Showing posts with label sally hansen. Show all posts
Showing posts with label sally hansen. Show all posts

Thursday, August 26, 2010

Sally Hansen Polish Remover Review

Hisashiburi, mina-san!
Went on a mini hiatus with everything that has happened lately..pms, monthlies, class records, family problems, illnesses, etc...
*sigh*

But anyway, im kind of back... let's hope that i'll be able to keep the ball rolling.

Polish Remover is an important product in doing your nails. I used to use pure Acetone in removing nail polish which dries my nails making it brittle & chip faster. I have tried a couple of nail polish removers, especially the The FaceShop polish remover, which i actually like.

I ran out of TFS polish remover & since The FaceShop is quite far from where i live so i just have to make do with the polish remover that is readily available in the mall. I saw Sally Hansen Polish Remover & decided to give it a try.

So, is it worth your money?
Let's get to know it first...


Sally Hansen has 3 formulas to suit your needs. I just choose the Moisturizing since i always apply nail polish & would want a product that would restore moisture even though i use nail polish regularly. I don't want my nails to dry so it;s better to use a product that could moisturize nails as much as possible.

I think they have pink one which is Strengthening - which is recommended for weak, thin nails & the blue one which is the Salon Formula for artificial nails... i can't exactly remember though for i only remember the colors.hehe

So, this is the Moisturizing Formula for dry, brittle nails. Feel free to read the description.

This is mostly a comparison of my favorite polish remover to this product...

It says that it got Vitamins which could help promote strong, healthy-looking nails. I don't see any difference between The FaceShop polish remover when it comes to the formula. Benefit-wise, i think they are the same, it hydrates the nails & remove the polish without the dry feeling that acetone leaves.

Basically they share the same chemicals too though this one got a lot more for it has Aloe, Lanolin & Tocopheryl Acetate for additional moisturizing abilities.

It removes nail polishes easily & won't leave a whitish stain. The scent would actually linger even if you have already washed your hands.

The only thing that i can compare them would be the packaging & i guess in the scent. While The FaceShop's polish remover have a strawberry-scent, this one have that artificial-smell which is not exactly that bad, but of course i'd rather go for the berry-scented if possible.

With that, let's go with the packaging.

The bottle got a mouth that is as big as a ketchup bottle, albeit lacking in stopper, that is not child-resistant. You could drop pieces of grapes without even marring the skin. So, it's better to buy a separate bottle when you plan to use it because this is not dummy-friendly & could just spill on you if you have shaky hands.


It's no problem because i have a separate bottle in cases like this. Just make sure that you store this where kids can't reach this.


Now the big difference when it comes to comparing the quantity.

While The FaceShop has a 100ml product (priced for Php100) that could actually go a long way so it's still worth it, this one is 236.5 ml which is priced for Php 185 only. Money-wise, this is a lot cheaper than that.

Let's break it down

PROS:
  • cheap
  • works great
  • available in different formulas
  • locally available in major malls
CONS:

  • bottle is not dummy-friendly for clumsy people like me
  •  scent is not that good compare to The Faceshop
So, with this, i don't need to buy the small bottle of polish remover of The FaceShop. I'll be saving money in the long run.

Have you tried this?
Whats your favorite polish remover?

Hope y'all have a great day!
Jaa~!
^_^

ps:
I can't wait for the Resident Evil: Afterlife.

Resident Evil: Afterlife 3D photo

I've been a big Resident Evil fan ever since starting from the playstation games. I thought that the Resident Evil movie series would end in 3, but i was so happy when my student informed me that there is a 4th installment & it's gonna be shown this September! I love RE2..i think this is the movie that broke my expectation..i mean in most movies, the 1st one is always the best one...the other series would just fall behind, but not the 2nd part of RE. I think it went beyond the 1st one.

Ali Larter, Wentworth Miller and Milla Jovovich in Screen Gems' "Resident Evil: Afterlife".

Well, with Wentworth Miller as Chris Redfield, who won't be excited with that! I sure wish that Carlos was as H-O-T as Wentworth Miller! hehehe...*wishful thinking*

I'm just crossing my fingers that it would also be shown here in the Philippines September 10. I can't wait!!!!
^_^

Sunday, December 13, 2009

weekend haul: collective haul

I'm one happy lady this weekend... utter bliss!
but not my debit card..hehe

I went christmas shopping with bf yesterday (saturday) & went shopping with my family today...bf is with us too. I know that everybody feels the same way about shopping, but the undying question of "why do we love to shop?" is always left hanging...waiting to poke your conscience right after the damage has been done.

Oh well...it's christmas!
hehehe

Anyway,it's been a while since i made a weekend haul post. I stuck with my promise to not buy any cosmetics since i think i already have a lot for personal use...so i just bought other things.

