Showing posts with label cloth pad. Show all posts
Showing posts with label cloth pad. Show all posts

Friday, July 24, 2009

Cloth pad review

It's time for the cloth pad review...

You probably will ask me if its good or not...or is it worth it to buy these...or if its yukky especially when you think about using something again after using it 'down there'...or is a reusable/wash & wear type good?

I'll answer it later...I'll do a little introduction first...

Cloth pad started way back... what do you think our great great grandmums used before when disposable pads where not yet available? The use of 'rags' before was during the 'pre-disposable pad' days, where women uses old cloth. Then in came the Southall's pad, which was the first diposable pad ever.

It is believed that the use of cloth pad is 'healthier' for it doesn't have added chemicals that disposable pad have. Just think of the disposable pads now, based on the advertisement, they have this chemical that absorbs the wetness turning them into 'gels'. I know that because i used to experiment with disposable pads before when i was a kid. I used to do my own TV commercials, i memorized the lines & act the whole commercial (by myself!) complete with brand A & brand B..hehe (silly little me!)

Now, if that is not proof enough of the chemicals that is being used on pads, then how about the adhesive? That for one is really something...Chemicals that are being used in pads these days can still cause some 'odor'...& in a way, i agree...i was thinking before if the odor was actually from my body, but after using this for quite sometime i came to the conclusion that it wasn't me..but the pad that i was using.

It's pretty weird & yukky to think that you will use again something we have already used before, especially 'down there'...but then what you prefer to use...a chemical laden stuff..or would you choose something that is more natural.

Ok, enough with that, im pretty sure you get the idea,right?
Cloth pad is good...

Going back to the review..
I bought mine from Tiny Tapir...just because its the cheapest that i could find.hehe..plus the fact that it's just from Malaysia. Compare it if im gonna buy it from Etsy, shipping would take at least a month..

I actually ordered the:
Let's go first with the Saffa Pantyliners...

Actually i gave the other one to my mum...the red & blue one...I was not expecting that im gonna like this one so i did...I said to myself ' i think this is gonna be yukky'...so at first i was wary of actually trying it out since i was used to 'use & dispose'...the idea of 'use & reuse' is appealing, but not when its already on my grasp.. XD

Based on the description:

Saffa Pantyliner

by Saffa Cloth

8in x 2.5in when closed.

Hmmm...reversible,eh?! interesting!

Well, it really is reversible! This is how it looks like (the front)

the back....then if i close it, with the pink ends...this is with the yellow endsJust think about it you can use the other side too actually it doesn't matter which is the front & the back since the snaps will still fit no matter what side you choose.

One thing that i like about this is that it stays put, plus its very comfy to use. It's just like im wearing 'noting'...because its cotton...compare to pantyliners that sometimes can cause rash if the edges rubs the skin which can result to the skin being red or itchy..this one wouldn't ever give you rashes...

Plus its thin enough & you're 100% sure that it won't ever accidentally 'fall' (in extreme cases ..lol) because the snap is durable...

Anyways, we don't have that much daily discharge,right? We only use pantyliner for 'protection' if ever...If you're thinking of bacteria & stuff, you can just sanitize it by washing it in hot water. Since this is flannel, i don't you'll have problems with it..& thus making it sure that all bacteria is dead..just make sure you don't put fabric conditioner,ok?

Now, going to the Saffa Medium Pad

Saffa Medium Pad

8.5in x 2.75in when closed.

Made of 4 layers of flannel for absorbency, a hidden layer of waterproof PUL to prevent leakage and a bottom layer of fleece to avoid slip.

Upper layer is made of printed flannel which is imported from USA.(Upper layer goes next to your skin).

PUL is also imported from USA.

Suitable for light or medium flow period.

Closes with matching colored snaps. Double snaps for snug fit.

This one is longer than the pantyliner & a bit thicker too. One thing that i forgot about the pantyliner is that it got 2 snaps too...which would give you the freedom to choose how you want to put it....It's just like this one:

see that? You can opt for an extra snug fit by using the farthest snap so to be sure that it won't ever move.If you noticed it, the bottom part is made of fleece which will ensure that it would stay in place...hey, that's an additional security..we know that fleece doesn't absorb wetness like how cotton does..

Since the bottom is fleece, you can't just reverse it & use the other side too...this is a day pad, so its made for the purpose of absorbing menstrual discharge.

Going to the Mothering Wingless...

Mothering Naturally - Wingless

Basic wingless pad lined with PUL.

