Showing posts with label neutrogena. Show all posts
Showing posts with label neutrogena. Show all posts

Thursday, November 04, 2010

Neutrogena Deep Clean Facial Cleanser

I said that i stopped using moisturizer & toners on my face. I only depend on facial wash/soaps to 'tame' my wild skin. Since i loved Neutrogena Acne Prone facial bar, yes, loved, because it has been phased out here in the Philippines. Yes, people, up until now i can't get over the fact that it's not available anymore... bitterness is my middle name when products i love are phased out.

J&J please bring it back!
Onegaishimasu
(*_*)

Well, since i have been hunting for a good alternative to it, the most probable product for me to try would be this. I don't have a lot to say about this though. so before, i completely forget about this i'll post this now...


I have already used this & sad to say it didn't work for me. Yes, it did clean my face... but i didn't notice anything in the "improves your complexion" department.

I guess that this would only work for those who got the normal-oily skin who already has perfect skin.. but not with acne-flaring, sensitive skin like mine.

Anyway, im not really dissing this product,ok? I'm just saying that i didn't notice any difference at all. Let's take a look at the product description...


Ok, after all that, it just promised that it penetrates deep into the pores, dissolving dirt & make-up & removes dead skin cells so that softer, fresher skin will emerge.

Maybe it did, maybe it didn't...

I just didn't notice anything at all i guess that's why this didn't made a big impact on me. In fact, this has been sitting on my draft for months now because im not excited to blog about it. Most of the time, if i', excited about something i will blog about it immediately. But this is just one of the many products that i don't feel like blogging.

With that said, i won't be going in to details anymore since i don't have any blow by blow descriptions.

Oh, i remember, i agree when it says that does clean thoroughly because i remember a time when i wore a heavy make-up. removed my make-up with cold cream...then washed my face with this...when i used witch hazel toner i didn't see any remaining make-up which just means that it really does remove make-up. Unlike other soaps/facial wash that doesn't remove deep seated impurities, this one does plus the fact that it's gentle enough... no stinging & skin feels really soft...

That's it.

I can't remember the exact price of this but i think it's more or less Php 250

So, let's do a bit of summary
PROS:
  • cleanses thoroughly
  • doesn't sting
  • no dry feeling after use
  • skin feels soft after use
  • you can reuse the bottle afterward
CONS:
  • I find it expensive for something that doesn't even remove the dirt from zits

Will i buy it again?
Nah...i won't.. 
In fact, i think i'm done with Neutrogena facial washes. I'll go back to Neutrogena once it brings back the acne-prone bar but for now, i don't think i can take anymore 'failures' from that brand because i respect the brand.

Any recommendation for facial washes that works for acne?

Hope y'all have a good day!
^_~

PS:
Wow!
There's only 3 exclamation point in this post. one for the pleading, one for the ending & one for the wow...
I guess you'll know when i'm excited about things,huh?
hehe

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Neutrogena (acne-prone) Facial Bar Review

My love for Neutrogena started when i used the Fine Fairness UV Compact Powder. I'm glad that i found another good product from this range & will continue to support this brand. Today i will be giving my thoughts on Neutrogena Facial Bar.


This had helped me a great deal during the time that i was suffering from acne. I never did realize that this simple bar of soap is the answer to my prayers. After spending loads of money on products that i thought would work on me, i was surprised, annoyed, & glad that this one really does work.

Yes...annoyed! Annoyed at myself for not really buying this earlier when my instinct has been telling me to try this instead of all the soaps that i have tried *cough*Kojic soaps*cough*. Who would have thought that a simple bar of glycerin soap can actually do wonders?! I never would have guessed it until i have personally tried it.

This is the description at the back: (feel free to click to enlarge it)


Ok, let me tell you first how i came to use it. I was browsing Watsons one day looking for a soap. This is the time when i decided to stop using those 'facial sets' (facial wash, toner, moisturizer) that doesn't really work. I will be telling you my acne story sometime..im already almost done with it. Then i saw this bar & since i have been really curious with this & it's just P90 (almost $2), i decided to give this a try. I wasn't really expecting that this would actually work on me, but it did!

The first thing that i did when i opened it was to smell it. Ugh! It has a strong, weird scent & was thinking of almost not using it because of the scent. It smells of somewhat glycerin with a hint of spicy musk (the kind that i most smell when i pop open a bottle of men's after shave). Y'all know that i hate products with scents....The scent somewhat lingers on your skin, but you just get used to the scent afterward.

It looks like this:



It's almost translucent brown. There's a note at the tab that actually says that this "melts easily due to superior rinsability", & it's true. So make sure that you keep this in a dry place when storing. It's actually better if you cut it up instead of using all of it. Just like how i did mine. I cut a third portion of it.. kept the bigger portion & used the smaller one.


I remember when i first used mine, i opened it & placed it on a soap dish & uses it every now & then, until such time that i notice that it became softer & the color changed from brown to somewhat whitish. It seems to melts as soon as i touch it & it became gooey that i ended up throwing it away. So from then on i decided to cut it up so to make sure that i use everything.