Let's start with the nail stuff...
Yesterday, I stopped by at The Face Shop & since we were in a hurry because we are starving & our arms are already tired from all the bags that we are carrying, i told him that this'll just take a few minutes.I have to say that that is my shortest shopping ever. I was just on the store for like under 4 minutes. I just grabbed the colors that i don't have yet.

& i saw 5 polishes that stood out plus a top coat...

When i went home, i made a note & listed all the colors that i have so if ever i would decide to buy polish again i wouldn't buy the color that i already have. So here is my little TFS polish collection..little by little they are growing...
Currently i have 13 polishes & 1 top coat from TFS...They are the ones dominating my nail polish collection.

Sorry for jumping...back to the haul story.

Now today, we went to SM Mall of Asia & continued my christmas shopping. I bought a dress for myself & other stuff..i'll spare you the boredom of all those stuff..hehe. I bought Sally Hansen's Double Duty base & top coat...just because!


Anyhow, they have free emery board plus they are also on sale. During christmas, all stores are on sale. That's the only thing that i'll be showing you from the stuff that i bought today.hehe

Going back to the saturday haul....

Saizen is the store that i'm looking forward to the most. We bought a couple of things like potteries, utensils & other stuff.


I don't need to say how curious i am about the charcoal mask...i think i always saw that i want to try it. So try it i will..plus the bar of charcoal soap looks nice so i added it on my cart. I also saw the face mask that has been pressed, so i tossed it on my cart too. I want to be able to do home made facial mask.

As for the socks, it just looks so darn cute! Since i have been abusing my feet lately i know that i need to continue wearing socks overtime to make sure that they are protected & it's way easier to use this since i can wear flip flops.

I'll definitely going back for Saizen! But not with bf anymore... I wasn't able to go around that much because i keep on checking bf to make sure that he won't be bored. I like taking my time when i'm going on an all out shopping spree.

Next in line is the hair accessories haul. I love hair accessories!

When i passed by the aisle, the Magic Hair Comb caught my eye so i put it on my cart, same with the head band & a pack of elastics. I like using the magic hair comb because it's even able to hold my thick hair in place!

Now i have a big problem...
As what i have just said, i have a really thick wavy hair. Although hair pins can hold it, but i always favor using hair grips. Like this...

But the problem is that i can't find any hair grips anymore. These are the only ones i have left with me.rolleye smileys

For those who live here in the Philippines, have any of you seen a box of hairgrips?
I am desperate already.character smileys

I have been to countless of malls asking of this kind of hairgrips but what they always point me to is the ordinary bobby pin...or the one that got crystals on them. I'm not going to spend Php100 ($2) for 3 pcs of them. I always misplace my hair grips so me spending that amount for just 3 pcs is out of the question.

I used to buy them at SM, it's at the SM Basics hair accessories but now i can't seem to see them anymore. It's only Php40 ($1) for a box.like 30pcs, i think. Hope one of you can help me find them. evil grin smileys

Anyway, my body is tired but im alive & kicking inside. I can even eat a lion for breakfast. All because of my shopping spree. hehehe

Expect a couple of nail art tutorials...I might not be able to do a full product review this month since i'm busy plus i'm trying to really stick hard to my new skin routine. But i'm trying to work on the info & experience that i have to make reviews for:
  • Himalaya Herbals Neem Face Pack
  • Benefit Dr Feelgood
  • Neutrogena Fine Fairness UV Compact
  • The Face Shop Quick & Clean BB Cream
  • & a couple of random stuff...
Whew!
I never realize that i have a lot of stuff to finish. I'll try my best to make a review on these. Wish me luck in making a good review on those.

I'm almost done with my christmas shopping...Actually i'm 90% done. Yay for that! Just a couple more...

How about you?
Done with the christmas shopping?

Hope y'all have a great week,ladies!

Jaa ne~!
^_~

Tuesday, December 08, 2009

a visit to the post office

I went to the Post Office today to pick up a package. Actually i'm only expecting one, but 'Kuya Rey' is such an angel he gave me the other two & we had to hide from the CO! weeehhhh!
^_^
*putting kuya rey on my christmas list*

Anyway, these are my packages...I was grinning like the cheshire cat when i went home~

What with my bag bulging like Santa's bag, who wouldn't be?! smilies

One is from The Make-up Mix shop, then from Sarah & Vanessa.
I was waiting for like forever for these! Good thing that i already got them. Yipee! smileys

Let's take a look at the contents...
First off, from Sarah... I won her giveaway & boy, i was in for a treat!

Look at the pink bag..it's so roomy & big..& so pink! i love pink! but most of all, i love the card that she sent me...messages always makes me happy!character smileys


These are what's inside:
  • OPI Nail Lacquer in Mediterranean Moonlight
  • Benefit Gilded highlighter
  • Benefit B-Spot EDT mini size
  • The Body Shop Black Velvet Apricot Lip Balm
  • Frizz no frizz styling spray
  • Clear gloss in watermelon
  • Priori Eye Serum - sample
  • Talika Lash Conditioning Cleanser - sample
  • Philosophy The Present Clear Make-up - sample
It's my first OPI nail polish! I won't be using it yet, i'll just save it when i need a color like this. I love everything! I'm fascinated with the gloss because there's a cute pink flower-like things inside it! so cute!

