Showing posts with label mascara. Show all posts
Showing posts with label mascara. Show all posts

Saturday, September 24, 2011

Beauty Angel Turn Up Long Mascara Review

Have you tried fiber mascaras?
Or are you scared of using it for fear that those fibers would somehow poke your eyes? always resorting to false lashes when you want to have longer-looking lashes?

Well now, you won't have to!
I was able to try a lengthening & volumizing fiber mascara without the "fibers"!
Sounds confusing?

When i posted the Etude House Dr. Mascara Fixer, i mentioned a fiber mascara that i was using. Well, this is it!


KKCenterhk.com is nice enough to let me try out this mascara.
It's housed in a gigantic tube, much like Fiberwig. There are several colors that you could choose from, i just choose a pink one, but they have blue & green as well. I think the only difference is the color of the packaging but they have same formula.


Honestly, at first i wasn't impressed with it but as i used it every now & then i changed my mind. This is definitely a keeper!

Let's start with the wand...


Looks so ordinary.. no fibers at all!
Told you, this doesn't have very obvious fibers so you won't need to worry about poking your eyes while applying.

I'm already saying in advanced that fiber mascaras are heavy. When i say heavy, it could weigh your lashes down therefore uncurling the lashes that you worked hard to curl... dame da.. not good!

tip:
There are 2 ways to make sure that your curls will stay.

  • You either use a clear mascara after curling. Just like hair gel, once you put it on, it will keep your hair place. Same rules apply to clear mascaras...
  • You can apply heat to make sure it will stay longer... think of curling iron. Using a heated eyelash curler or heating your ordinary curler with a hair dryer could also work as well.
I mostly just use a clear mascara (or in this case the Dr. Mascara Fixer) to make sure that my lashes will stay curled for a long time.

Picture time...
click for your reference..


That's only two coats! I'm already quite satisfied with it.
I think it looks nice already!

I have been a fan of fiber mascaras because it is the only one that elongates my puny lashes giving me that feathery look that i've always wanted. But let me tell you one thing why i sometimes get annoyed with fiber mascaras. Most often than not, those tiny black fibers could result to fallout which looks like it's flaking. There were even times when i would just feel like something is in my eye which makes me very uncomfortable.

I have never felt any fibers from the mascara on my eye since this one doesn't have an obvious fibers on. Yay!

The best thing that i like about this is that since this is watery, you can have achieve well-groomed, uniform-looking lashes easily. Again, this takes a while to dry so you can take your time fixing how your want your lashes to look. You can run a lash comb to separate each lashes, or clump them together to have that falsies effect. You can't do that with fiber mascaras now, can you?

Another thing that i like about this is that since this a fiber mascara, you can easily take it off by just using water! But since i am using a waterproof primer underneath, it's pointless, but if you use it alone, removing it is just a breeze!

Now, one thing that turns me off the first time i used it is that it has a weird scent. It has this chemical-scent that i find a bit disturbing. It will go away later though, at least it's not something so awful that will give me a migraine. I'm ok with it since it disappears in time & not really overwhelming.

Another thing that makes me go meh! on this is the drying time. It doesn't dry as long as high end ones. Those waxy, good-for-nothing, "uncurling", mascara from most western cosmetic brands that i've tried dries forever. Well, this is not like that, fortunately, but this still takes a while.

Just make sure that you don't rub your eyes while this is drying,ok?
But once this is dries, it's really dry. No flaking or smudging!
Yay!

Those are my issues, but this is nevertheless, a great mascara.
It's a keeper in my book!

As always, i'll leave the price to you.. it's sold for $12.10 at KKCenterhk.com.

PROS:
  • funky & cool-looking packaging (you can choose diff colors)
  • no obvious fibers so no fear of it poking your eyes
  • buildable
  • lengthens & "volumizes" the lashes
  • no smudging & flaking (once it's dry)
  • can be removed very easily!
CONS:
  • takes a while to dry
  • disturbing scent
  • could weigh the curls down (use either of the method that i mentioned)
  • available online (but they offer free shipping worldwide!)

I would put this on my products-to-try again list!
If ever you buy something at KKCenterhk.com make sure you include this in your shopping basket,ok?

Have a great Saturday,hunnies!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

ps:
Product sent as sample. I did not receive any monetary compensation for this post. Opinion shared is personal view & is no way influenced by the company. Use at your own discretion.

Monday, September 19, 2011

Etude House Dr. Mascara Fixer for Perfect Lash Review

I'm sure you all have come across mascaras that weighs your curl down. I think this is especially common for those who have typical "asian" lashes, the short, thick (not in my case though), straight-as-a-nail type of lashes. I have several mascaras that can really lengthen the lashes, even volumize them but sadly, weighs it down, so what's the point of using mascaras that can't even keep your lashes curled when you use it to enhance your eyes,ne?

Now, you won't have to worry about your curls weighing down. Etude House has formulated a lash primer that will keep the curls of your lashes! Introducing the Dr. Mascara Fixer for Perfect Lash!