Let's break it down one by one:
  • Pure, Gentle Cleansing - CHECK

This did not control my oiliness. It just stayed the same, but what's great about this is that it won't leave your skin with that tight & dry feeling after using. There are some facial wash that after using it your skin will really feel squeaky-clean. I think it's not a good thing  to use products like that because it completely strips off the natural protection that your skin has. I think it's a must that we all go for gentle cleansing. Even those that got oily skin. We only have to get rid of excess oils on our skin & let the natural oil from our skin do its thing.

  • Superior Rinsability - CHECK
It says that it won't leave residue that might interfere with any acne medications. I like this description. Most facial wash out there contains ingredients such as salicylic acid, tee tree oil, benzoyl peroxide & the likes which can really help control/fight acne, but if you pile on other products on top of that, i think your skin will just get clogged up from using too much which might end up in irritations & inflamations, don't you think so?

I like the fact that this doesn't have any added ingredients & i think it made my skin really breathe which made my acne stopped. It was like my skin was suffocated from everything that i was using that's why i developed acne!

  • Won't clog pores - CHECK
Need i say more? I think my earlier explanation would prove that this is really non-comedogenic. You can also take a quick look at what i said about it being non-comedogenic over at my compact review.

After all of that, it's time to do a recap...

PROS:
  • cheap
  • available at leading drugstores/groceries
  • really works!
  • also available in the original formula
CONS:
  • has a strong scent
  • melts easily (make sure you keep it dry in between use)
Will i buy it?
It's a staple for me..so YES I WILL DEFINITELY BUY IT!
If i partner it with Likas Papaya, i won't have to worry about zits & blemishes at all! Review for Likas Papaya soap soon to follow...

I'm really glad that i was able to break the breakout cycle with Neutrogena. I'm so happy!
Hope you give this a try too...

Hope y'all have a great day!

Jaa ne~!
^_~

Friday, April 09, 2010

Neutrogena Fine Fairness UV Compact Review

I have never been a foundation user. Foundation doesn't stay in my face for long because i perspire a lot. Whenever i wipe my face, it would just come off that's why i don't even bother to use it. But due to my recent bout with the acne, i have to cover all the blemishes that was left from it.

When i received the Neutrogena Fine Fairness Compact, i immediately tried it & fell in love with it. I actually shared it with my mum & i finished mine already. I have bought my own compact because i like so much.


  Feel free to click to read the description & also the ingredient list.


It got sunscreen that protects your skin from the sun plus vitamin c & licorice too. Talking about getting a lot more than the usual coverage that we wanted,huh? Now, lemme start yapping about this product.

  • HYPOALLERNIC - CHECK
I used this the time when my acne flared up & im actually happy that it did not aggravate my acne unlike some other powders that i have tried. My skin went from oily to sensitive/acne-prone in just a matter of weeks when i tried the local obagi kit. I had a hard time looking for products that would work for me. During that time, this product never left my kit since this is the only friend of my skin back then.

  • FRAGRANCE-FREE - CHECK
As what i keep on stressing, i don't like products that got a scent so this product being fragrance-free made it on my favorite list.


  • NON-COMEDOGENIC - CHECK
If it's hypoallergenic then it is non-comedogenic. This might just be based on my skin's condition, but there are some products that I have tried that promises to be non-comedogenic but isn't. It aggravated my acne & made it really worse. I was so depressed at that time all the while believing that if it said to be non-comedogenic it IS, but i learned it the hard way that it's not the case.

  • HUMIDITY, SWEAT & SEBUM RESISTANT - CHECK
Just take my word or it that this one promises what it said. Usually at the end of the day, whenever i go out, when i take what's left of my make-up off, i would only be left of dirt...no traces of foundation that was applied before. But that's not the case with this one. Whenever i clean/remove make-up i can still see the faint brown shade of this powder which only proves that it does stay. As what i keep on stressing, i have oily skin & perspire a lot so i tend to wipe my face every now & then, but if i don't then this would probably last for a longer time!

Packaging-wise, i think it's ok.

It has a very wide mirror (love the mirror!) & has a separate space for the sponge. Though i really don't use the sponge since i always use a kabuki brush when i apply this. I find it really hygienic that it got a cover for the powder so you're sure that no dirt whatsoever will fall on the powder when you opened it.

It might not be 'compact' since it is long, but it is light. Other compact powders might be small, but it's a bit heavy, while this might look big, but it's lighter than it is!

Of course, you can just keep the compact & then buy a refill once you've finished it so to save money.

I haven't tried applying it wet since i'm really not fond of heavy coverage, but I'm sure it will provide a good once since it being dry is already great..how much more if it's wet...

I like this so much that i don't need to try out anymore compact powders. I have found a good one that works for me so the search for compact powder is done. I will not risk my skin anymore, I have become to trust Neutrogena because their products are really good. Actually, the thing that stopped my acne is all because of the good ol' Neutrogena bar, which i'll do a review some time.

