Showing posts with label nu-yu. Show all posts
Showing posts with label nu-yu. Show all posts

Friday, April 24, 2009

Ecotools foundation brush review

I'll take a break from my contest entries & get on with a review...

As what i said before, im gonna be doing a review on the brushes that i got from Ecotools. I'll just leave the 6pc brush set for the meantime & focus on the foundation brush first.

Im having mixed feelings now...I was pretty excited when my packaged arrived from Makeup Mix Shop all because of this brush. I used it first without cleaning it so that i can see for myself how it actually feels (all brand new) & i freakin' love it! It's perfect!.....well,that is..until i cleaned it... *sigh*

This is how it looks like before:
happy & full of life...

with its shape all intact & no fly-aways

it gives a little fight back which i do like a lot.

That was the day where i thought that it would stay like that...

but now....sorry if its blurry..i took it in my room

look at its sorry state....its shapeless...oily...doesn't even have life...& is LIMP & FLIMSY....


It seems oily..on which made me think if its just what i used...

First time that i used it...i used the Wet n' Wild Ultimate Cover...maybe it got oils on them or something...so i cleaned it...& dried it...it was like that already...

Then i used it on my cooling tint (which i know is actually oily) before i clean it again...This time i cleaned it twice...first with a baby bath (details here) then with a regular dishwashing liquid (ha!talking about removing oil residues!)...but its still like that!!! arrrrggghhhh!!!

If you don't have an idea how 'oily' it is...look at this 'test' that i did:

i gave it a bit of a shove (the bristles....)...let it go...then..look at that...

it would not even return to its natural shape..which means that its stuck with something somehow... *sigh*

It kinda annoys me to see it like that...actually i have another brush like that that got the same problem...

its an eyeshadow brush..a round,slanted brush

look at that....annoying,isn't it?

i can understand if the foundation brush will be like this (because i guess some foundations can have mineral oils on them or something) but not an eyeshadow brush..

i brought this at Nu-yu for i think less than Php300 (i think its less that $6)...such a disappointment!

Anyways, im not stopping there...if dishwashing soap didn't work....ill try laundry soap! lol

But one thing that i can say about it is that it disn't shed..not even one hair..not even when i used the dishwashing liquid & washed it hard...plus the ferrule would not even budge..which is an indication of a good brush...it's just the bristles...

If its still like this..then maybe ill just grab The Face Shop's foundation brush...hope it will not be like this too...Then also a brush cleaner just to be on the safe side...

One of my wishlist would be to be able to have the beauty blender...if i have that, i dont think ill need to use a foundation brush anymore.

Has this happened to any of your brushes before? What did you do? Do you think its just because of what i used?

Thursday, April 16, 2009

Nu-yu Minerals Face Mist Review

This is one of the pic that i took when i wasn't able to upload pics for a while...like last week... I've been meaning to do a little review on this product but i always forgot...

Face Mist from Nu-Yu Cosmetics...it's a local mineral makeup brand (based here in the Philippines). They have the usual product from face to lip needs... They also have toiletries like lotions, soaps, etc... but i just brought 3 stuff from them when i saw that they were on sale...(that was ages ago..can't even remember when was that). I got the big kabuki brush, round eyeshadow brush & the face mist...

The label says that it got:
  • aqua
  • essential oils
  • menthol phenoxyethanol
The first two looks ok..but the menthol phenoxyethanol made me scrunch my face...
I know that menthol is supposed to make the skin feels refresh...but...i dunno..i think its a bit drying too..Since i have an oily face...it won't be a problem. So i grab it...same with the other 2 brushes...paid for it & tried it the moment i went to the loo.

First spray....i think i got excited, i sprayed it near my face & it forms into like beads of perspiration..lol...so have to wipe it off & do it again...

I guess its because i made a mistake on my first try that it left my face sticky. So i was not impress... But then the next day, since it was so hot, i tried it again...& of course i put it away from my face & it did feel nice. My face felt refreshed that i even wanna spray it all over my body...though i just sprayed it on my arms...

Then i forgot all about it & found it one day...since im not using it anymore, little bro asked if he could have it & i gave it to him. & i see him using it every now & then..he said that it feels nice...

I guess it works same with any other face mist.. but since i tried it & its just ok, ill not buy it again...
i wanna try out other facial mists....

Oh & the price... i got it at Php 80 (almost $2) on their sale but the original price is Php 100 ($2.25 i think)... not bad,right?

PS:
I was about to post a pic of the 'water beads'..lol..
but instead i saw my dog..so i just took his pic...
he is a chocolate labrador!
^_^

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

What's inside my cosmetic kit?