 Sorry about the chipped nail design. I've had this water decal for days when i decided to take a picture of it... gomen nasai.

Here is the back... can someone please translate it for me?


Wand looks like any of your ordinary clear mascaras, but the formulation of this is awesome!


Since i can't read the description so i'll not go further with discussing ingredients & all of those hullabaloos, but go straight to the pictures & my thoughts.

Let's start with a picture of my curled, but barely-there lashes...


My lashes always look like it is in a riot every time i finish curling...

Then with one coat of the mascara fixer.


See how it was able to fix my riotous lashes in order.
If i want it to be extra tidy, i go over my lashes with a lash comb, but you have to work quick because this one dries fast! Once it's dry, it won't budge anymore! Your lashes will stay how it look like once it dry.

Now, i have a fiber mascara that i have been trying out for the past couple of weeks. I like it so much but one issue that i have is that it weighs the curl of my lashes down.
*sigh*
Since i have the mascara fixer, i was able to wear it & had no problem ever since!

Here is the picture...


See the difference?
WOW!
This is using 2 coats of the fiber mascara!
Sugoi,ne? Amazing,huh?

To think that this mascara is really heavy! I'll make a post about this mysterious mascara within this week.
I mean, i think fiber mascaras really do have the tendency to make the lashes uncurled. The DMF (dr mascara fixer) was able to keep my curls intact all with just one coat! I'm amazed!

I know this has another variant, which is Natural Lash, but i heard that it's almost like any other clear mascaras so i'm not interested in trying it. While this one is like a clear mascara that is like a waterproof version & i whole-heartedly agree with it!

Since this is almost like waterproof, removing it could be a pain. You have to use an eye make-up remover just to completely remove it. What i like about fiber mascaras is that you can remove it easily by just water. It will come off very very easily, but with this on you have to resort to make-up remover.

A small price to pay since you can have curled & full-looking lashes for the whole day,ne?
Speaking of price, as always i'll leave it to you to judge if it's a pro or con. It's priced for Php348.

PROS:

  • holds the curls of your lashes for a long time
  • locally available
CONS:
  • might be hard to remove
I'm very impressed with this primer, but i won't say that this is a must buy product for me.
I mean, why bother with a separate lash product when you can just buy a mascara that can do what this can also do? But then, i know that some mascaras has different effects. Mascara is one of those hit-or-miss type of products. One could love it, while another could hate it.

This could be a good back-up if there is a time when you have a mascara that works for you but just can't keep your curls intact. As what i said fiber mascaras tend to weigh my curls down, DMF helps keep my curls, but i know that there could be other ways to have the lashes curled using a heated lash curler. 

I have to buy one for myself... i'm actually looking for a panasonic lash curler, much like Eki's curler.
Do you know where i can buy it here in the Philippines?

I could say that this made it to my "great products you should try" list!

By the way, this is my weekend nails.


I tried using 3d lace stickers & i have to say that i am liking them!
I never did like nail stickers, but this one time where i could say that i don't mind using them!
^_^

Hope you all are having a great day,ladies!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Mascara Review: Etude House Oh~ m'Eye Lash Double Up Longlash

I love fiber mascaras!

I think everyone who have short lashes should use fiber mascaras because it makes a heck of a difference! My first fiber mascara was NYX Doll Eye Mascara (pardon the unsightly pictures, that was one of the posts that i made on my early blogging years & the quality is not that good) & my fascination with fiber mascaras had grew. My favorite FM (fiber mascara) is Fiberwig, but since it's not available here in my country the search for an alternative had me checking every cosmetic line out there if there is a good substitute.

Luckily, Etude House has one.


It's called the Oh~ m'Eye lash Double Up Longlash. The bottle reminded me of the NYX Doll Eye Mascara, just the bottle.

I love the wand!


note:
my nail design is a full water decal.

It is quite thin which makes it easy to work with on your lower lashes compare to traditional bristle wands.


See the fibers?

Actually when i opened it i noticed that the formulation is quite dry....quite disappointed...

I thought this was a complete waste because i  prefer my mascara to be watery which would make coating each individual lashes easier. But it proved me wrong when i applied it. Even though the formulation is drier than what i'm used to, it was still able to coat my lashes & extending it with the fibers! Another thing is that since the formula is dry, it would avoid clumping of lashes!

Goes to show that you can't judge a mascara based on how it looks like! XD

Look at this picture to see how it made my lashes look fuller & longer!


If you notice the first pic, it is just curled. Sorry if the lighting was a bit off, i was indoors when i took the 1st pic.

Curling your lashes would open up your eyes, as we all know, but since this is a fiber mascara, it would weigh the curl down, which i think is just natural. It managed to maintain my curls, albeit only half though..hahaha! .... not bad for a fiber mascara! i always use a clear mascara or a lash primer to prep up my lashes/maintain my curls whenever i use FM, but i guess since the formulation is already pretty dry so it's highly likely to add any unnecessary weigh.

tip:
You can give your curl a boost by using a heated lash curler after mascara application (especially fiber mascaras). As what i said before, combing your lashes upwards will make your eyes look rounder, combing it outwards will give you that cat-eye look.

