room all through the time & everything felt fine.
The weird thing started when we went out because i felt my face becoming a bit itchy when i perspire for it was hot outside. We were walking on the way to the mall that time. When we got inside the mall, mom said she needed to use the loo because she needs to change her pumps to just her sandals.

I decided to remove my make-up on because i can't stand the itching while we were outside but as we were on the way to the loo, i felt the irritating reaction was disappearing that by the time we were in the loo, it was all gone! Weird,huh?

So i didn't bother removing my make-up anymore.
We went out of the mall again to catch the late train all the while mum was talking to dad because he is also on the way home & was thinking of passing by Makati area so we can hitch home. As soon as my skin perspired again, i felt that trickling of itchy sensation once more. It gets intense that i had to stretch & make face several times just to minimize the sensation that i am feeling.

As we waited for dad, we went in a convenience store & of course, it's cool there... i felt that reaction going away again. So i concluded that it only occurs when it's hot & i perspire. This is the first time that i have felt something like that. I'm not sure if it's the toner or the lotion, but i'm just guessing that it could be the toner.

Anyway, im not saying that their product is bad, my skin is just really sensitive that most cream/fluid based make-up remover gives me the same reaction. I'm acidic as well so i guess that it's no surprise that i have such a reaction with some products.

I would love to be able to try their products again & find out what was the cause of that reaction but i live quite far from their center... too bad. Personally, i think their products are of good quality.

I especially love their Renewing Peel for i really felt the difference of how my skin was before & after use...
If ever you want a product for a gentle peeling, i highly suggest that you try out their Intensive Skincare Renewing Peel!

Each product in this set retails for:

Cleanser - P 1,385
Toner - P 1,440
Lotion (facial moisturizer) - P 1,805


I know that the price is quite steep but they do offer quality products.
What's great about them is that they have a money-back guarantee. Meeko said so from his email when i told him about my reaction to their product. This is a snippet from his reply:
I personally have used all the products that I let u and ur mom try, and everyuthing's fine also. but as u said, u have specially sensitive skin. 

Artistry products are all organic and clinically tested to be hypoallergenic. however, no product can claim to be absolutely 100% non-allergenic for EVERYONE. the great thing about Artistry is that They have a 90-day money-back satisfaction guarantee. So even if u had bought those products, can refund u if u find Them Them truly unsatisfactory. for me, that's the best kind of protection that a company can give to its consumers)
I definitely agree!
That really is the best kind of protection for the consumers!
How many companies offer money-back guarantees like this?!
Only companies that manufacture quality products are indeed confident enough to do this because it means that they have used the product not as the seller but as a consumer as well & they are satisfied with it!

You can visit their center at Makati if you're interested.
Just contact Dr. Meeko Hilario over at his email or at his mobile phone 09178163356 if you have any interest/queries.

There ya go...
A lengthy post to start this blogging week again!

Have a great day,minna-san!
Jaa ne~!
^_~

Monday, May 23, 2011

Celeteque Facial Moisturizer with SPF 15 Review

I have said before that i stopped using anything on my face because i'm afraid of breaking out. I only wash my face every now & then & try not to put anything on my face. If you are going to ask me what is the status of my skin right now, i am acne-free already but not blemish-free. 

I have lots of blemishes, sun spots, skin discoloration & worst of all, scars because of my acne. But i am still not using any heavy products to address those problems for i am still concerned that it might start my acne again.

The time when i purchased this, i feel my face becoming dry but oily. Can you imagine that?
It's dehydrated yet oily. Since i still don't want to push my luck by using any face products that has numerous benefits but might make me break out so i decided to go back to using a water-based moisturizer, which is Celeteque. That was the time when i was using Eskinol + Dalacin C to address my acne, but sadly it didn't work for me. :(

I debated if i would be buying the original water-based moisturizer or this with the SPF 15. Since it has become really hot i decided to of course opt for the one with the sun protection. By the way, you can check out my review of the classic Celeteque Moisturizer HERE if you are interested.


I'm not sure if this is still water-based though. Maybe it still is but what's important for me is that it is non-comedogenic & hypoallergenic.


Ingredients list...


