Showing posts with label eyelook-dark. Show all posts
Showing posts with label eyelook-dark. Show all posts

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

thoughts about smokey eye make-up for semi-monolids

Before you scroll downward, just a little reminder that this post will be full of my pictures. For lack of model, i don't have a choice but to just put my pictures as an example. This is a bit embarrassing for me, putting in all of these pictures, but i would just like to make a point & this is the only way to explain my point. This is not a tutorial, by the way.

Most people think that only those that got deep-set eyes can rock a smokey look. Those that got monolids/semi-monolids would have a hard time pulling it off because they do not have "eye sockets". Let me tell you, hunnies, that that is not true, in fact if you will be able to apply it the right way, it could make your eyes look bigger even though you have hooded lids.

I don't have deep set eyes but i do smokey look every once in a while. You can even see in this pic below how narrow my eyelid is, so there's no ample space to do much blending but that doesn't stop me from doing smokey look. Uh oh, i need to wax my upper lip already.. *note to self*..hehe... by the way, that small white thing on my lid is glue..haha.


Bright smokey eye make-up gives off a very fun & flirty look, while dark smokey eye make-up can give that chic & strong (depending on the colors that you choose) look. Lots of women shy away from it thinking that it won't suit them. Personally, i think every one can pull off a smokey look.

I have done a couple of dark smokey eye make-up & it gives me a different look each time. It could make my eyes smaller, if i go for an elongated look. It could make my eyes look bigger if i go for a rounded smokey look. It could give me a fierce look if i use a really dark look like donning in a gothic look.

Whenever i tell the ladies that they can do the smokey eye make-up, they always have that doubtful look. It's like they only think that only actresses & models can do those & not ordinary women.

I went over my past eyelook posts to browse what are the looks that i've done before.


This made my eyes look small because the concentration of the color is at the outer part of my eye. As far as i remember, when i did my liner, i also elongated it hence the effect. This looks is better suited for those that got deep set eyes & would want to don the ultimate cat-eyed look.

Gothic look is really fierce & can make you look like you are angry at the whole world, but you know what's awesome about donning in a gothic eye make-up? It sort of gives you that "don't mess with me" type of outlook & would even make you feel confident.. provided that you have an awesome primer underneath,ok? hehehe


Going without primer in this look would be disastrous for if you have a dark make-up it would be very obvious once it creases. But believe me, girls, this look is awesome when you wore it.

Now i think, the sultry soft smokey eye make-up is one of the most coveted eye make-up look. If the gothic look gives you that "i am awesome" type of attitude this one exudes an alluring & feminine aura that's why most of us relates a very smokey look to sexiness.


Kim Kardashian exudes that sexy sultry look whenever she dons her smokey eye & nude lip look,ne? If you feel like you need an extra boost with your confidence by your eye make-up, soft smokey eye make-up is your best bet!

Now, let's talk about  bright eye make-up!
You don't have to be tied with the usual neutral/earth colors. There would be some time in your life when you would have to taker a step forward & leave it for a while. You would discover a whole new world out there once you start filling your make-up kit with colorful shadows.

I love bright eye make-up! It is very fun, girly, playful & flirty. It adds sunshine when you are feeling down. Now, i know a couple of ladies who do not like bright eye make-up thinking that it won't suit them. I think some colors won't suit a specific tone but once you found the colors that suit you. You won't go wrong.


I did this make-up look when i joined a contest. It was an arabic make-up contest. It was really fun having this bright look, i almost regret taking it off for it cheered me up.


Last thing that i want to add is to justify what i said before that if you do your smokey look, it could emphasize your eyes even though their small.


See how different it looks like with the smokey look?
As what i said in my past post that you have to bring the colors upward not at the outer part so that it would 'lift' your eyes. I'll do a tutorial for the first picture that i posted later on.

I haven't touched my make-up kit for a long time already! Aside from my go-to stuff which would just have the basics, i've neglected the rest of my make-up. Actually, i don't put make-up when i go out anymore, unlike before. I only put moisturizer (that got hyalauronic acid), dr feelgood as a primer (to somehow close up my pores so dirt won't enter it), lipbalm/lipstick, groom my brows & that's it!

Haha!
That's why a couple of people are surprised whenever they see me (especially those who know that i am a beauty blogger) for they are expecting that i would always have smokey eyes or vampy lips. So, if you are expecting to see me with full make-up on just because i'm a beauty blogger, pardon me for ruining your expectation but i prefer to keep my face bare for all people to see my flaws. hehe

I learned it the hard way that piling on make-up is not good. As what i said, i still have the scars & marks to prove it.