Available in Super and Regular sizes - Regular sized pad can be slotted into the Super sized pad for double absorbency .


I did not know that the Super one is really 'Super in size'...did you took a close look at the pic above? the blue wingless pad is just the normal length of pad that we see & use, but the Super is "Super"...

Anyways, I haven't actually used this yet...I just threw everything in the washer & washed them all, but this is one that i haven't used.


Although i think this would be ok to use since you can actually stuff something inside it & the lining is like a plastic, though not quite...sorry i don't know how to call it, but it seems like an "elastic plastic", which i think will ensure that you won't have any problem with 'spots'.


I could put the other pad inside for added protection. But the other pad i think is ok to use as a pantyliner too, especially if you are just inside the house...

I actually like using it...aside from the fact that it's earth-friendly, it saves me money since i don't need to buy pantyliners every now & then...So i will definitely buy again!

Pros:
  • cheap (the saffa pantyliner is just MYR10- less than $3/piece)
  • economical
  • earth-friendly
  • odorless
  • suited for 'sensitive-skinned'
  • won't cause rashes
  • more 'fun' looking (hehe)
Cons:
  • not available locally
  • inconvenience in the sense that you have to wash them
  • messy (obviously!)
If you can't attempt to use cloth pads for menstrual discharge, then give the cloth pantyliners a try & you might like it too. I still can't use cloth pads for menstrual purpose, but as a pantyliner, i'd choose this in a heartbeat! It saves me money...i can definitely use that money for buying more make-up,right?

Excess:
I'd probably be doing lots of contest entries for the few days since im just alone at the house, mum & the rest of the gang went island hopping, leaving me & my brother to house sit for a couple of days....that's why i can't go out to send Mymy's package (sorry,girl!will ship it next week for sure!)...

Boredom is one thing that's easy to fight especially with the make up contest at bay...If you wanna know the latest contest & giveaways, do drop by on my other blog...I update it regularly so that you will be able to know the latest...I put the follow button out instead of hiding it.. Click HERE

Jaa~!
^_^

Friday, July 03, 2009

another trip to the PO to pick up a parcel

What do you know...another package...

With my experience yesterday, the Post Office is the last place that i wanna be in today...after shedding more than a thousand pesos i don't think i would wanna pay that much again..it was a horrible experience & im not ready to go back to that awful place...
T_T

But since i have a notification card again that was delivered early this morning, i knew that i have to go since according to the card i can only pick up parcel during tues, thurs & fri..& i certainly don't wanna wait until next week...& lightning doesn't strike twice,right?

So reluctantly i got ready with a heavy heart...
if before im excited everytime i go to the PO, now i dreaded going there

As im near the room where i was supposed to get it, there is this woman who was just standing...she smiled at me & she said
"you're here to pick up another parcel?"
i said "yeah" but not smiling..
then she said again "you're always here...do you also have to pay the customs?"
& i said "yeah"...then told her my story...

Know what...she was horrified to know that i paid that amount...
She said, "the next time he asked you, come to me & we'll talk to that CO (customs officer) so that you won't need to pay that amount."

Hallelujah!!! an angel came & saved me from the evil claw of the custom officer.
I thanked her from the bottom of my heart (& wallet XD) & went on my way...

As i was standing there waiting... i paid the Php35 (less than a dollar) which is the standard charge...
went to the CO to have my package inspected (he had the gall to ask me how much was the package!the nerve!!!!told him its just $10)
then he handed it to me...then said i need to sign their logbook.

The man who works at the PO (who i became friends with) asked me what happened yesterday..I told him the story in a hushed tone for the CO officer is still there... I'll not give the whole details but let's just say that i don't need to be afraid of online shopping anymore. There are still good people working at a public office..i thanked him & happily went on my way home...of course stopping at the desk of the kind lady who i talked to a while ago to just give my thanks again...
^_^

After bad things...good things will come & i have to say that it's true..

Now, on to the package that i picked..
I made a post before about cloth pads...that i ordered from Tiny Tapir

These are what's inside

I actually ordered:
2 saffa pantyliners - the 2 pantyliners at the right (the one with yellow wings & blue wings)
1 saffa day pad - the one at the left (with the pink wings)
then the mothering naturally wingless - the one at the top...

Im still getting the hang of familiarizing myself with it for it seems confusing (the names & parts), will do a review of this too..

Im pretty sure i'll be busy with all the product reviews that im about to do & also for my ongoing contest...

Well, all's well that ends well...

ps:
thanks to all of you who expressed concerns about what happened..
*hugs*
i really love everybody!

Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...