I like how the expiration date is clearly seen on the tube so you would know when to ditched this.


It is in white fluid form that is easily absorbed by the skin.


I don't have much to say about this product since again, this doesn't have any claims aside from the hydration & sun protection. It didn't break me out which is good. I will not say that it is fragrance-free though because there is a scent.. it's more of a lotion scent but is not that bad & overwhelming so it's ok with me.

It does a good job in moisturizing the skin. It is quite light & non-greasy which is good especially for those who hate having that slick, heavy feeling that traditional face creams/sunblocks give you.

The sun protection that it provides is not that high though so it's just ok for home use but not enough when you go outdoors. It offers broad spectrum protection UVA/UVB protection so again, it might be enough for home protection. If you are planning for heavy sun exposure just make sure that you go for a higher SPF protection that also has broad spectrum protection.

I can't remember the exact price but as far as i remember it is sold for less than Php 150 so it's not that heavy on the budget.

I'm quite satisfied with this.


PROS:
  • locally available
  • cheap
  • light & non-greasy
  • hypoallergenic
  • non-comedogenic
  • easily absorbed by the skin
  • expiration date is at the back of the tube so you know when to throw it
CONS:
  • SPF is not enough
  • might not be available internationally
Will i buy it again?
Most probably i will but since i have a lot of sun protection products to try so i won't yet. But i like how light this feels, seriously! This didn't make me perspire unlike other products so this is a keeper.

I still prefer the classic water-based moisturizer compare to this one but then this is perfect for an everyday use if you are just indoors. Compare to using a moisturizer & a separate sun protection product then this is still preferable for me. 

I hope that this monday will be good for you,honeys!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Thursday, April 22, 2010

~how i broke the breakout cycle~

 First off, this post is how i was able to actually stop breaking out my way. This would be a long (& believe me, this is loooooooonnnngggg! this might be my longest post..) & boring post. What worked for me, might not work for you so it's up to you.If you somehow find the content 'disturbing' then feel free to stop... I would recommend that you keep an open mind about this. I have a sensitive/acne-prone/oily skin on which makes finding products that works for me as hard as looking for needle on a haystack.

I might receive some negative comments here about this post, but i would just want to bring awareness to all of you who are reading this...keep an open mind. It's not easy making a detailed post like this so i hope that in a way you would appreciate it.

Let's get the ball rolling then...


I started out with clear skin when i got interested in make-up. I got so hooked in make-up application that when zits started appearing on my skin i thought that it's just normal. I'm not exactly the type who frets when a zit popped on my face. That's why it didn't bother me up until i made a post about Aspirin Mask & really get into the itty-griity details of acne. By that time, i'm already starting to break out. I realized right there & then that what's happening to me is not just a simple case of pimples, but already acne.

For those who have been with me ever since i started experimenting with different facial products/cosmetics, im sure you know how bad my acne was (i posted pics on my posts) . Again, i switched from 1 product to another thinking that the more products I used on my skin, the better my skin would be. I'm sure you all must have had the same experience with me, that we get all hyped up because we read good reviews over a certain product & we ended up buying hoping that it would be the same with us. Or if not like that, you would try to follow what is supposed to be the 'basic' way of taking care of the skin.

 As i started out my journey in the beauty world, i got caught up in the so called 'basic' & must-do-steps-to-achieve-flawless-skin process. On which is to use products that should suit your need, I have to agree with this too. But it doesn't necessarily mean that you have to start using everything that comes in it. Take for example, those sets of products that are supposed to be used to compliment each other. I'm talking about the facial wash, toner & moisturizer sets that are available.

I have tried a lot of those sets on which they promise to 'give you a rosy glow', 'fights pimples and stop them from coming back', 'promises to whiten your skin and gets rid of blemishes' (any of it sounds familiar?) ...and a lot more..but to no avail, they did not deliver the promised result. I start with the facial wash, then follow with the toner, then of course the moisturizer. I've always been a good girl, when i start a certain pattern i try to follow it because i really want to be able to feel the result, but it really doesn't live up to my expectations.

Those spot treatments doesn't work either. They might work, but they will leave a big blemish on your skin that you would feel so conscious of every time someone would look at you, feeling that they are staring at your blemish.