I made an entry before about the cheap cosmetic bag (although i think its really just a bag) that i found...click HERE to know more. & I actually bring it as much as i can...that is, if i am bringing a big bag... but nevertheless this is my ultimate "carry all my cosmetics" bag. I packed everything that i can on this tiny bag from hygiene care to makeups, i tried to put everything because i hate going somewhere & missing any of the stuff that i used whether it be used to clean my face or just for touch ups. So, this is what is inside my 'kikay' (a filipino slang word for sassy) kit (kikay kit is what mostly, we, filipinas call our cosmetic kit) :
What's included? I'll list it for you:

1 - Vitress Hair Polish
2 - Charmee feminine wipes
3 - Hello Kitty wet wipes
4 - mineral powder bag
5 - CG Eyeslicks
6 - Eye makeup brushes case
7 - a pack of bobby pins
8 - a pack of cotton pads
9 - Lancome Bi-Facil Eye Makeup Remover
10 - cold cream
11 - Benefit That Gal Brightening Face Primer
12 - Clean & Clear Moisturizer
13 - Nivea Lip Care - Strawberry
14 - Ellana Lip Color - Infatuation
15 - Lancome Juicy Tubes - Fraise
16 - 2 way mirror (its a must!)
17 - Cosmetic Sponge
18 - Clean & Clear Oil Film (yes, its pink!)
19 - Clean & Clear Deep Action Refreshing Cleanser
20 - Fashion 21 Eyebrow Duo
21 - Lancome Sensational Eye Palette (warm)
22 - kabuki brush bag
23 - Fanny Serrano Lash Curler
24 - In2it Long Wearing LipLiner
25 - CG Lash Blast (Waterproof)
*wipes forehead* whew!

That's a long list,huh? It's just that since i have an extra oily face & i perspire a lot...(seriously!) so i have to make sure i bring the necessaries with me so that i can reapply whenever i want to.

Inside number 4 - mineral powder bag, i have mostly sample jars of foundation.
Since i don't use that much foundation, i don't see the need of bringing the big foundation case with me & if i do this i have lots of varieties to choose from.

It's not only foundation, i also have some mineral eye pigments & a blush on it.I made an entry of me using sample jars of foundation when travelling... you can take a look of that HERE...

Here's what's included on it:I'll not enumerate them one by one, but they are Everyday Minerals, Joppa Minerals & Ellana Minerals.

Then number 6 - eye makeup brushes case, i included just 3 brushes.A fluffy eyeshadow brush, a pencil brush, an angled brush & NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk. I put it in an earphone case that i found lying somewhere in my room...good thing i didn't throw it away for it still has some purpose to do..lol
I have to bring the white pencil because often times my eyes look tired. I put a dot of white near my tearduct area to give me that "up & awake" look.

For my kabuki brush, there's nothing special about it.I brought it at Nuyu Mineral Cosmetics for like $8 & its in a coin purse bag (which i think is a pretty good idea). Since the bag is a bit big i included a disposable sponge too if ever there would be times that i would need it...

I have to include a pack of bobby pins & hair polish because i like styling my hair (who doesn't?!) XD

Ok, that's too many, but i can most certainly pack it inside my kit....
Don't believe me?....Ok, here's how it looks like:
This is the bottom of my kit, i have to put the eye makeup brushes at the bottom of it. Ooopppsss, i forgot something...see that purple tin at the left pocket? That's my Stila Solid Perfume. I have to have something handy & this is just perfect.

Then after i have arranged everything on the bottom, i can pack everything again...
& there it is..everything is right inside where i need them...

Since this bag got lots of pocket on it...I mean all sides have pockets, so i can put stuff inside them. Look at the front:
I put the Bi-Facil in the front pocket so to avoid any spillage if ever...

So, there it is! Maybe you're asking, 'will this fit inside a bag?'....Actually, yes! Since i always bring big bags with me, i can put it right inside without any fuss at all. And what i like about this kit is that its standing upright so everything is in tip top shape. I can just take it out of my bag & put it in a table all neat & tidy!...

How about you,what's in your cosmetic, carry-all kit?

Ok,so that's it... Up until now i haven't had a card reader yet..I brought one yesterday but it didnt fit the XD card of my cam, so i have to buy another one...bummer...i cant return it because i tried cutting the ends of it to see if i can do something about it, but to no avail..(lol!) So for this one, i just have to 'borrow' (more likely i just took it.hehe) my mom's fone just so that i can do a blog entry...

Sucks not being able to update my blog regularly because of cam prob... =_="

Hope you'll all have a nice week ahead!

PS:
Anyways, Last night i painted my nails & took a pic of it:
Zebra prints,anyone?
I wanted to give it a bit of flair so i just decided to use purple as my base & white as the stripes....

Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...