I'm not sure if this is waterproof. I think it's not because i was able to easily remove it just by washing with soap & water (when used alone). The only thing about this is that i have experienced very minimal flaking... not too obvious though.
Hey, even Fiberwig flakes on me! no big deal!

This is how it looked like compare to my other eye without any mascara. See how mascaras make a big difference in the eyes! sorry for the unkempt brow though..tee hee!


As for the price, this is really pretty cheap! I bought mine for only Php198 (approx $4), i think... dirt cheap if i may say so!

I have found a cheaper alternative to Fiberwig! yay!

PROS:

  • gives you that falsies-look in just a couple of swipes
  • wand is great!
  • no clumping
  • dirt cheap
  • locally available
  • can be easily removed with water & soap
CONS:
  • might not be able in other countries
  • i think this is not waterproof
  • minimal flaking
Will i buy it?
Why, Y-E-S!
It makes m'Eye Lashes look really long & full so this is already a must-have item for me.... plus it's pretty cheap! Yay for that!

I found my 2nd Etude House favorite product!
I mean i think most of you know that i buy at Etude not really because im a fan of their products but the store is really cute... hahaha! But now, i have 2 items that i can't live without! This mascara & the proof 10 primer!

Way to go, Etude House!
I hope i'll be able to find more products that would make it on my "favorites" list. I would like to try their Jelly Top Coat next!

Have you tried any fiber mascaras?

Hope you all will have a great day!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Wednesday, January 05, 2011

Maybelline Volum' Express The Magnum Waterproof Mascara Review

This is another mascara that made it on my "good products" list. I have always liked mascaras that are made specifically for asian lashes... They are formulated well for our needs & this one definitely works for me!


The last Maybelline mascara that i have tried is the Volum Express Cat Eyes mascara, which did a great job. I knew right there & then that that would not be the last Maybelline mascara that i will be trying. So when the The Magnum mascara was released i bought one but didn't get the chance to try it up until now. I had this sitting on my drawer for so long that i almost forgot all about it. Good thing i rearranged my things!

Going back, when i tried this, it didn't wow-ed me at first coat but i changed my mind after the 2nd. I'll tell you why later. Let's dissect the packaging first.

It's in a huge yellow tube much like the original black Volum Express.

I'm sure for beauty mavens, this huge yellow packaging closely resembled the The Colossal mascara that Maybelline released in the US. When i made a comment about why they change the name, Maybelline Philippines courteously answered my query.
"Hi thiamere :) first of all, thanks for the very honest review and it's great to hear that you really like the product. 

On your concern on the difference in names and packaging, we sometimes have to change either the formula or the pack for... different reasons. 

We change the formula when the one in the US does not suit asian needs (ex. Magnum vs Colossal - Colossal gives volume to unruly lashes vs magnum gives volume to downward pointing lashes).

We change the pack naman when the formula is the same, but the pack is so expensive that we would be forced to price it here at a very high amount. In these cases, we would rather put the product at an affordable price because we want every Filipina to use a good quality product with a reasonable pack. 

We know of course that there are also many makeup lovers who really collect the amazing packaging so we are trying to bring in both types of products. 
Our products are different from the US not just in the name but in the formula as well. :) Our local formulas are developed by our laboratories specifically for Asian skin tones and climate. It's much hotter and more humid here than in the US, so if we use their formulas, our products won't be long-wearing and won't fit our local needs. :)"
So there ya go, ladies.
That's what Maybelline has to say about the never-ending comparison between the Magnum & Colossal packaging.

Now that we got that out, let's go the basics. First is the wand.


It's slightly curved, but not like the original volum express hypercurl mascara wand. It's just a bit curved which makes it easier to manage it somehow when working with big brushes unlike those gigantic brushes that makes mascara application a bit clumsy. Unlike traditional mascara wands, the bristles are somehow stiffer that makes combing the product into each lashes very easy to do. I love how it can really coat each lashes because of the resiliency of the bristles! It is good in separating each lashes!

I have tried a lot of mascaras but the bristle wands are all soft which makes combing the lashes time-consuming because you need to swipe it over & over which just tends to put too much product therefore clumping the lashes together.

This kind of wand bought back my faith in bristle wands. I have always loved comb wands & this is the first bristle wand that i found perfect! Great job, Maybelline!

Now, a little note why i don't like the traditional bristle wand is that the tip always has that excess product, which makes it a bit hard to use especially if you are working on your outer lashes. I mean we mostly use the tip when we apply mascara on our outer lashes,right? But traditional wands would have that big gunk of mascara.... Although it just takes few seconds to wipe the product away from the tip but im sure you know what i mean,right?

As for the texture...
It's watery, which is what i prefer. I hate waxy mascaras. This has the perfect consistency which enables to coat each lashes without clumping it. It dries fast too! So far so good!

Let's see how it performs...

