Showing posts with label cheap finds. Show all posts
Showing posts with label cheap finds. Show all posts

Tuesday, May 08, 2012

guess how cheap my fave nail art brush is!

I said before that i use artist brush in making my nail arts.
I still get a lot of questions on my email every now & then about what brushes i use & how much they are. I prefer artist brushes i guess because i started out as a painter before i fully got into nail arts. So every time i drop by the mall i always make sure i check out an art store for some inspiration & supplies too.

Anyway, enough about my painting woes..lol!
I bought these brushes at National Bookstore. This is my current favorite detailing brush.
How much is this?
Feast your eyes! Ay mali, wallet pala! (wrong,i mean your wallet) hahaha


I have been using this for a couple of months now. I bought a couple of them & every time i go to National Bookstore it always finds a way on my basket.

It has different sizes, make sure you get #1.


This is how it looks like.


It looks a bit stiff because this is a new one but you see how it has a nice tip for making really tiny details on a small canvas.

See?
I have 5 of them!

I think i'll stop buying them na. I've had enough to last me a lifetime. hahaha!
This will last a long time compare to other brushes just because this doesn't have a metal ferrule.

So, if you are hesitant in spending money for a set brush or you are just starting & would want to practice more, then this is perfect,ne?

Make sure you get this one & start practicing on your nail art!

Have a great day,ladies!
Jaa ne~!
^_~

Tuesday, May 01, 2012

Wet n Wild Night Prowl alternative

I love Wet & Wild's Night Prowl.
It's a black jelly with lots of bright purple glitters. It's one of those polishes that looks good even on short nails. Not all polishes look good on short nails,right? It's frustrating when you cut your nails really short & can't seem to find a polish that seems to look good.

But this one is something that looks really nice especially for those who are fair-skinned. So i'm really glad that i was able to own one. Thanks so much to Jenna of Sirenasparklestar!

I don't think this is available in our local Wet & Wild though. Too bad for those who wanted to have this...
But wait! I have good news for you, girls.

I was browsing my stash a week ago, looking for polishes that i will be using for frankening when i happen to take a look at my OMG polishes. Lo and behold! I saw what looked like an alternative for my favorite polish.


OMG is one of the local polishes that i really like!
It's cheap & it dries fast too. I have all the OMG polishes.

Now the shade that i am talking about is the Happy Hour.


I'm not saying that this is an exact dupe of Night Prowl because the main difference is the glitter size. If Night Prowl has obvious glitters, Happy Hour has ultra fine glitters.


This is a swatch of them side by side. I painted my pointer & middle nails with Happy Hour (HH) & the ring & pinkie with Night Prowl (NP).


While NP is a 2 coater, HH needs 3+ coats but then again it dries fast so it doesn't matter. You can get away without a top coat using HH but you can't skip topcoat in NP.


Why? The glitters are chunky.
See how smooth HH is compare with NP? This is swatched without any top coat

This is a better picture to see HH better.


I like how those ultrafine glitters seem to just peek out of the black jelly.

So, if you can't get your hands on Wet & Wild, go for OMG! It's just a fraction of the price! I can't remember the exact price but i know that this is less than Php20 while WnW is sold here for Php100-200 each.

Hope you all are enjoying your evening!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

brush guard dupe!!!!

We know that brushes are an investment. You can't have great works if you have crappy tools,right? You have to take care of your brushes just like how you take care of your make-up. How do you do that? Simple, buy a brush guard... or so the pros keep on saying.

I was browsing through Ebay one time looking for brush guards because i am getting irritated with the splayed bristles on my brushes. I placed a bid on an authentic variety pack brush guard when i saw a 1 meter cosmetic brush guard mesh for only $1. I immediately bought 3. I mean 1 meter for just a dollar... how cheap is that?!

Since it's cheap to start with i bought 3 & i think that it's a nice purchase.