Since i got so disappointed with everything that i have tried, on which at the end, just made my acne worse (remember my mint julep post?), i decided to just stop using what i'm using & let my skin breathe. Before i decided to use cosmetics, i was blemish & acne-free. So i stopped using cosmetics, did project 10 pan & i did not open my cosmetic case for weeks & had stopped doing an eyelook post

I decided to just stick with using soap rather than facial washes. No added chemicals on my face, no toners, no moisturizers, etc. And you know what, it worked! My acne stopped! Finally!

So, what did i exactly do?
  • I clean my face using Neutrogena Facial Bar
  • Then pat it dry (pat..not rub)
  • Use tomato mask
  • Rinse it...wait for an hour (tomato mask is only used at night)
  • Then i make sure that i wash my face again using Neutrogena Facial bar 
  • Now, in order to lighten my blemishes i use Likas Papaya Soap as my bath soap. 
  • During daytime, i wash my face every now & then... 
  • Use a green clay mask once a week
Then, when i wear make-up i make sure that i:
  • use a make-up base/primer so that there would be a barrier from my skin & the cosmetics
  • don't use too much (i can only wear either foundation or concealer)
  • make sure i thoroughly remove everything (1st-use a make-up remover; 2nd-use a wet tissue to take off the excess; 3rd-use witch hazel toner to make sure that it's really clean, then finally i wash my face with Neutrogena Facial Bar
Things that i observed:
  •  Sometimes, it's better to not use moisturizer
It is recommended that everybody should use moisturizer (even if you have oil-slick skin). But then i notice that whenever i use moisturizer (especially on very humid weather), it made my skin oilier than the usual. Then i stopped using moisturizer & i notice that my skin feels a lot lighter, letting my natural oils do its job.

So, i stopped using moisturizer but i have to wash my face every now & then. It's said to be bad if you wash your face every now & then, but it worked for me. I only use a gentle cleanser so im not exactly stripping all the oils away from my face. My acne stopped when i stopped using moisturizer & wash my face every now & then. This works for me.

Now, during make-up application, i use a make-up base (monolaurin gel)..nothing more... I don't use moisturizer anymore. I hate piling on things on my skin which makes it feel suffocated.

If there are some times when i feel that my skin was stripped off of its natural oils then that's the time that i use moisturizer. I use my trusty ol' Celeteque moisturizer for this.
  • Get to know your skin. 
Don't get into the hype of doing everything by the book because it is recommended that you ought to. You yourself know your own skin. If your skin reacted to something immediately, stop it. You might just be doing something bad for your skin, don't continue using it just because it's supposed to be like that. You might have already been destroying the layers of your skin & you're still not aware of it.

Basing on my past experiences (Local Obagi Kit, Kojic Soaps, Strong toners, etc), I realized that instead of helping my skin, im actually just destroying it because i thought that it's really supposed to be like that. Give your skin a favor & let it breathe. You, as a person, needs to take a break from a stressful environment,right? Why not your skin?!
    • Use a gentle cleanser
    Even if you are using a moisturizer, i think gentle cleansing is still a must. If you use toners & moisturizers, it would already contain a lot of ingredients that works for a specific area... whether it's for skin whitening, pimple-fighting, pore-reducing, etc. Using a gentle cleanser would ready your skin from everything that you are going to pile on apply on. Too much ingredients i think can cause more harm to your skin rather than good. Put yourself in your skin's shoes... Don't torture it...

    Don't get me wrong,ok?
    I posted this not to tell you to follow me... that would just be plain stupid. I posted this so that you ought to be also be aware that you have choices. You don't have to follow the "SOP" because it has been like that forever... as what i said, do what you know works for you.

    Products that did not work for me:
    As for reference, i would include little notes on the products that i have tried & some notes on them. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. I usually don't do negative reviews because i prefer to blog about products that work for me & that it makes me remember to keep this product in mind because it's worth blogging about. But now, i'll be mentioning a few of the products that did not work for me just keeping it in 1 post.