This is my curled-but-barely-there lashes...


One coat of this baby will give you very natural-looking feathery lashes.


Two coats of this will give that full-looking lashes in just a few swipes!


Again, with the texture being watery, it coats the lashes very easily. You don't need to swipe it for a gazillion times just to see the effect. This can be done in mere seconds!

La-la-LOVE!

It retains the curl & doesn't feel heavy at all. You know the feeling when the mascara feels somehow heavy that you want to close your eyes for a couple of seconds because it feels like something is sitting on your lashes? Well, this one isn't like that!

It barely feel like you have any mascara at all! It doesn't have that spiky-lashes feeling that some waterproof mascara gives.
*cough* CG Lash Blast waterproof *cough*
@_@

As to this being waterproof, it is really waterproof.


Lightly rubbed it back & forth but it didn't budge. I'm not sure if this can withstand long crying session though unlike the Majolica Majorca Lash Enamel Neo, but i think this is decent enough to brave the rain!
^_~

Since this is a waterproof mascara, it's not that easy to remove compare to non-waterproof (of course!). So you would need to have a good oil-based remover to completely get rid of it. But this is not THAT HARD to remove either. I'll tell you something that is REALLY HARD TO REMOVE on my next mascara post! But this one can be taken off with just a simple remover. No sweat! Just let the remover sit on your lashes to give enough time to dissolve the mascara.

As for the price, i'll leave it to you. I know that for some students out there, paying Php 429 a pop might be expensive, but let me tell you that this is really worth every single cents! Anyway, I notice that Maybelline has that regular "sale" period, so you might want to take advantage of it.

With all the exclamation points that you have seen in this post, i hope it justified why i said that this mascara made it to my "products to buy again & again & again" list. So, it's time to do a summary...

PROS:
  • locally available
  • wand is good, it can separate each lashes, much like comb wands!
  • waterproof
  • doesn't weigh the lashes down
  • barely-there feel
  • dries fast
  • no clumping, smudging, flaking
  • gives volume to the lashes
  • long-wearing
CONS:
  • doesn't lengthen the lashes
Will I buy it again?
I said that this mascara made it to my "products to buy again & again & again" so i will definitely be buying it again!
Uhh...now i'm confused which should i get again the next time... the Cat Eyes Mascara or this one?
hmmm....

Anyway, it's not really that hard to decide on since both are great mascaras!

When i just browsed the net, i found that there is also another The Magnum mascara, which is the Super Film one. I'm curious what's the difference between the waterproof version & the super film version...hmmm...

I saw the poster & read some mini reviews & i think it's a great mascara! I'm not sure but i think it's not available here in the Phlippines,ne?

So, what's your favorite mascara?

Hope y'all will have a good day!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Saturday, November 20, 2010

Mascara Review: In2it Lash Xtra Mascara

I love Fiber Mascaras!

I think they are heaven sent to those that got short, sparse, hard-to-curl lashes like mine... as what most would describe it...'asian lashes'. That's why i love asian brands for they really address the needs of asian women. That's why Fiberwig + Majolica Majorca Lash Enamel is L-O-V-E!

As what i said before, i love Fiberwig... it is my HG mascara... but it's almost December 28, on which i would have to ditch it. It's already my 2nd tube & i don't really know if i'm going to buy it at Cosme-de.com again (which would take forever in shipping & i might be charge a big amount in PO again) or buy it locally (which is waaaaaayyyyyyyyy overpriced!) or just look for an alternative. Naturally the last choice would be the best since i am always on the look out for cheap products that work as good as expensive products.

I only knew 3 brands here that have cheap fiber mascaras, which would be In2it, James Cooper & Elianto. I first went to Elianto but the SA said that it's already sold out, went to James Cooper & for some reason, fibers as primer doesn't hold that much of an appeal to me so i purchased the In2it one since it's the only option left.hehe

I have been using this for a couple of weeks now so i guess i can write a review already. Actually i have a love & hate relationship with this mascara. *sigh* I'll tell you all about it later. Let's get to know the product first.


It's in a pretty box that looks like so. I like the packaging for it looks chic!

This is the description at the back & also the price.


Good thing that i take a pic of this with the tag on or else i won't be able to remember it again. I have a poor memory.

Hmmm....
builds volume & extends lashes? ... Yep, yep, yep!
waterproof & long wearing? ... *nods head*
easy to remove? ... uh huh...
no smudging or panda eyes? *smirk*




I like how it is packaged. For some reason i love mascaras that are in a black tube. It makes them look chic..i guess..i prefer the classic look for mascara rather than colorful ones.

This doesn't look cheap for if you notice it the main container is encased in a clear plastic tube. So classy!


See those cute gold curlicue design with  butterflies & flowers?
Kirei da ne?
Pretty,isn't it?
Black & Gold is one of the color combination that i adore the most!


But of course, we will not judge the mascara based on it's packaging,ne?

Continuing on, this is how the wand looks like...