Now, i'll just clear this from the start that i have the authentic brush guards in variety pack. So this would be a comparative review. A bit like a splurge or save post too..hehe


What i like about the variety pack is that it covers small to big brushes. I'm sure you have reviews about it already so i'll not bore you into details about it since this post is about the dupe.

In this picture you'll see the real brush guards compare to the 1 meter brush guard mesh protector that i am telling you.

See how different it looks from each other?
I'll give you my idea of how it works like but i'm not sure if i got it right,ok? This is just my opinion.

The real Brush Guard has several strands of nylon lined up perfectly then woven intricately. The ends were melted together to stop it from splaying & running out. The thickness of the nylon i guess helps it to "absorb" the water from the bristles then slides down to the tube for faster drying. That's most probably the logic behind it.


The brush guard has a specific size for different brushes. It doesn't mold to the shape of the brushes but retains its tubular shape when you use it... except of course when the brush has thick bristles.

Now on to the mesh protector...
Well, what do you expect...?
It's a mesh. It reminds me of fruits that are in a styro mesh to keep it protected.


It's a thin plastic mesh that molds to the shape of your brush to help retain its shape. Since this is made of plastic i don't think that it can easily absorb water from the bristles for faster drying but then this is thin enough to let the air pass by compare to the brush guard so i guess that it would somehow compensate for the material.

The ends of the brush guard are melted together, as what i said before, now the mesh protector doesn't need any melting at all because it has this hexagonal mesh that connects each other so you can just cut it freely without worrying over splayed fibers unlike the brush guard.

This is what i was saying about the shape. The mesh protector molds to the shape of your brush while the brush guard retains its tubular shape.


I'll let you know too that i don't actually like using brush guards when drying my brushes. 
Why? It takes a long time for it to dry. I prefer to just air-dry as is then i put the brush guard later. I hate it when my brushes has this weird scent because it took too long to dry. I know you know what i'm talking about so don't go telling me that maybe i didn't rinse my brushes really well because i do!

This most especially happens on kabukis because they have thick bristles. The middle part of the bristle begins to smell weird if you let the bristles dry clumped together. Actually whenever i air dry my brushes i see to it that i fluff the bristles out by spreading them around to let the air circulate on it to make sure that any moisture left on the base of the bristles would totally evaporate.

Anyway, this is just my opinion.
I prefer to use the brush guard for storage not for drying them out. So if you'll ask me if it functions like the brush guard when drying i can;t answer you because i haven't tried it & i won't try it because i really hate smelly brushes!


This is how it looks like when put on a brush.
It keeps the bristles all where they are supposed to be. As long as it does the function of keeping my brushes in shape i don't care whether it's the original or not.

Now one thing that i find maybe a bit disconcerting is the length of them.
Since the brush guard's length is already fixed per brush, on which it will definitely cover the ferrule & a big allowance at the end. I thought that it is somehow a waste that 1 guard is about 2/3 the size of the whole brush itself on which you only need it for the bristles,ne?

See this pic?


The frugal in me thought of cutting it in half so i could maximize my money's worth. haha!
But i think that it will just look ugly if i do that. Again, the brush guard's shape is like a tube. I think part of its functionality is it's length too. That means i can't go on splitting it in two. I might just regret it.

Now, as for the mesh protector, i can maximize it without any problems at all.
Why? It's because it molds to the shape of the brush. It can retain the shape of the brush from the ferrule up to the end so it will not matter if you cut it really short. The shorter you cut it the more protector you have for your brush since you are the one deciding how long/short you want it to be.

The only thing is the appearance. If you cut it short it would look weird. I mean how funny your brushes would look if you have something that covers it only up to the ferrule? it would be like seeing a man wearing a high-waist beach short! haha!


But since these are just my personal brushes i don't care if they look like so as long as the shape is ok then im fine with high-waist short. LOL!

Now my main issue about this is that it will be hard to use this for tiny eye make-up brushes like angled brush for one. The mesh protector could accommodate big brushes because it could stretch wide but it couldn't really mold into small brushes,wouldn't it? You can still use it though, it just wouldn't really snugly fit those small ones.