But that doesn't mean i stopped doing smokey eye make-up or even going for a full made-up look. I'm just waiting for the perfect time when i could go all out.

So, ladies, don't shy away from doing smokey eye make-up. As what the "kocho-oneesan" in the anime Saiunkoku Monogatari once said,
"Make-up is a woman's battle armor. When you're heading into a battle make sure you wear it. If you do, you'll never cry. If you cry, your make-up will fall apart. No matter how light the make-up is, the result would be disgraceful. So regardless how difficult things are, you will not cry."
I love this quote!

Hope that you will try to don smokey eye make-up every once in a while,ok?

Hope you are having a great day/evening!
^_^

ps:
My FB giveaway has already started. Head on HERE to join.

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Eyelook:Silver Smokey Eye

Following up on my post yesterday, this is the tutorial on how i made it.


 I just used the 88 palette, if you don't have the 88 palette im sure that you could just use a silver eyeshadow, a dark brown eyeshadow, a red orange color & black.
 
I've numbered the colors that i used based on how i applied it.


Number 1 is the color for the lids
Number 2 is an all over wash for the upper lid area
Number 3 is to create that warm sheer glow just below the brow
Number 4 is to deepen the color
Number 5 is for highlighting

Well, let's start:
  • I've primed my lids using ELF Mineral Eyeshadow Primer & put a little lip balm on it so that the eyeshadow would really stick. Then i applied a sticky tape on the side so to create that neat winged look

  • Then using a pencil liner i made a guide so to make sure that i know the exact place where i would start blending. 
This is a good step for those who got monolids but would want to sport dramatic smokey look. For those who are already used to doing smokey look, you can skip this, but if you are a beginner & needs a guide then feel free to do so.


  • Using an angled brush, i smudged it out for again this would only serve as a guide. 
For those who are used to applying eye make-up, you could create a sharp cut in the crease by just blending the colors towards the brows.


  • Then apply a silver-colored (number 1) eyeshadow on the lid area. 
Apply it by doing a patting motion to be able to pack as much color as you can on the area.


  •  Then using a blending brush apply the dark brown (number 2) color in a circular motion on top of the silver shadow.
Doing it in a circular motion will blend the silver shadow with the dark brown therefore removing the harsh line that you created when you applied the silver shadow.


  • For a touch of warmth, add a red-orange shadow (number 3) on the upper-outer area with the same circular motion.


This is how it will look like once you have blended everything all together.


  • Let's add some depth on the look by applying black (number 4) on the outer area only.
Do it in a circular motion. Key to a good smokey eye make-up is blending. You should not see any lines/edges of color when you are rocking a dark smokey eye look.


  • To make sure that you have blended everything together, i highly suggest that you get a clean blending brush to do some more blending.
You can't do enough blending...


  •  Then highlight the look by applying a light,almost-white shadow (number 5) in between the brow & your eye make-up.
 Don't forget to bring down the color by applying silver on the inner half..just like in the pic... and the black shadow on the outer half.

  •  Line your eyes to define the shape. Bring it also to your waterline,ok?
Feel free to use any liner that you want to. In my case, i just used a pencil liner then i set it with a black shadow.


  • Curl your lashes & apply mascara or use falsies.
In order to rock the dark smokey eye make-up you should make sure that your lashes are really curled for this will open up your eyes.


Sorry if this is different for this was the pic that i took last night. I don't feel like applying heavy coat of mascara today so i just used this pic. And this is my real lashes!
 
Majolica Majorca Lash Enamel + Fiberwig Mascara = Va Va Voom Lashes!
isn't it?
I am already fretting because i don't know where to buy Fiberwig & i don't want to order online anymore.

This is not really hard to do, you just need the right tools to be able to do a smokey eye make-up.


Anyone can do it! Take my word!
Just make sure that you go for neutral lips when you do dark smokey look,ok?

Do you like smokey eye make-up?
What's your favorite color combination?

Hope y'all have a great day,ladies!
Jaa~!
^_^

Thursday, June 10, 2010

eyelook gothic

Ha! Finally!

I was able to make an eyelook after months. It seems like i haven't touched my eyeshadows for like forever. Funny thing is, i haven't really felt like playing with colors ever since i started to get fascinated in gyaru-looks, but the other night, as i was checking what games i could play again, i saw Silent Hill 2 (which is on my next playlist as soon as i cleared the extra missions in Fatal Frame 3... im a perfectionist!). I just had this urge to get to try the darkest eyelook that i have yet to try. So i ended up doing a gothic look.