Fiberwig's wand is a lot bigger, but the fiber of this mascara is a lot longer than Fiberwig! I can achieve the look of naturally long lashes with just 1 coat (3 swipes at the most) of this mascara. 2 for that false lashes look!

Fiber mascaras would tend to eventually bring your curled lashes down when worn alone. Adding those fibers would eventually take a toll on your lashes, plus of course we can blame gravity for that too. You can take a look at this pic..


My lashes look fuller when curled but when i put this mascara, seconds after applying it, my lashes would go down. It would be long of course, but the curl will be gone by then that you won't appreciate the beauty of your long lashes anymore.

What i do is that i use a waterproof mascara underneath to keep my curl intact... that even if i layer fibers on it, the curl will stay.

See the difference from the pic above? I applied 2 coats of mascara here too.


I applied 1 coat of Majolica Majorca Lash Enamel prior to applying this mascara just to keep my curl intact. I find that the only thing that works for me in keeping my curls stay curled is to use a waterproof mascara underneath.

I mean i know that most people use heated curler or even use clear mascara to act as a gel in keeping the curls. I think they work pretty fine if you use ordinary mascaras, but not when you use fiber mascaras. The more fiber you add on your lashes, the more your curls tend to go down down, so it's better to bring in the big guns when you deal with fiber mascaras.

See how much difference fiber mascaras can make to your eyes?


It will definitely make your eyes stand out!

If you remember what i said before, i have a love-hate relationship with this because it's so hard to apply it! I mean it's hard because it dries sooooooooooo slow. I have a semi-monolid so when i blink/look up while this mascara is still drying it would leave that ugly smudge mark on my lids.

Ugh!

I remember one time when i met with bf, he said that i got a dirt on my lids. He keep on wiping it but it won't come off. At that time i don't have my kit with me because i was in a hurry so i decided to just bring my wallet. I had to stop & look at the window of a tinted car because i want to know what it is. Imagine my horror when i saw those smudge marks at my eyelid!

Since this is waterproof, wiping with a kerchief will just lead to bigger disaster since it will leave a horrible mascara streak on which would just stay on your lids until you buy an oil-based make-up remover to remove the blasted & offending mark! I had to buy a bottle of make-up remover & Q tips at that time just to remove the smudge mark on that day. Talk about unnecessary purchase! Tsk!

I'm basically a patient person but not when it comes to mascara. I want my mascara to dry fast. I don't have the time to fiddle with my lashes all because my mascara is still wet. I have been born with a semi-monolid so i make the best out of it by using a fast-drying mascara that won't make me look at my mirror every now & then to check it.

This is the only mascara that i tried that would require me to have a Q tip soaked in make-up remover near me for i have never had a time that i used it without leaving me smudge marks! Definitely not good for those on the go ladies... Well, if you got the time to lounge around & keep your eyes close while drying it for fear of smudging then why not!

This is the only reason why i don't like it. Basically this is pretty nifty mascara especially if you are after lengthening your lashes, but i can't abide the drying time. This has the formula like those western mascara brand that dries forever. 1 In2it SA said to me that this is actually a Japanese cosmetic brand... if so then i think its a shame. I love Japanese mascaras!

On the other hand when it dries it stays there. No smudging, flaking, panda eyes, whatsoever IF YOU MANAGE TO DRY IT WITHOUT SMUDGING IT FIRST then it will stay that way, yes! It is easy to remove if you use it alone, on which as i said fiber mascaras won't give you a full look unless you manage to do something about making sure that your curls will stay.

So, let's do a summary after all the hullabaloo..

PROS:
  • cheap
  • locally available
  • easy to remove (using oil-based remover,ok?)
  • "volumizes" & really lengthen the lashes
  • no flaking
  • packaging is sleek
CONS:
  • Dries a long time - not for those in a hurry!
  • might not be available in other countries
  • can weigh lashes down if used alone
Will i buy again?
Well, there are still the Elianto & James Cooper mascaras waiting to be tried... So if you are going to ask me now if i will buy it the answer is NO! It has a good potential to be a HG mascara but the drying time is just horrendous for me that it is coloring my judgment even if this mascara is good.

I will put this on my "products-most-likely-to-buy" list. If i won't be able to find a good fiber mascara this will do, but if i'm going to compare this to Fiberwig i'll still choose Fiberwig in a heartbeat even if the fibers of this mascara is longer. I'd rather go for something that dries up faster.

Hope y'all have a good weekend~!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

ps:
if i'm not mistaken in2it gives discount on their products every now & then. i suggest that you just wait for their discount period if you want to get this at a lesser price.

Thursday, July 08, 2010

Mascara Review: Majolica Majorca Lash Enamel Glamour Neo

Another mascara review... I am currently in love with Fiberwig. I feel like i have found the perfect mascara for me, but it doesn't mean that i'm not willing to give other mascaras a chance.

So the chance goes to Majolica Majorca Lash Enamel Glamour Neo which goes by the tagline 'Hope my Lashes are Full and Smooth"..wow! isn't that wordy?