I bought this at Ebay HERE for just a little more than a dollar ($1.04 to be exact) with free worldwide shipping. See?! That is already amazing by itself,ne? $1 + free shipping!

PROS:
  • works great
  • really cheap!
  • 1 meter can cover a lot of brushes!
  • free worldwide shipping!
  • no need to worry of the ends running/splaying unlike the brush guard
CONS:
  • not locally available (but hey, they offer free shipping!)
  • would not really give a snug fit to small brushes, but it would still work though
With all of those said, what's my verdict?
Did i like it?
Yeah, it works great in keeping my brushes in tip top shape. It's also cheap & i get my money's worth, actually double my money's worth because if i'll compare it with the brush guards it can have 10 or more mesh protector with just a fraction of a price. The brush guards retail for more or less than $5 with just 6 pieces or so.

Will i recommend it?
Sure!
Again, i haven't tried it in drying my brushes because of the said reason but if you are looking for an affordable way to keep your brushes in shape then go ahead & get this. Your dollar is well-spent.

I won't mind buying again but since i have 3 of them i think i have enough to keep my brushes in shape for the time being.

Have you tried brush guards?
Will you still try this one then if you have the real brush guards?

Hope you all have a great day!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

ps:
i'm not connected to the seller. i just thought of making a post about this because it works ok & it will save you money. ^_~

Thursday, July 29, 2010

Beautytreats Lipstick + weekend nails (finally!)

Want to know what i think about it? I think my smile would tell you how glad i am that i bought these.

I was in for a treat when i bought these babies. I am in love with these!

Let's get to know the brand first. The SA told me that this brand is from US. I tried looking for info about it & i saw that they have a website. I have not yet read reviews of this brand yet so i'm not really at all familiar with the products. I'm not sure if Beautytreats is available at all leading department store. I bought it at SM Manila.

The SA said that this finish have 7 shades. I only bought 2 though... I picked the shades Baby Berry & Hot Gossip.


Again, i swatched this just once


Hot Gossip is a nice red..blood red! I really love it!
Baby Berry is a deep pink..if there is a burgundy pink, then it's a good way to describe it.

I have only used this for a couple of times, but i know that i am ready now to be able to give my review for i reach this lipstick every now & then... Wanna know why?
  • They're dirt cheap but good quality! 
  • They are pigmented like matte finishes but glides like a butter (like amplified cream finish for MAC). 
  • They are creamy which makes application a lot easier with no tugging on the lips just so that you'll be able to apply it. 
  • Since they are creamy & pigmented you only need 1 swipe & you're ready to go!
  • Again, they are creamy so your lips won't feel dry unlike matte lipsticks (but it's still better to wear a lip balm underneath).
I was wearing Hot Gossip on the pic above. I love how it could make the whole face light up. This is what i call a to-go type of cosmetic product! 1 application & you could already conquer the world with your chin up,ne?

This also lasts a long time! If you wipe it, it would leave you with a nice natural red-looking lips. It's better to use a lip liner to line your lips to prevent your lipstick from bleeding. It's looks glossy enough so you can even skip lip gloss if you want to.

Now this is with Baby Berry... I wasn't able to take a good pic of me with it..but since the star of this pic is the Baby Berry, so it doesn't matter. I think i was able to at least pull the color. Love this color!


I didn't apply any blush in the pic..Just a light dusting of pressed powder & mascara.

Oh! & i forgot to add, the only thing that made me not in favor with this is the packaging.

While it may not look & feel cheap, the fact that it has that 'rubbery' texture would make it as a dirt magnet. It also doesn't have a box or anything. Actually when i bought it the tag price was just stuck on the side, which when i removed it part of the label was also stuck.

Well, with the price that i paid i guess i should not complain..but still...
*OC in me grumbles*

with Hot Gossip on

with Baby Berry on

I so love these lipsticks!