    I repeat, products that did not work for me might/would work on you

    ~Local Obagi Kit~
    I purchased it on a seller from multiply because it was recommended to me. I bought a set & when i used the entire set, i bought another one just to make sure that i really tested it out, so no one can ever tell me that i didn't give the product a chance. The first day that i used it, it burned my skin..it was like my skin was sunburned (like those third degree burn).

    I am almost to the point of crying whenever i apply the astringents & creams. I kept telling myself that the road to beauty is not a bed of roses... no pain no gain... etc. I tried so hard to really follow the routine even though my skin was telling me to stop the torture. But since i wanted to have a flawless skin like how the girls who have tried it had now, i continued. But it was a really depressing & sad product for me. Depressing because for the first time in my life, it dawned on me that we would do everything just to have a great skin..even to the point of burning it just so that the new layers would come out.

    I'm pretty sure by now you know that my attempt with it is not successful. It didn't stop my acne, but just burned my skin. I will never try it again & will never recommend it. For me, beautifying yourself should be happy & a good experience..not something that would create trauma for your skin.

    ~Kojic Soaps~
    I notice that the Kojie-san soap review that i made is one of the most popular post on my blog. I will stick with what i said that it is great for whitening. If you are looking for a fast way to whiten your skin, Kojie-san or rather Kojic soaps would be your best bet. But then, i would only recommend this for those that got normal & oily skin. People who got dry & sensitive skin should stay away from it because this product stings a lot to the point that it's already painful!

    It will zap the oils out of your skin therefore promoting skin shedding. I have tried a couple of Kojic soaps, plus my local obagi set also included kojic soap as the main facial soap. It is pure torture for my skin.

    ~Spot Treatments~
    Yes, i've had my shares of spot treatments. While it may be true that it could dry zits faster, it would leave you with blemishes so dark you wish you did not set eyes on it. I'm talking about those cheap/drugstore spot treatments (i haven't tried any from high-end brands for it's too expensive).

    Of course it stings a bit, just enough to know that it really is seeping down to your skin. But the mark it will leave you will take weeks to disappear. Imo, it's better to let the natural course of pimple run through for it will leave you with blemishes, but not as big & ugly as how these spot treatments do leave. *cough*Clean & Clear Active Clear Acne Control Speed Gel*cough*

    ~Apple Cider Vinegar as toner~
    OMG! This is one nasty stuff!
    Smells horrible & works horrible too! I guess the only thing that this is good for is when being used as a dip/dressing. Feel free to read Sis Golden's review, for I agree with what she said. I have also tried using this a hair rinse & i can't stand it myself. I have a very sensitive sense of smell & i became nauseous with this for i can still smell it even after i've shampooed like 3x already...& im very serious when i said this!

    ~Acne-fighting sets with either Salicylic Acid or Benzoyl Peroxide~

    I think they do work... provided that you don't use it every now & then that your skin would be immune to it. I think some have higher concentration of these chemicals that might not be suitable for another skin type. Just be aware that some might not work for you even when half of the world's population promises that it does work for them.

    Yes, i'm talking about that brand!
    I just wasted my money on it & it's so darn expensive!

    I still have the kit that i bought with me & i only use them when i really need to use it.. like when i got new zits that came out. But i don't recommend that you use this as a maintenance. Plus, it's too expensive to be used everyday when you don't actually need it,ne?

    ~Oil Cleansing Method~
    I prefer natural method compare to using harsh chemicals & everything so when i heard of the OCM, i jumped at the bandwagon & said to myself that i know that this would work on me because of the logic behind it that only oil can take away the oil on your skin. Plus i covered everything on my research before actually doing it. Big mistake! This gave me cystic acne. From then, i learned it the hard way to trust my instinct!


    ~BB Creams~
    Now, i might not have tried every BB Creams on the market, but i have tried a couple & it didn't work for me. The finish of BB Cream is good, but it's causing me to break out even more...ekkk!! acne alert!