I so love the packaging of this mascara for it's so elegant & sleek unlike the Fiberwig which is so big & bulky. This is black & gold..

Lookee at the top! It even got an emblem!


It's so utterly dee-vine!

Anyway, we know that no matter how cute the packaging is, what counts is the formula,ne? Let's take a closer look at the wand first..


It's a comb wand with just 1 set of bristles unlike Maybelline Cat Eyes that got 2. At first i was a bit skeptic about the effectiveness of the wand since i have tried other comb wands that has only 1 set of bristles & it was not as effective compare to 2 sets. But anyway, this is a much-raved-about mascara so im sure that the wand would still work by itself....somehow..

Well, let's get to see the pictures to know if it does. This time i'll be providing close up shots of everything.


As what it says, lashes not curled. It looks like i hardly got lashes...


Lashes all ready for mascara application. Oh, by the way, i use a clear mascara to set my lashes to make sure that the curl will stay. It's just my personal choice.


See how my lashes are like Va-Va-Voom with just a single coat & look, no clumping at all! Sugoi!

What made it possible is the wand. Now i take back what i said about the wand not being effective because it is really good! Maybelline Cat Eyes Mascara's bristles are sharp that it looks like teeth already which would make you hesitate in applying mascara at the root of your lashes for fear that if you poke your eye you'll bleed to death.

Majolica Majorca's wand is not sharp, in fact the bristles are short, but since it's not runny there's no chance of the formula clumping. Again, this is the reason why i like asian mascaras because the formula is runny on which you get to really coat each lashes unlike western-brand mascaras that are rarther waxy therefore promotes clumping before you even get the full effect your aiming for. Plus it dries really slooooooooowwww!!! Asian mascaras dry faster!

One thing though, you have to take some time in applying this for maneuvering the wand is quite tricky especially if you are working on the outer lashes. But once you get used to it, im sure application will just be a breeze. Comb Wands are the best in applying mascara to the root of your lashes!

I'm actually happy with just 1 coat since it has already opened up my eye... but since this is a review i'll apply a 2nd coat.


It just made my lashes look more defined with a second coat,ne?

Those pics are just with one eye, let's take a look with a different angle.

 
Curled lashes (no mascara)

 1 coat

2 coats

See the difference on my lashes? It really does make my lashes look full & smooth! That tagline is just perfect for it did! I don't know if you can actually see it but this leaves a somewhat glossy finish.

Oh!
One more thing about this one is that this is WATERPROOF! Waterproof was made to describe this mascara. This is unbelievably good that i feel like i can go out in the rain & not worry about this smudging on me. It's like made of carnauba wax! LOL

Do you need to go to your best friends house to cry your heart out because your doll's dress doesn't fit anymore (corny!)? You ought to put this on for this will not let you down!

Are you are going mountain climbing but would still want to look all dolled-up when you reach the peak? You ought to put this on for this will not let you down!

Wanna go swimming? Maybe this will work..hehehe..i'm not that sure about the swimming part, but im confident that this will withstand any major water encounter!

I guess that's why some girls are saying that removing this mascara is hard.

I'd say it's not as hard as CG LashBlast which i said before that i feel like in order to remove it i need muriatic acid just to completely get rid of it. Removing MM lash enamel is just like how you remove waterproof mascaras.

Just put the cotton pad over it so that your make-up remover can break down the substance making any mascara easy to remove. If you keep on rubbing it off, it will just give you lines around your eyes, just let the cotton pad sit on your lashes, ok?

Since this is waterproof, you can expect that your lashes will really hold the curl like how you will hold for your dear life if you on the edge of the cliff. My lashes looked like how it was the time i applied it even though it's already hours ago & how humid it is! This is insane!

While i think that this is a great mascara it doesn't mean that i'll just ditch Fiberwig. For me Fiberwig is still my fave for 2 main reasons:
  • It is a fiber mascara therefore it makes my lashes longer, though it doesn't give volume, but for me who have been born with puny lashes, having long lashes were just a dream so that mascara is heaven-sent!
  • Fiberwig  can easily be removed with just soap & water. No need for make-up remover. I notice that the more i use make-up remover & swipe my lashes, no matter how gentle i do it some lashes would still fall off.grrr! My lash population is slowly decreasing...
But still, this is a pretty good mascara. If i haven't tried out Fiberwig this could easily become my favorite mascara...

So, let's have a break down on the good & the bad.

PROS:
  • Separates each lashes & coats them one by one!
  • provides volume
  • WATERPROOF (yes!all caps!)
  • nice packaging
  • staying power is insanely good!
CONS:
  • takes time to remove
  • doesn't lengthen lashes
  • not available locally

Again, as for the price, i'll leave that to you. This retails for $18.
This mascara now belongs in my 'favorite & most likely will be buying again' product list!

So, what's your favorite waterproof mascara?

Hope y'all have a great day!
Jaa~!

Friday, June 11, 2010

small haul~why are majolica majorca's mascaras packaging so cute?!