They have different lipstick finishes but i'm not interested so i did not inquire more about it. What i find so cute about them is their lip glosses, it looks like a giant flower. The cap is big because it has a lipstick underneath! And the price is also the same.. Php 205! How cheap is that?! I'm just not a lip gloss fan though.
    If there is 1 brand of lipstick that i would recommend especially if you have a tight budget then you ought to check this out.

    Well, this is just a quick heads up for those who are looking for a good lipstick.

    Hope y'all have a great day,hunnies!
    Jaa ne~!
    ^_~

    ps:
    After weeks of not being able to do nail arts, i was able to finally pull something off. I tried doing nail arts last week, but with my days going downhill even the nail polishes seem to be on a strike, i wasn't able to. Though this is not as neat as i want them to be, but i'm already happy for i think it's already a good start!

    I should have just done a black & white puzzle pieces,ne? I would do so the next time & i'll do a tut by then.



    Thursday, December 17, 2009

    my improvised traincase & lipstick haul

    I know i've been lagging on my posts & even on commenting.

    I'm so sorry for that, i've been so busy completing my christmas list that's why. I know that you understand me because i'm pretty sure you are also busy with the upcoming holiday....ne?

    I finished wallpapering my tool box...what with the classes & room cleaning, i was able to squeeze it, but it's not exactly as perfect as i want it to be. But as long as i was able to finish it, it's ok.

    So here is my craft project for the past couple of days. I just used a double-sided tape to stick it.

    It looks so flowery!

    I lined the inside with wallpaper so as to cushion my cosmetics whenever they hit the wall of the box.
    See what i'm saying about not being able to really do it perfectly?
    ashamed smileys

    Anyway, i can just tape the side again..no problem. As for the cut on the upper left side, i have to do it because the box is not exactly a perfect cube so there's a space at the edge. if i won't clip it, the tray won't fit the mouth of the box anymore.

    I still have a lot of foam paper so i decided to line the drawer where i keep my brushes.

    So that it won't look so blah....


    I'll still be lining the box where i store my polish, but i'll just do that when i have a lot of free time. For the mean time, this will do!

    Now, as i'm nearing the completion of my christmas list. I'm 95% done! & spending thousands of bucks for everything, i figured that i want to be able to at least console myself for spending a lot but still add something to my little collection.

    No matter how much i love eyeshadows, i know i won't be able to use everything that i have with me until i die so i have to stop buying eye shadows. i don't have a lot of lip products. In fact, i only have like 3 lipsticks!

    So to add color to my lips, i decided to buy 2.

    Counter clockwise starting from the top:
    -Ever Bilena in Skin
    -Fanny Serrano in Carnation
    -Fashion 21 Stick Eyeshadow in Pearl (or white..im not sure)

    Here is a swatch of it...
    (I don't even have time to do nail arts anymore...See how plain my nails look)
    I love both of them! I don't even need to use a lip balm prior to application because it's so creamy already..not that i do it that way, but you can if you are in a hurry & not worry about it drying your lips.

    I have 2 mac lipstick & i have to use a lip balm before i apply it or it will suck the moisture right out of my lips! I remember when i try MAC Red without applying anything before i put it on, it made my lips go numb! I felt a bit scared because of that! I'm not sure about the others, but this is just based on my experience,ok?

    pic below is taken without flash

    pic below is taken with flash
    I will definitely be buying from Ever Bilena & Fanny Serrano. I think when it comes to safety, i can count on local products, especially Fanny Serrano for that. I was able to read his entry before about the history of his cosmetic line.

    Well, based on my very limited experience with lip products, i'd choose local brands in a heartbeat when it comes to lipstick compare to MAC lippies (again, because of what i experienced)...especially the one high-end brand that has the highest lead content of all. For those who are familiar with the safe cosmetics topics, im sure you know what brand i'm talking about.

    I'm not going to waste $30+ to eat a 'red' lead (pun intended).

