Showing posts with label finishing powder. Show all posts
Showing posts with label finishing powder. Show all posts

Thursday, October 18, 2012

Physician's Formula Mineral Wear Loose Powder Review

I can't remember when was the last time i opened my traincase & played with my make-up. Yesterday, i just had this sudden urge to put on make-up & it was fun!

I wanted to don bright eye make-up but i remember that i don't have any mascara or even lash glue to complete the look so i just decided to opt for the safe choice which is to go neutral.

This also gave me a chance to fully use my new Physician's Formula Mineral Wear Loose Powder sent by Tamera.


Y'all know that im not a foundation user. I'd rather just use a finishing powder as my base instead of a full-on foundation so this was perfect since this is a loose powder. You can use it alone or over make-up. I decided to use it as my face base. I'd let you decide how the coverage would fare for it.

Let's get to know it first...
Just click it to read the description.


It claims to be:

  • Oil-free
  • Fragrance-free
  • Talc-free
  • Hypoallergenic
  • Non-comedogenic
  • Dermatologist approved
That sounds nice,no?

On to the packaging...

Housed in a big plastic container with a dome-shaped top unlike other ordinary loose powder container. I like that the cap fits exactly as i hate to have powder or my brush rolling inside my bag just because the cap is loose.


It includes a free mini kabuki brush, that is completely awful & useless. Do yourself a favor & buy your own mini kabuki brush. The product might be hypoallergenic, but im not sure about the brush! LOL! I got rid of the brush asap & replaced it with my very own mini kabuki brush.


It includes a brush holder to keep it in place. Yay for that!
You see that circular plastic at the side? That's when you get to use the powder as the brush holder act as the lid to the product.


I just hope that the tab won't break off after plenty of lifting & bending!

Then, on to the product.
Mine is in Translucent Medium & i have to say that it suits my skin pretty well!


The product is indeed fragrance-free.
I hate it when i opened my loose powder then the scent of it just comes straight to your nose, punching you senseless! That goes to Coty Finishing Powder!


It's really very light & disappears on the skin as soon as you blend it in.
See for yourself.


I think one is really meant to be used a finishing powder but if your skin is good then you can also use it alone. My skin had improved ever since my acne days so i can now go out without any make-up at all & not feel embarrassed so i use this as my foundation.

My skin is far from flawless but i think this powder was able to at least even out my tone. Here's a picture of my bare face vs with it on.


I got uneven skin tone with mainly redness on the cheeks but this powder was able to do a decent job of covering up my red patches. One more thing that i like about this is that it doesn't look like you put on pounds & pounds of powder on your face because it looks dewy! Wow for that!


It blends so well on my skin that it makes my skin look almost flawless!
It's not cakey & doesn't feel heavy which is really really like!


Now, the downside, i tried applying it alone (no moisturizers, primers beforehand) & it made my skin itch a bit. I was testing it out to see if it is indeed non-comedogenic & i didn't break out. So happy with it being really non-comedogenic but the itchiness sorta bothers me.

I applied it like how i usually apply make-up (complete with essence, gel & primer underneath) & i still felt a little itch. It might be because im not used to applying anything on my face anymore? Well,it doesn't break me out at least but the itch still bothers me.

Another thing that i don't like about it is that it doesn't have oil-control. tsk! I have to have oil films with me all the time. I have a combination/oily skin so i definitely need products that has oil control. This one would be great for normal to dry skin.

I still use this every time i go out but since i don't go out that much so i don't expect any break outs from this anyway.

Now, let's summarize everything!
PROS:
  • non-comedogenic/hypoallergenic
  • fragrance-free
  • talc-free
  • dermatologist approved
  • provides a light coverage which can easily pass as a foundation
  • feels light
  • skin looks dewy
  • not cakey
  • dual-purpose: foundation & finishing powder
  • the applicator (brush) is separated to the product
CONS:
  • made my skin itch but didn't break me out
  • bulky packaging
  • doesn't have oil control
Will i recommend it?
Yeah,sure!
It looks nice on my skin & everything so i would recommend it. About the "itchy" issue for me, maybe it's just me because i know how sensitive my skin is so maybe it's just me but since i didn't experience any break-out so this one is still a nice product.

Where can you buy it?
You can purchase it at Tamera Online for $14 (it's on sale!). It ships within the country so you can be sure that you'll get it.

Have you tried anything from Physician's Formula?
What finishing powders/foundation are you currently using now?

Hope y'all will have a great day!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

ps:
Product sent as sample. I did not receive any monetary compensation for this post. Opinion shared is personal view & is no way influenced by the company. Use at your own discretion.

Thursday, October 04, 2012

MAC Magically Cool Liquid Powder in Truth & Light

I just want to get this out of the way so i'll make a short review...