This is my first time doing such a look that i had a hard time sporting it, but it was nice to be able to accomplish something that i have wanted to try before but just haven't. My skin is acting up so it ended up looking weird. As what i said before, i do make-up look in the evening..hehe. Sorry about it, let's just concentrate on the eye make-up,ok?

I was supposed to do a full gothic look, but ended up just doing the eye make-up since i don't feel like sporting an even darker lip color.

It's easy doing this look, all you have to do is apply a black base, black eyeshadow, dark brown color & a highlighter. I did it Fran's way. Fran is the first youtube make-up guru that i watched & i really look up to her.

Make sure you apply a black base allover your lid. It would make the black eyeshadow stick to your lid better & would make it appear more vivid. In my case, i just used an eyeliner. I don't have a gel liner so the eyeliner would do. I applied it using a brush instead of applying it directly to make sure it is even.


Just follow the steps in the video.... although in my case, instead of using a purple color, i used dark brown to soften up the edge of the black color. Make sure you curl your lashes & apply mascara. You don't want your lashes to close your eyes since this is a very dark look. You want to open it up as much as you can so go ahead & apply a mascara that will hold the curl of your lashes well.

I don't look good in super dark eye make-up like this, but it was still fun being able to do something that i would never be able to wear.


It's really hard to take good pictures when you do it at night,eh?
hehehe

Anyway, i used the Dr.Jart+ BB Cream (Silver label) as my face base, Physician's Formula's Powder Palette in Blushing Natural for the cheeks & Mac Blankety lipstick to finish the look.


Well, there ya go!
My first feeble attempt to do a gothic look. I really should have done this in broad daylight to have better lighting...shoot!

Anyway, have you tried sporting a gothic eye make-up?

Hope y'all have a great day!
Jaa ne~!

^_~

ps:
don't forget to join my giveaway,ok?

Thursday, August 06, 2009

Entry for Alexandra's contest

I was watching TV early this morning, while drinking my meds, i saw this TV commercial with a Medusa-like character & all of a sudden it just hit me that i know what country i would wanna do for Alexandra's contest.

For those who did not saw the little note at my last post, i was down with the flu for the past couple of days...but its not swine flu..thank God for that! When i went to the doc for the check up she reminded me of the lab test that i haven't done yet & she put me on medication FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE...what the heck... (-_-") That's what I get for not listening to my doctor...tsk tsk tsk tsk....bad thiamere...to think im just 24?!...*sigh*

I would as much as possible like to make an early entry because i wanted my readers to know about the contest to show some love for her. Please join her contest...it would be lonely if only a couple of people will join..the more the merrier,right?For those who did not see my post on her contest you drop by my contest blog too.. Make sure that you go over her blog...click HERE .

Anyways, back to my story...when i saw that commercial it dawned on me that i will do either a Roman-inspired or Greek inspired look...So i googled to take a look at some some pics but for reason it just doesn't seem to call on me..& i saw the word ISIS somewhere...so i just typed in 'Egytian Goddess'...i was originally planning to do ISIS, but i don't have enough time to do a fake throne as a headress so i just thought of Cleopatra...

So the country that i choose is Egypt...& who better to choose than Cleopatra?!

Hey, everybody knows Cleo,right?
So there....that's the story behind my entry..lol!
This is my inspiration pic...

Tried looking for a good pic of Cleopatra but Elizabeth Taylor's pic keep coming right up & since her makeup looks fab so i decided to do it!


I don't have fancy headress & gold ornaments....heck..i don't even have any golds at all...even goldfish (-_-")

This is me trying my very best to decorate myself....but i think i failed (-_-)


Now this is the only pic that i have that focuses on my eyes.. Im no good at lining my eyes...


& it took me forever to finish lining it... but im quite happy after an hour of erasing & applying liquid liner..hehe

My skin looks pasty prolly because of i still have a slight fever, but nothing can stop me from putting makeup... I look like DEATH already for the past couple of days & putting make-up made me really giddy!yay!

Why is it that all the pics that i like the most from the lot are blurry...?
this is my fave of all the pic that i took today...


Products used:


The contest supposed to end tomorrow August 7....for people living in the US you still got 2 days...is it?

Make sure you join her contest,k?

Jaa~!

Monday, May 25, 2009

Alter Ego Contest entry

An Alter Ego contest....
interesting,ain't it?