    A couple of the BB Creams that i have tried & didn't work for me are:
    -The Face Shop Quick & Clean BB Cream
    -Lioele BB Cream
    -Skin Food Aloe BB Cream
    -Skin Food Agave Cactus BB Cream
    -BRTC Perfect Recover BB Cream
    -BRTC Perfect Protect BB Cream
    -BRTC Gold Caviar BB Cream
    -Missha Perfect Cover BB Cream (21 & 23)
    -Diamond The Prestige BeBlesh Balm (pink)
    -Cosme Hanskin Caviar Gold BB Cream
    -Purederm 3 in 1 Beauty Magic BB Cream (black)
    -Dr. Jart+ BB Cream (Silver Label)

    Again, i haven't tried everything but now looking at my list of BB Creams & knowing that nothing worked on me I think i can gain say that i won't be trying any BB Creams for the time being. If ever i will be trying out a BB Cream again, i'd go for L'egere. But not now..i developed a trauma for these supposed-to-be magic creams!

    I think i have tried more but for the love of heaven, i can't remember what others...i lost count on them already since i thought that my condition would be hopeless. I don't want to go to dermatologist although i know that that is the best option for me. I just don't like the thought of someone poking my face...

    For now those are what i can remember, again, im stressing that what worked/didn't worked for me might have been/would be your HG items. It only indicates that each one of us have different skin. I'm not saying that now zits don't pop on my face anymore because it would be almost impossible. I still have an occasional zit popping once or twice, but not like before where it feels like a zit is giving birth to twins or worse, even quadruplets!

    Listen to what your skin is trying to tell you..this is just the gist of this post...Feel free to try out different products but make sure that you do know the products you are going for. Check the ingredients, look for reviews, know your skin condition,etc...better be safe than sorry.

    Wow!
    that took a lot of explaining,huh?
    hehe

    Hope that you find this post somewhat helpful even though it might be confusing.
    Let me know what you think & share your experiences in dealing with acne..let us all help each other in overcoming acne!

    Hope y'all have a great day!

    Jaa ne~!
    ^_^

    Wednesday, April 21, 2010

    Neutrogena (acne-prone) Facial Bar Review

    My love for Neutrogena started when i used the Fine Fairness UV Compact Powder. I'm glad that i found another good product from this range & will continue to support this brand. Today i will be giving my thoughts on Neutrogena Facial Bar.


    This had helped me a great deal during the time that i was suffering from acne. I never did realize that this simple bar of soap is the answer to my prayers. After spending loads of money on products that i thought would work on me, i was surprised, annoyed, & glad that this one really does work.

    Yes...annoyed! Annoyed at myself for not really buying this earlier when my instinct has been telling me to try this instead of all the soaps that i have tried *cough*Kojic soaps*cough*. Who would have thought that a simple bar of glycerin soap can actually do wonders?! I never would have guessed it until i have personally tried it.

    This is the description at the back: (feel free to click to enlarge it)


    Ok, let me tell you first how i came to use it. I was browsing Watsons one day looking for a soap. This is the time when i decided to stop using those 'facial sets' (facial wash, toner, moisturizer) that doesn't really work. I will be telling you my acne story sometime..im already almost done with it. Then i saw this bar & since i have been really curious with this & it's just P90 (almost $2), i decided to give this a try. I wasn't really expecting that this would actually work on me, but it did!

    The first thing that i did when i opened it was to smell it. Ugh! It has a strong, weird scent & was thinking of almost not using it because of the scent. It smells of somewhat glycerin with a hint of spicy musk (the kind that i most smell when i pop open a bottle of men's after shave). Y'all know that i hate products with scents....The scent somewhat lingers on your skin, but you just get used to the scent afterward.

    It looks like this:



    It's almost translucent brown. There's a note at the tab that actually says that this "melts easily due to superior rinsability", & it's true. So make sure that you keep this in a dry place when storing. It's actually better if you cut it up instead of using all of it. Just like how i did mine. I cut a third portion of it.. kept the bigger portion & used the smaller one.


    I remember when i first used mine, i opened it & placed it on a soap dish & uses it every now & then, until such time that i notice that it became softer & the color changed from brown to somewhat whitish. It seems to melts as soon as i touch it & it became gooey that i ended up throwing it away. So from then on i decided to cut it up so to make sure that i use everything.