I'm trying to make up for my lost blogging time by posting up some of the products that i had been using but just haven't made a review on. It just dawned on me that my pictures are accumulating all because i haven't been blogging as much as i want to.

Ok, first things first, this product that i bought late last year as a part of my Christmas gift for myself... haha!



I have been a fan of any face products that has a cooling sensation. I said before the time when this was first released on the Venomous Villains Collection that i will be getting it by every time i drop by MAC, it's not available. I was so happy when they decided to permanently have this one. Yay!

MAC claims that it is formulated with 70% water...
Interesting,huh?

They have 3 shades available which are Truth & Light, Honey Rose & Cajun.

Cajun is too dark for me, while Honey Rose is more of a shimmery finish rather than a blush.

Truth & Light, while it is a sheer shimmer, you could easily use it as an all-over powder as long as you don't put too much. It is really finely milled so it can easily blend on the skin without it being too shimmery unlike other highlighters. It sinks on your skin that would result in a dewy finish rather than shimmery so that's really good!


I'm sorry, hunnies, but i lost my pics of it so i'll just be linking this post over to Temptalia so that you can take a look at the swatches. Pls click HERE to be directed to it.

I used mine as a finishing powder.
Yes, i can dust it all over my face .. yay for that!

I would hesitate using this if i still have a bad skin condition but since my skin is way way better than before, so i can get away with sheer shimmery product as a setting powder. I will not recommend it if you have large pores, acne marks/scars & also fine lines. Since this will just enhance things that you wanted to hide.

It works great as a subtle highlighter if you dust it twice on the area that you want to highlight.
I prefer using my Drizzlegold in highlighting though because it has a better shimmer effect compare to this. I think Honey Rose is better suited for highlighting than this.

As for the cooling sensation, it's not that strong. I was expecting that it would provide something like a chilling sensation! hahaha!
This is more of like a breezy sensation if there is one. lol!
It still feels nice though.

Now, one thing about this is that it has a funky smell.
I guess it got something to do with it being made up of 70% water. It doesn't smell bad but it has that different smell & it gets stronger as time passes by. It's not really bad but it just smells different. i can't explain the scent though... hmmm...

That's it! haha!
Told you this would be a short review.

PROS:
  • has a cooling sensation
  • dual-purpose; can work as a highlighter or setting powder
  • its MAC so packaging is sleek & sturdy
CONS:
  • a bit expensive - $30 a pop
  • has a funky smell
Will i recommend?
Sure, especially if you are a fan of products that has cooling sensation but otherwise, you can just buy a cheaper highlighter. hehehe

This was my last MAC purchase. 
I'm not that much into cosmetics these days because my nail art addiction is currently the one that's active..haha!

Are you a fan of products that has cooling sensation?

Hope you all are enjoying your day!
Jaa ne~!
^_^


Friday, March 02, 2012

Eshiko Ultra High Definition Powder Review

This post is dedicated to Sis Joan who had asked me about Eshiko. I almost forgot about this powder since it has been on my kit & i only get to use it when i do touch ups when i'm out which is rare since i don't go out that much these days. hehehe

This is my first HD powder & honestly, i don't know what to expect.
I'm not a foundation-user & i prefer finishing powders only. haha!
I made my research prior to buying this. It has positive feedback & the before & after pictures look great so i was sold!

Is it really worth it?
Does it live up to its claims?
Let's see... I'll let you decide for yourself!


This is what the company claims...

What is ESHIKO™?

ESHIKO™ is a 100% hydrated silica refined at the smallest size possible, smaller than all the leading hydrated silica brands. We also infuse moisture to each hydrated silica nanospheres to prevent the number one problem among all leading hydrated silica brands – Dryness of the skin. Think of ESHIKO™ as a 100% hydrated silica with an upgrade, the best hydrated silica on the market today.
I read reviews about it & tried to understand the logic behind everything.
They claimed to be the best hydrated silica that is available on which they boasts 10 nanometer silica spheres as opposed to other HD powders that has 500 nanometer silica spheres.

Please read this post to understand the technicality behind everything.
I'll be explaining things now based on my observation.

Let's start it first with the texture.
It is really finely milled! 


I'm not really sure about that 10 nanometer thing but i can say that this one is so fine that if you buff/stipple it on your skin it disappears almost completely! Look closely at the pic of the back of my hand. I think you can see the difference of the skin that has the powder on. It is really smooth & the fine lines of the skin had almost disappeared! It is so tiny it could sink on the gaps of the skin.

In this matter, i feel that i am wasting my powder when i use a brush. I think it's better to use a powder puff, like how i apply my finishing powder because you get to really push the product to your skin therefore filling up your pores.