I'm so glad that i was able to make the thumbnails appear on the blog list again. I never did imagine that tinkering with the feed address & feedburner can mess with it. I was really getting annoyed that the thumbnail for my posts are not showing on the reading list. After a couple of days trying to figure out why, i was able to finally solve it! Thank goodness!

Lesson learned - never mess with the settings unless you really know the technicalities of it.

I have been into mascara craze lately since the eye area is the only part of my face that i take time in doing whenever i apply make-up. But then since i have tried using fiberwig (which im currently loving right now), it makes me curious about trying out different japanese mascara brands.And yes, i only want to try Japanese brands, since i know that their mascaras are great & is really meant to address lashes like mine. I have been visiting Sasa.com & Cosme-de.com for quite sometime now & was already on the verge of buying a couple of mascaras.

Since i said to myself that i don't use make-up as much as i did so there's no point in buying it, but i can't help myself from looking up every now & then at different sites. Up until i stumbled at Updated Trends that sells Majolica Majorca at such a low price that i decided to grab it.

Yesterday, i got it & boy was i glad!


Sis Czen is so nice to include a freebie. She included a Cyleina Carrot & Pineapple organic soap.



I bought the Majolica Majorca's Lash Enamel Glamour Neo with the tagline  Hope My Lashes Are Full & Smooth...this is 1 very wordy mascara. I did not even know what to call it since the only thing that i see on the tube is hope my lashes are full & smooth then everything is written in japanese already. But the packaging is to die for!

Totemo Kawaii!

It's so elegant looking! No wonder they are really expensive. This is the cutest tube of mascara that i have ever owned. I used to think that Lancome's mascara tubes are elegant-looking, but this one is elegant & cute at the same time. Kudos for the packaging!

As for the Shiseido Lash Curler, i already have the Shu Uemura Curler but im so curious about this one too that i decided to buy it. I'll be making a comparison between the two sometime.

You ought to visit Sis Czen's multiply for she is selling awesome stuff on her clearance sale.
I'll let you know about the Majolica Majorca mascara once i've tried it.

Hope y'all have a great day!
Jaa mata~!
^_~

PS:
Join my giveaway,ok?
^_~

Friday, May 07, 2010

IMJU Deja vu Fiberwig Mascara Review

I have heard a lot of raves about this mascara... & knowing that this is an asian-made product it made me so curious to try. Add the fact that this is Eki's favorite mascara, so i said to myself that i will really buy this someday & boy,was i glad when i visited Cosme-de.com & saw that they were on sale. What a great opportunity! So i was really happy when i picked my parcel.

The next day i tried it out & fell in love~!


The packaging & tube is big! But i find it cute... the top is even holographic!

I'm sure you have already heard of this mascara. Since it is made in Japan, it is marketed for those who have asian-lashes which are usually straight & short. This works great for me because i have that hard-to-curl & hard-to-manage type of lashes. FIBERwig..fiber mascara...mascara with fiber... the name says it all.



Let's start with the wand. The wand is big. It's the classic type of wand... it's designed with big gaps between the bristles, which i think compliments the formula since it's loaded with fibers. You can really see the fibers on it. I find it a bit awkward to work with it since i got used to using a thin comb wand, but after a few tries i was able to get it to work for me. Though i am still having a bit of a difficulty since it's big & i tend to apply some on my lids as well as my lower eye area. No wonder this is such a hit in Japan!

This product doesn't provide volumizing effect but the lengthening effect is awesome! I have to agree with their claim as a paint-on false eyelashes. Since it has fibers, the fibers add length to your lashes, therefore making it longer. You can go from naturally long lashes look to that dramatic look, it's all up to you! I can now make my lower lashes look visible compare to before where no matter what i use it still look puny.

The formula is watery, which i love, compare to waxy ones & dries fast. Which makes coating the lashes easier. It can  weigh your lashes down especially if you apply 3 or more coats. I think it really will weigh the lashes down because of the fibers, that's why Eki uses a heated curler. Again, asian lashes are hard-to-curl. One way that i find out to maintain the curl is by using Ardell's Lash Growth Accelerator (or just a plain old clear mascara) underneath to act as a gel to keep my curls since i don't have a heated lash curler.

It's not enough though for it still weigh my lashes down.In this case, i wait for it to dry first before curling it gently with a lash curler. The key is gently curling it. If you crimp it again & again, it will give you that "L" shaped lashes (which is too harsh) plus the fibers could stick to your curler. Therefore, giving it a gentle boost will really open your eye up. I know that curling lashes after mascara is not good, but i think it's applicable only if you crimp it heavily therefore causing the lashes to fall.

Now let's take a look at the picture. I just put it in a collage so to make it easier. Feel free to click the pic to enlarge it. I used Ardell Lash Growth Accelerator prior to curling & application.


On a side note, i think the Ardell Lash Growth Accelerator is working for me because now, you can get to see my curled lashes compared to my past 'mascara posts' pictures.

Now, going back....