    Let's break it down one by one:
    • Pure, Gentle Cleansing - CHECK

    This did not control my oiliness. It just stayed the same, but what's great about this is that it won't leave your skin with that tight & dry feeling after using. There are some facial wash that after using it your skin will really feel squeaky-clean. I think it's not a good thing  to use products like that because it completely strips off the natural protection that your skin has. I think it's a must that we all go for gentle cleansing. Even those that got oily skin. We only have to get rid of excess oils on our skin & let the natural oil from our skin do its thing.

    • Superior Rinsability - CHECK
    It says that it won't leave residue that might interfere with any acne medications. I like this description. Most facial wash out there contains ingredients such as salicylic acid, tee tree oil, benzoyl peroxide & the likes which can really help control/fight acne, but if you pile on other products on top of that, i think your skin will just get clogged up from using too much which might end up in irritations & inflamations, don't you think so?

    I like the fact that this doesn't have any added ingredients & i think it made my skin really breathe which made my acne stopped. It was like my skin was suffocated from everything that i was using that's why i developed acne!

    • Won't clog pores - CHECK
    Need i say more? I think my earlier explanation would prove that this is really non-comedogenic. You can also take a quick look at what i said about it being non-comedogenic over at my compact review.

    After all of that, it's time to do a recap...

    PROS:
    • cheap
    • available at leading drugstores/groceries
    • really works!
    • also available in the original formula
    CONS:
    • has a strong scent
    • melts easily (make sure you keep it dry in between use)
    Will i buy it?
    It's a staple for me..so YES I WILL DEFINITELY BUY IT!
    If i partner it with Likas Papaya, i won't have to worry about zits & blemishes at all! Review for Likas Papaya soap soon to follow...

    I'm really glad that i was able to break the breakout cycle with Neutrogena. I'm so happy!
    Hope you give this a try too...

    Hope y'all have a great day!

    Jaa ne~!
    ^_~

    Friday, February 05, 2010

    im a proud owner of the most expensive cream on the world + loving JULU

    Yep!
    I am a very proud mama of this tiny baby... The courier arrived today & i ripped it open immediately!


    The La Prairie Creme Cellulaire Platinum Rare Anti-aging cream...that sure is a handful name...LOL

    No, i did not buy it. There's no way i can afford this, but i won it when i joined Frances' OK! magazine contest. w00t w00t!


    Ain't the spatula grand?!
    Looks so cute!
    it's a spatula..isn't it?
    im not so sure..LOL!
    i think it is...

    Wondering how small this it?

    Yep!
    it's that small...
    Im in a dilemma...I really don't know if im going to use this or not since there's no way in hell i can buy this again if it works for me. hahaha!
    XD

    Anyway, im really so happy!
    Thanks a lot, Frances. More power to you & OK! mag.
    ^_^

    I so love my new accessories that i can't resist posting a pic....

    Sorry if the background looks messy because i took this at our backyard...hehe
    I was taking advantage of the natural light & i forgot that we still had some clothes on the clothesline. XD

    So i had to put some decos just to cover it up..


    I had to style my hair up so that my earrings won't tangle with it...

    I did not tease my hair. I just did a poof, it's easy for me to make it like that because my hair does have volume & thanks to Changpo Magic Hair Shampoo & Conditioner from The Face Shop that im able to keep my hair in shape, shiny & bouncy! I feel like a hair model..LOL


    Yep, i sure do feel like a princess!

    The only thing that i'm wishing for right now is that i do know how to use photoshop so that i can get to change the background of my pics. i like how the left earring swings up yet didn't blur at all!



    Sorry about the blemishes...i took this the moment i opened my package & haven't had the time to do some touch ups... Love the buttahflys!

    She is such a darling that she included some freebies...


    Revlon Color Stay Lip Color in Satin Rosewood
    Victoria's Secret in Plum Passion


    I forgot to say, but i used Satin Rosewood on my pics... Such a nice color,right?

    I love everything,Steph!
    Thank you again!
    ^_^

    I'll definitely be buying some more. Maybe even ask you to do a personal custom-made earrings for me in the near future..hehe

    Hope you all have a great day!
    Jaa ne~!
    ^_~

    Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

    I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...