Since it is very finely milled i feel like half of the powder that i loaded on my brush just ends up sinking at the ferrule. See that smoke-like thing on the pic? That's the powder that has sunk at the bottom of my ferrule! 
Tsk! Mottainai! Such a waste!
So i would suggest that you just use a puff when applying it to maximize it.

Going back...


You can tell & feel the difference of the skin without it & with it on. I have a combination to oily skin on which my cheek is dry while the rest of my face is oily. I read that this product is good for all skin types but  more friendly for dry skin compare to MUFE HD powder.  I applied this without any primer on the pic.

Now, i have issues of applying powder on the apple of my cheeks just because it is dry. It looks flaky at first but as it sits on the skin & i oil up it looks better. This is no exception. It looks a bit dry at first but it gets better later on.


See?
It looks like bare skin already. I know that my pores are still obvious but with this powder on, my skin looks brighter!

Guess what side of my cheek has the powder on? Oops sorry, i didn't have anything on. not even lip balm.


You can't guess?
If that's the case then i guess this next picture will tell you what part it had on...


The cheek that is not as oily compare to the other has the powder on. That would be my right cheek (left on this picture). Why? This picture will explain...


I blotted my cheeks after an hour & this picture will tell you how it fares on oil control. The cheek without Eshiko is really oily that you can even see my pores on the oil film while the one that has the powder is not that oily at all. But the pic that i took with the flash was after 3 hours already & you can see how oily my skin can get...

Now one more concern about HD powders would be about flash photography...
Remember the picture of Nicole Kidman & Eva Longoria with very obvious powder streaks on their face?
The culprit for that is MUFE HD Powder. HD Powders are notorious for reflecting the light from the flash of the camera.

The 2nd picture of my face was taken with the flash on. You decide for yourself how it fares... if it leaves a whitish cast on my cheek or not.

With all that, i'll leave you with things that you have to consider as well aside from what i just said above.
PROS:
  • very finely milled
  • disappears on the skin
  • good for all skin types
CONS:
  • can online be bought online for $30 (check out their website)
  • you have to be very careful in handling it since the powder is so fine it could just float around as you tap on it.
I bought mine when i saw a deal at a group buying site. I don't know where you can buy it here on the Philippines though.

These are just my observation but please do tell me on the comments what you think... if this is a yay or nay for you.
Did you think that it left a white cast with the flash on?
Did you think it was able to control my oil?

Hope you all will have a great weekend,hunnies!
Jaa ne~!
^_^


Friday, December 23, 2011

Christmas haul~

Can you believe that it's only a couple more hours before Christmas?!
Time flies...  really flies!

I just want to post my Christmas gifts that i got for myself.
Why did i buy gifts for myself?

It's because these would be the last items that i'll be getting for myself. I promised myself that unless i completed my Make-up Artist kit, i will not buy anything for myself that's why i went all out & gave in to the items that i have been dying to get.

So my "project mua kit" will start next year... actually, that's also saying that it will start now, except for the things that i really do need i won't be buying any personal make-up items for the time being. I would have to get all the Graftobian palettes if i want to have good quality cosmetics & they are not cheap. haha!

Anyway, on we go with my small haul. You all know that i try to only buy & use products that are budget-friendly but since this is going to be my last purchase for the meantime so i decided to splurge a little. hehe

A very handy yet captivating eyeshadow palette & my most coveted finishing powder!


I have always wanted to try the MAC cool liquid powder ever since it was first released in the Venomous Villain Collection but i wasn't able to buy it back then & i really really regret not getting it because i love anything that has cooling sensation!

I'm so glad that due to public demand MAC made it as a part of their permanent line! w00t w00t!
Sugoi!!! Awesome!!!

I had to ask a friend to buy this for me in Singapore because it's quite expensive here in the Philippines. Hey, it's the most expensive time of the year & i have to save up every centavo. haha!

She even gave me some MAC pamphlets!
I love that it has pro tips written on it.


I always love MAC's packaging.
It's so simple yet sleek!


Thanks so much, hun!
You made my christmas a really enjoyable one. I shrieked when i opened the package! Thanks for the glue remover too!

I have been searching high & low for this Daiso glue remover here & it's so dang difficult to find!
Love you, sweetie!
*hugs*
Thanks again!

Then the Sun Palette Horizon by YSL is THE palette that i have wanted ever since just because i love bright shadows (though i don't do eye make-up tut nowadays) & this palette just screams color!!!!!

Housed in a really cute brown velvet pouch with the sponge applicator nestled in the tiny pocket, it is just so luxurious!


Don't you think the colors are just dee-vine?!
My heart skipped a bit when i swatched it.


It looks so pretty i'm really so hesitant on swatching it for fear of destroying the pattern.. haha!
But my fingers are too big for this adorable palette, i ended up messing a stripe on the teal shadow. It's ok because if i didn't i might end up not using it.