    I'm gonna be going to the post office tomorrow to pick up a package. I hope it's my Strawberry.net haul already. *crosses fingers*

    How are faring with the holiday rush,ladies?
    Hope everything's ok.

    Jaa ne~!
    ^_~

    ps:
    i still can't find hair grips anywhere...
    huhuhu rolleye smileys
    do you know where i can buy it?

    Wednesday, July 22, 2009

    Pill boxes for storing sample pigments

    I have a lot of mineral eyeshadows that are in baggies..& we know that not only is it inconvenient, but it makes everything all the more messy than it already is...

    I also hate individual plastic jars...it's because im so clumsy that often times i end up misplacing them...so i prefer stackable jars....

    If any of you have read my post about travelling with ease, i mentioned something about using pill boxes as my pigment storage... read that post for more info about what i do when i travel & have to bring my cosmetics with me.

    Yesterday when i went to the bookstore to buy some bubble wrap envelope to have my prizes shipped, i went to a japanese store& saw this cute colored pill box...i remembered that i still have lots of pigment samples that are in baggies so i bought one.

    Cute,huh?
    7 colors...which stands for 7days actually..

    This pill box have individual cover which makes them perfect for storing the colors...

    So i went to action & put them one by one...


    organizing them based on their color family....blue goes together with other blues...just so that it will be easier to remember...


    And of course, i put the names of the pigments underneath...using a sticker label

    Now i have everything neat & tidy!
    The only downside is, the box that i got doesn't have rubber sides on them so it's not exactly spill-proof...Well, doesn't matter...as long as i have everything organized then im ok. Plus the fact that it saves me a lot of space compare to using individual jars,right?

    If you have a pigments on baggies..you can also put them in pill boxes!
    ^_~

    Thursday, July 16, 2009

    Artists brushes for nail arts?!

    Im not much into nail arts...specially flowers, not because i don't like them...but i just can't... T_T

    I do decorate my nails but its just simple ones.. im actually a minimalist when it comes to nail designs, but sometimes its fun to fully decorate my nails every once in a while...The last time i did a nail art tutorial it's a fully decorated look which is not exactly my style but it's still fun sometimes...

    Anyways, in order to do some nail arts you have to have the proper tools,right?...but you know, you don't have to go buy the PROPER tools

    I don't have that much with me...in fact you get to see my other nail post, you would see that i only use the white nail art pen & a toothpick in making decorations...

    I promised before (long way ago!) that i'll be posting something about artist's brushes & i thought that it's time to post something about it before i cut my nails short again..

    Here are 2 of the brushes that i have with me ever since i started painting, that i think can be used to do nail deco too.


    They're just the normal brushes that you can find at any local bookstores or craft stores...

    One is pointed & the other one is flat,you can even see the price & the number of the brushes...
    It's just pretty cheap...It's just $1.10 (approx) per brush..

    Now, i tried using the flat brush to make a checkered design....
    This is the first time that i tried it so it would still look messy...

    You'll need lots of patience in doing this!haha!
    • Start with clean nails that has been coated with a nail base.
    • Coat it with your desired color (i use black here just so to show the contrast between the colors.
    • Then take the flat brush, then dip it on the color that you choose-in my case, i choose white.. you can use acrylic or nail polish..i use polish here..
    • Make small squares starting from the base of the nails using the flat tip of the brush...like so...
    • ...going to the tip..alternating them to form the checkered design
    • it's your choice if you want to put spaces on them or just line them together (see the difference between the 2 nails?)
    • Apply a clear polish over it so to make it last longer
    • Finish it with a top coat. Don't forget to clean the edges of the nails with a q-tip dipped in a polish remover!
    Clean the brush by taking the polish off with a polish remover...if you use acrylic, its easier for you can remove acrylic easily by washing it with soap & water.

    I'll try to use the other brush for nail art too...

    So, see..it's ok to do nail designs even if you don't have the real nail stuff to go with it...
    You just have to let your resourcefulness come up.

    ^_~

    Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

    I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...