As soon as i applied the mascara, it weigh the curl down. That's why i posted 2 pics of 1 coat of mascara so that you really get to see the difference between the curled one & 1 coat. But then, just keep going for you will see the effect once you did a second & third coat. It will really become longer. I didn't curl my lashes at the '2nd coat' pic yet, but when after i did the 3rd coat & wait until it dries then i gently curled it. So at the 3rd coat, my eyes really opened up because my lashes are curled & once you curl it, it will stay like that!

 The bottom pic is a comparison between my bare lashes to mascara-coated lashes. Falsies-look? Whatcha think?

One good point about this again is that you can easily remove it by washing. You don't need to use an eye make-up remover to get rid of it. Just rinse it with warm water & soap to take it off. Actually i can even pluck the fibers from my lashes without it leaving any black trace at all (but of course, i don't do that..hehe..im just saying!)! I used a towel in removing the fibers so that you really get to see it.



Now, even though i've been singing its praises it doesn't mean that it doesn't have a negative point. One of is that since the wand is big & the fibers are all over, it could cause clumping, especially if you a swipe it in a hurry. Since the formula is watery, it could make the lashes stick together so if you don't like that spiky-look then you just have to comb your lashes each & every time you apply it. Takes a lot of work i know, but it's worth the effort!

Second, it weigh the lashes down (as what i said), so you have to use either another mascara to hold your curl or use a heated lashes afterward.

It's not available here in the Philippines though. The only option is to look for online sellers, which sells it at a ridiculous price. (-__-") It's sold for $20+, but it's on sale at Cosme-de.com

After all the hullabaloo, it's time to do a little summary.

PROS:
  • true to its claims!
  • i love the formula
  • can be removed easily

CONS:
  • i just hope that the wand could be smaller somehow
  • could clump
  • not available locally
  • expensive
Will i buy it?
Definitely! It had made it to my 'favorite products' list!

I still like the Maybelline Volum' Express Cat Eyes Mascara, but it only comes 2nd to this. It can lengthen my lashes but is still gentle enough to remove using water & soap. Isn't that just 1 of the best thing about this mascara?!

Have you tried any fiber mascaras?
If you have short lashes like mine & want to lengthen it then give this a try!

Hope y'all have a great weekend!

Jaa ne~!
^_^

Thursday, April 29, 2010

Last haul?!

for the time being of course!

That's because i told myself that i would not really go back to being an impulsive buyer that i was. It's just that one day i realized that i can't save my money because i always buy thing impulsively. I'm sure most of you can related to this. We all have a penchant for buying "things that i need to review on my blog"...

I know you're guilty of this because I AM. During the time that i was so into blogging, i would buy stuff all because i wanted to make a review of it (of course i'm also curious about it). I wanted to be able to contribute something to the blogging community too.... But that was before..

As i did the Project 10 Pan, it made me realize a lot of things... & 1 of it is overspending.

I'm guilty of spending so much on  my vanity... Not only make-up but i'm more into hair & skin care & anything new that caught my eye especially in the beauty section.

Now, i wanted, if not really save(because it is hard to not buy something when you have money to burn,ne?) but to be able to invest in gadgets. I have already decided to buy a new digital camera for now..then afterward i have to buy a netbook..or a laptop maybe...who knows? But that doesn't mean that i would stop buying necessities,ne? It would just mean that i would limit my spending..

Ok, enough about it..
It's time to show you what i got yesterday..


As what i said this would be my last haul for the mean time. I received a notification card from the post office which means that the once that i ordered from Cosme-de.com had already arrived. w00t w00t!

I went to the mall yesterday to buy my favorite shampoo & conditioner... I am currently using Schwarzkopf hair care set that i won from a giveaway but sadly it didn't work for me. I'll do a post about the hair products that i've tried after some time..But i always go back to the The Face Shop's Changpo Magic Straight Shampoo & Conditioner. Review for this amazing product will be posted as soon as i have pictures of it


The SA also gave me a sample of  their tomato soap... Hmmm... It smells good. Maybe i'll really give this a try.

Then i was about to go home when i passed by the department store & remember that i need a neutral nail polish & saw Elianto's line. So i grabbed one & also 2 more then immediately go home...


It was already 2pm by that time & i still haven't had my lunch yet so i told bf that i want to eat together & we met at our favorite restaurant..at Luk Foo Cantonese Kitchen. I love eating at Luk Foo because the food is really delicious!

Then i went to the Post Office to pick up my parcel & went home..finally! The heat is unbearable & i feel like melting!

But my package revived me when i opened it & saw the Fiberwig Mascaras!


I have been lemming for this for like forever! I've wanted to try Fiberwig & i'm just so happy that Cosme-de.com put it on sale & was able to buy myself some half the price! How cool is that?! Plus shipping is free at that site..so it's nice! I also bought a sample pack of Shu Uemura's Cleansing Oil...

There ya go..
That's my story for now...

I'll be getting a new digicam this Saturday so i'm expecting that my pics would be a lot better! So for now, i won't be posting anything. Can't wait!

Hope y'all have a great day!

Jaa ne~!
^_~

Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...