I was lucky enough to order this palette at Strawberrynet.com since this was a limited edition so when i saw that it was available i didn't hesitate clicking the buy now button because it screamed at me to take it home!
LOL!

This has been sitting on my "kikay kit" ever since i got it & i L-O-V-E it!
*dies*
I'm so happy that i was able to snag it!

I think i still have a couple of things that i haven't shared with you guys but that'll keep until the next posts... nothing major though. hehe. Wish me luck on the "personal make-up ban" that i have promised myself. I know that mostly when you make a promise that's when temptations really sets in,right?
tsk!

I'll be very busy tomorrow because it's Christmas Eve already. I figure so you'll be,right?
I just hope that you'll have a very happy Christmas celebration!

Have a happy holidays, peeps!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

ps:
Make sure you join my Week 7 giveaway,ok?
^_~

pps:
i've repriced my blogsale
pls check it out
^_^

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

what have i been doing?

I haven't been that active in blogging lately & let me tell you that i am really feeling guilty. I am just so thankful that you have still been checking my blog even if i don't update regularly. I'll make it up to you by letting you know about things that have been going on with me for the past couple of weeks.

I don't even know where to start...?
Uhhhhmmm... i guess i'll start with the recent update.

I haven't really done a lot of nail art post lately because i have been so busy & my nails are like the last thing that on my mind. But luckily, last weekend i was able to do a nail art (finally!) & here is my current mani.


I'll make a tutorial on this design within this week. And no, this is not a decal, i did this freehand so i'm sure you can also do this. I'll take single tutorial pictures right after this post. hehe

Then some things/thoughts that i want to share....
I have bought this finishing powder & let me tell you that i love love love this finishing powder!


I'll make a separate post about this but i love how this photographs really really well!
I'm sure you know what side has make-up on,right?


I decided to just do half of my face because i want to really see the difference. Oh, i use San San's Matte Liquid foundation underneath & i am liking it too! It almost looks natural on me,right?


This is how it looks on broad daylight.
I know that the color of my face looks different with my neck because my neck is actually darker but since this is just a test, i didn't bother applying it on my neck. i also didn't apply any concealer & i'm glad that this combo was able to hide my small imperfections quite nicely.
^_^

In depth review after a couple more weeks.

Then i finally succumb to the call of the brush guard...


I have been really curious about this one but let me tell you that i don't think that it really a must for me. It just makes drying of brushes really long! I guess that this is better for storage but not really for drying. Anyway, that's just my opinion.

Then last week, i was really surprised when the mailman dropped by in the evening to make a delivery!
It came from my very revered "ate"!


I wasn't really expecting anything & i was really shocked when the mailman dropped a big box on my arms. I haven't really got any packages from Japan yet but now i know that it would be delivered straight to my house so another door has opened for me.

Napajapan, i'm gonna be your future customer! hahaha

Anyway, i was so surprised with everything that i got!


Everything is an eye candy!
*looks straight at Kamenashi Kazuya*
OMG!
I can't believe that they are mine!
Oh, of course i shared it with my brothers but seeing everything is just so unbelievable!
I have been singing "Run for you" ever since i got this!

Since i am already talking about this, i'll go over the Nail Up! magazine.
I only have soft copies of japanese nail art magazines from nail up, nail max & nail venus so owning one is definitely exhilarating!

Here are a couple of sample shots...




Will you all just look at the details of this nail design?


She even included the top coat that i have been searching for ever since!


Arigatou, onee-sama!
It's not a mistake that i choose '-sama' as the honorific to call you because i really look up to you.
Thank you, thank you, thank you!
*hugs*

Since we are already on the topic of nails, i'll just tell you all that i won 7th place on our group's nail art contest. Yay! So happy!!!!
(pictures taken from my facebook account)


I also attended our anniversary party where the awarding happened. It was a very memorable day!
I love my FUN group!


Did you know that you can do very detailed nail art design using a nail art fountain pen?


I tried it & it was so easy to use! I made the rose design at left part.


Another thing that was added on my things-i-wanna-own.
My list is endless!!!
hahaha!

Last thing that i wanna share, i have been looking for a good pair of flats that would fit my big feet & i'm really glad that i was able to find one that fits my feet snugly & comfortably.

Presenting my KIMI flats!


I bought mine at the Noel Bazaar for only Php 580 (i think?) for 2 pairs! How awesome is that?!


I'm just bummed out that Kimi is not available everywhere.
*sigh*

Do you know where Kimi is available?
I would love to own a few more pairs.

Well, i think this post is already too long. hahaha!
Just to let you know that i am still alive & i always read your comments.
Thanks for the blog support, sweeties!
Make sure you join my Week 6 giveaway,ok?

Hope you all are having a great day!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...