Good thing that Posey extended her contest because i was able to make one. Actually i've been thinking & thinking of a good look to come up with...add the fact that my skin is not cooperating lately because aside from my zits, my complexion is a bit dull plus my hair is dry...arrrgghhh!!!!

I almost give up, until late last night when i was playing with my palette that an idea just occurred to me...wham! my fingers keep on blending & blending until i reached the perfect look that i wanna do. Wanna know what it is...? I tried my best to cover up my dullness...but i can't do anything about the hair... T_T

Now its time for my entry...

Let me tell something about myself first.

I was born in a religious, conservative family where i was sent to study in a catholic school all my life...went to a catholic all-girls college. I grew up with my mom pounding on me that simplicity is beautiful.

So when it comes to make up, i opt for simple one..though i still do colors, but not that much. i only put makeup when i do blog post or when i go out for friendly dates or when with bf...

Mostly i use lip balm, eyeliner, mascara,gold or peach shadow just to even out my lids, concealer & a smile. I think smiling is the best way to look beautiful,ne? I never cared that much about foundation either because i perspire a lot & i have a very oily skin. I hate it when makeup oxidizes!

As for using red lipstick...nope..actually i only had one...ii's the Lancome Le Rouge Absolu, which i think is in Rogue Ambre (which i wasn't even able to use until it harden & cant be used anymore).

Therefore, i present my simple me:

I look horrible...
i can't believe im sharing this pic..i look like i wasn't even wearing any makeup at all!uurrkkk!
x_x

This pic was taken by a friend when we went to eat out together to celebrate both of our bdays...
It was taken i think a year or two ago..im not sure, but it was a couple of months ago. I put this one here to show how i stick to my simple routine. If i remember it right, i was wearing a peach blush, nivea lip balm, a light sweep of peach e/s, eyeliner & mascara. That's it! but again it doesn't even look like im wearing anything...


Then this was with my friend, Cat. (hiya,girl!)
Again, i was just wearing lip balm, a grayish-brown liner, gold e/s , mascara & bronzer...
Its only now that i notice that i look way to white here...i guess its just because of the light & the fact that im wearing black?

So, recreating the look that i did on my 2 photos, i will look like this:


This is how i look now (as in NOW) because im gonna go somewhere.
I just put a peach shadow, liner, mascara, blush, rice powder & lip balm.. im good to go!

Not much,huh?
It's only lately that i get to wear more colors....but mostly for everyday, i just go for a simple almost-nothing (well...concealer is a must!) look.

In contrast to that, there is this foxy vixen who is struggling to get out...rawr!
A persona who wanted to actually just loose all inhibitions & be one with the evil world...har har har! (very Maleficent-like....*hints on my next post*)

So how would you define this?
Its gotta be a cold & tough valkyrie who eats nails for breakfast...lol!

This was my attempt at a sultry bad girl look:
Argh! i hate how dull i looked...Have you ever had a time when your skin looks so dull & you can;t do anything about it...Now i think i really need to have a color correcting primer....


This was my first time doing a super smokey look...i do smokey look, but not a heavy dark smokey...so i have to do lots & lots of blending!


I think i was able to do the classic dark smokey...thank godness!
I worked with white, silver & black to achieve the look!


Since i came up with this look in the middle of the night then i don't have the time to have a henna tattoo...so i just drew a hand tattoo using my Eyeliner..lol!

I so loved this look i didn't removed it until i was about to sleep that my bro was staring at me wondering why the heck was i wearing make up in the dead middle of the night...haha!

Ill let you in on a secret though...
I lost my falsies...i mean, i put them on my eyes but they are not the matching pair..haha
it's just not too obvious because i sport a dark look. XD

lookee the pic below!


I've been so intrigued in doing this look for myself but haven't got the willpower to do so up until i came across Posey's contest...So, see...contests are really fun! it makes you do things you don't normally do. It's not about winning the contest, but its about learning from the experience. Now that i've tried this..i think i can get away with this...(only if im not with bf..hehe..he hates it when i put too much make up! XD)

Lesson learned:
-Using false lashes is a good idea specially of you are going for a dark smokey eye because it will help open up your eyes. The more dark your eye make up is, the more it has the tendency to close your eyes. So put that falsies to good use!

For people who wanted to enter the contest, you still have a few days to do so. Contest will end at the end of the month... so go ahead & challenge yourself! Let your Alter ego come up....i promise you,its really fun to do so!

^_~

Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...