While i might be yapping about how i like about this, there are still some things that i would just like to point out. If you applied to much of this, it would give you that somewhat chalky/powdery-look. So you have to be a bit careful in doing so. This worked great for me because i got oily-skin. It feels like as i oil up, i just look dewy, because of it being somewhat 'chalky/powdery' (if applied liberally), so i guess that girls who have dry skin would need to really make sure that their skin is moisturized before usage..or else you'll end up looking like a corpse!
eekkk!!!

Based on what i remember, it is only available in 2 shades (correct me if im wrong,girls). So there's not much shade selection (here in the Philippines).

As for the price...Uh-oh..i forgot how much the exact price is since it's been a while since i bought it but i think it's somewhere around Php 700 (approx $15+). Might be a bit expensive compare to others available in the department store, but with the quality that you are getting you really do get your money's worth & much more....honto ni!

So after all that i'll do a bit of a summary..

PROS:
  • true to its description!
  • wide mirror
  • light-weight
CONS:
  • might be a bit expensive for some
  • limited shade selection
  • can be somewhat bulky
  • can be somewhat chalky/powdery when applied liberally

Will i buy it?
Definitely! This is a must-buy product for me.

Have you tried this one?
I would humbly suggest that you do especially if you have a sensitive-skin. It is true to its promise!


That's it for now.. Hope you find this post helpful.

Have a great day!
Jaa ne~!
^_~

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Neutrogena Wave review

A vibrating cleanser...
.............


I've always been curious about this one, but never really get around to buying it. The price is the main reason why it didn't appeal to me. I guess it's a small price to pay for if this would really last you forever, but since you have to use the pads each time you use it, i feel like it's such a complete waste of money.

I like it but not exactly love it.
It's nice to have, but also ok to not have.

This is the back carton...you can read the description if you want


Yep! The starter kit includes 2 weeks of pad supply. It has 14 pads included.


I think there's a new Wave that was released, which has 2 type of speeds. It's called the Wave Duo, but mine is the classic one.


This is the whole kit (doggy coin bank on not included :-P )


  • Wave Cleanser
  • AA Battery
  • 2 packs of cleansing pads

I purchased this from a blogsale.

This the size. I think it's nice because it's big enough to be able to maneuver it easily, yet with it's textured grip, you won't have to worry about it slipping from your hands.


That's the power button, by the way.

At the head of the wave is the attachment head on which is like a velcro where you put the cleansing pad, this is also detachable.


This is the cotton pad with the cleanser in the middle.



The cotton pad is different from the usual pads that you buy for home/hospital use. This pad is compressed & is actually denser than than the regular pad. It's dense because again, you will have to attach it to the velcro-like attachment.

It doesn't lather that much. If you actually try to wet it & massage it on your face, it will just seem like you apply a facial wash with a cotton minus the lather. If you want it to lather, you have to lather it yourself by pressing the cotton pad over & over until you get the desired lather that you want then attach it to the velcro.

Once you assembled & used it, you'll enjoy the nice cooling sensation brought by the liquid cleanser on the cotton pad. The vibrating sensation feels like it is really getting deep down inside your pores. It feels relaxing too. There's a difference between the feeling of getting deep down to the pores than really cleansing deep down,ok?

Since this is vibrating, it's nice especially when someone is holding this for you. I think that this doesn't actually deep-cleanse compare what it promises to do. I remember a time when i wore a heavy makeup & removed it by my make-up remover, washed my face with this & used a toner afterward & i still see traces of make-up left behind on my cotton pad.

It says that you can actually use this while you're in the shower. I guess you can, but just make sure that you don't get everything (the inside) wet because im sure that it will stop working. It's better if you remove the battery after every use.

The first time i used it, i said to myself that i really like it. I like the cooling sensation & it feels like my face is softer after every use. I have to say that your face will really feel soft after every use. I guess this is the 'instant result' that they were talking about.

But as time goes by, especially the time that i said i used a toner & see the traces of make-up, the excitement over this product just fade away. I just don't feel like using it anymore. It's just sitting on my toiletries box together with other products & i don't reach for it as much as i thought i would. I have to say that the novelty just wore off.

Though bf like this, i use this to him when we're just sitting around. He said that he liked the vibrating sensation because it is relaxing. That's why i said that it would be better if someone is holding this for you.

As for the pads.. It's better if you use clean pads every time since you don't want the dirt from the old pad going to your skin again since you're reusing it. It would help if you would use a clarifying toner beforehand so that you get the lot of the dirt out of your face. So that there's not much dirt on the pads & can still reuse the other side to save up on your pad usage.

Pros:
  • relaxing to use because of the vibrating motion
  • makes the skin feels soft after every use (this is true!)
  • doesn't use as much energy on the battery (if you remove it after every use)
  • cooling sensation
Cons:
  • will add up to your expenses since you have to buy the pads
  • doesn't really deep-cleanse unlike it claims to be
  • doesn't lather that much

Will i buy again?
No need...
I might buy the refill but i won't have to use it everyday since it just like regular cleanser out there. I can't see anything special with it. In fact, i might only just buy this because bf likes the vibrating sensation..that's it.

This is available at Watsons. If you are interested in buying it, the kit costs Php 575 & the refill is Php 400 each. Pretty expensive, don't you think?
>_<

Hope you find this useful.

Jaa ne~!
^_~

Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...