Thanks so much, hun! I'm in high cotton!

Next is my Make-up Mix Shop haul. They were on sale & i just purchased a couple of things...
  • ELF Eyebrow Kit in Dark
  • ELF Mineral Eyeshadow Primer
  • ELF Nail Polish in Pearl Pink
  • ELF Natural Radiance Blusher in Innocence
  • Ecotools Retractable Brush
  • LA Colors liquid liner in Black
ELF is beginning to be one of my favored brand. The Eyebrow Kit is sleek enough to be put on my cosmetic kit. I'll be comparing the ELF primer to UDPP since i heard that they are at par. *gasp*...do you think so? Just wait for my review,ok?

As for the retractable brush, since almost everybody who owns it says that it's good so i decided to give it a try. But i think there's nothing special about it. I guess i'll just have to thoroughly use it before saying anything,right?

Last one is the stuff that i bought from Vanessa's blog sale. She even put it on a box...

Love the cute lil' note! very girly ^_~

  • Klean Color in 296 (pixie)
  • Hard Candy (old version)
  • Tarte in Samantha & Jake
  • EDM lot: Beige Natural, Winged Butter, Medium Beige, Light Natural, Intensive light (c) light olive, pearl mint (c) & Neutrogena in Lightest to Natural
  • Physicians Formula in Blushing Natural
  • Revlon Merlot at Midnight
  • Revlon Pinking of You
  • Sally Hansen in Baby Doll
  • She's such a darling for including Clinique Nail Enamel in Tutu Pink & Sunflowers Nail Color in Sun Gold as freebies!
Actually i can't remember what i bought from her at all, i was just surprised that i have a lot..hehe...goes to show how bad my memory is,huh? Too bad that the caps of the EDM lot was loose so it just spilled, but it's ok since she separated everything. ^_~

Well, i have a lot to review & swatch. i know i haven't been posting a lot lately. It's just because i am so caught up in my classes, plus the fact that it's december. Lot's of things to do before Christmas. I haven't even finish my shopping list!

I'll try to post every now & then. 3 down, 5 more to go! hope all my packages are safe & sound.. XD

Hope y'all have a great day,hunnies!
Jaa ne~!
^_~

Saturday, June 13, 2009

Saturday haul

I went out today & bought a couple of stuff again...

I promise not to buy anything until i get all of my packages... This would be my last mall haul (until God knows when) for now... XD

Anyway, its just a mini haul... & this time its real!

Just bought Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Base Coat, Kiss Xtreme Growth Nail Growth Stimulator (pretty long,eh?), & 2 in2it's Eye Majic Instant Eyeshadow..

The nail care stuff is just so that i would be able to find out what is good...so i'll be doing a couple of reviews about them too.

I bought the Kiss Xtreme Growth just because this is the first time that i saw it....& i am intrigued by it so i just have to try one for myself & the SA said that it is a base coat & a top coat! yay for that! i like products like this...
Let's see if it will really work as nail growth stimulator...
Have you heard of Kiss before?

Im already doing a review of the Eyeshadow Sheets...I'll post it as soon as im done!

^_^

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Sally Hansen Lip Inflation


I got this very cute Lip Plumper set from an Ebayer, doesn’t it look nice?

Ok, im not exactly into Lip Plumpers but this one sold me because of the different pretty shades. Actually i have this for quite sometime now & i’ve been meaning to do a little review of this but i just always forgot to.

Anyway, it’s my friend who introduced Sally Hansen Lip Inflation to me way back. That was the first time that i’ve ever heard of Lip Plumpers & i was like “huh?…how will that work?” so then my friend & i went in a store & gave me the tester. I was having doubts about it, so i decided to put it on. Then the moment i put it on, i felt that burning-minty sensation which i think is how lip plumpers actually work.

I was like “what the…?!” at the first few seconds & i almost immediately wipe it out, but at the last moment i decided not to & just let it sit there on my lips. It takes a while for me to feel comfortable in wearing it because everytime my lips were hit by a gust of wind, i feel like my lips are so cool & swollen. After a few more minutes, i said to myself that it wasn’t that bad….

& i forgot all about that experience, until one day i stumbled across this cute find. I said to myself, “well,why not?!it’s one box with 12 glosses. i think this is worth a few dollars”…so i bought it & after a couple of days i already had it with me. & the first swipe of it, i suddenly remembered my friend, who is now in australia…. i miss ya,janet! *hugs*

The Plumping Effect doesn’t really stay that long. I give or take, it will last for an hour. But then i think for those cute colors right there, its well worth it. From a reddish-purple to peachy to clear gloss, this is good enough for me, who is not exactly much into lip stuff.

^_^

Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...