Showing posts with label eye primer. Show all posts
Showing posts with label eye primer. Show all posts

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Move over UDPP! Etude House Proof 10 primer rocks my socks!

Seriously! I freakin' love this product!

I'm sure you are all familiar with Urban Decay Primer Potion, Too Faced Shadow Insurance, MAC Paint Pots, Bare Escentuals Prime Time, Guerlain Ombre Eclat Eye Shadow Primer, etc... they are good primers...will really make your eyeshadow vivid & crease-proof.. but one thing that they share is that they are quite expensive.

These products ranges from $16 to $35, on which i think is not that budget-friendly. But hey, considering the quality & the purpose of these products, they will still be well worth your money. But don't we all want a primer that is at least budget-friendly? Something on which you won't need to allot a certain part of your allowance/salary just to be able to purchase it. I know a big number of my followers are students & are budget-conscious... well, so am i!hehehe

I've already said before that UDPP, when sold here in the Philippines, is priced at $23. Based on my experience, if you use it everyday you expose the product to air therefore cutting the life span of it shorter. I remember watching a video before saying that UDPP can last up to a year provided that you keep the cap tight, making sure that it's not exposed to air as often you can. In my case UDPP lasted for 6-8 months...6 months on the original, cute-but-useless packaging & a month or so as soon as i depot it because once it is exposed to air it really dries up.

Hence if you are going to depot UDPP make sure that you put it in a glass container. Plastic pots/pens are not tightly sealed so it's not good in storing products that dries easily.

Now, going back to the main star... Etude House Proof 10 Eye Primer is the bomb! It is an awesome alternative to expensive primers for just a fraction of the price.


This is the description on the back of the carton if you want to take a look...


Then the ingredients...


Oops! Did you notice the life span?
It's only for 6 months?!
Well, no problem.. it's not that expensive to begin with & most often than not some products still have a bit of an allowance for the life span.

This is how the packaging looks like... It is in a plastic bottle with a wand applicator... But you don't need to worry about this drying because the cap seals tight for it has another layer that really locks it air-tight.


This goes on really invisible... I know you can still see the trace of it in the 2nd pic but if you actually spread it it will go on without any color at all so this is good for any skin tone.


I'll not swatch any eyeshadow color anymore with & without the primer for we know that we use primers to make the colors more vibrant aside from the fact that it will make it crease-proof. So let's jump in straight to the crease test...

I used Victoria's Secret Beauty Rush Luminous Shadow in Plum Passion. I wanted to go for a darker color so to be able to really see the difference but i can't find any single dark shadow on my kit at that time so i just decided to use this shade.


So, i applied it at around 9am... I just did 1 eye & i never went out but it was extremely hot that i had to wash my face 2x... I just made sure that i did not wet the area where i applied the shadow.


As what i said.. this is after 2 face washing, so imagine how oily my skin gets that i have to wash it twice.. i'm like an oil mine! How much more my lids! But still the shadow looks great! It's almost the same with how i applied.

Then time to work...
*classes*

Skin getting oily again.. but since i am already in my classes so i just use Witch Hazel toner to get rid of the oiliness for the meantime.

I completely forgot that i had an eyeshadow on, if not for my little brother saying that i look like a freak did i realize that i still have the shadow so i immediately took a pic before i smear my shadow all over...


So at around 10 pm, this is how it looked like.. The flash may have washed the color out, but there was a creasing but it's not really bad considering that as what i said, i have a very, ultra oily skin.If you can see my crease, that's just it. It didn't clump the shadows together but it just made a line.

But i'm already happy with it because as what i said before even UDPP crease on me on extremely hot weather. There was even a time when my shadows look like a mess for just a mere 3 hours with UDPP on. That's how oily my lids are!

I guess this also has it's drawback. Since this is in a curvy bottle with a wand applicator, getting to the last 'drop' of it is impossible too. You may need to depot it too to get the most of it. If that time comes then just take the scraper out so that you would still be able to get the product out without having to depot it.

Now what makes this a keeper for me is that it doesn't make your lids feel rubbery, unlike UDPP. I remember when i used UDPP it has this heavy, rubber-like feeling (on which i gather makes the shadow more vibrant & makes them stick to the skin) which is a bit 'uncomfy-in-a-small-way-but-doesn't-mind'. Too Faced Shadow Insurance's packaging is good, i have tried it but it still has that rubber-like feeling, thought not as bad as UDPP.

This goes on smooth. Actually this dries a bit slow so you would really have the time to spread it evenly on your skin unlike other primers that dries fast as soon as air hits them.

I'm so happy that this is such a great product & will definitely be a staple in my kit. This is pretty cheap for it's only Php 298, if im not mistaken... but what i'm sure of is that it is less than Php300 (less than $7).

\(^_^)/
w00t w00t!

So, let's summarize it:
PROS:
  • cheap
  • locally available
  • dries invisible
  • works great
  • doesn't give you that rubbery feeling
  • doesn't dry fast so you will have plenty of time to work this on your lids evenly
CONS:
  • same packaging with UDPP... depot, depot, depot
  • product span is only for 6 months upon opening
Will i repurchase?
OF COURSE, I WILL!
I don't give a dang about the 6 months span... it's the quality that counts. I don't have to buy internationally just to be able to get a good primer.. this is locally available. Yatta!
 
This is the only Etude House product that wow-ed me! Others are just ok with.. i like them, but this is the only one that totally blew me away!

Give this a try!
You might like it too... After all, it's less than $7... how's that compare to $23 that you pay for UDPP (pricing is based on Philippine standard).

Hope you all are having a great day!
Jaa~!
^_~

Thursday, September 30, 2010

just a little update~

I was finally able to watch Resident Evil 4!
Finally! Though i wasn't able to watch it in 3d since there are no tickets left & i don't want to wait for hours just to be able to watch it for i still have classes during the weekend.


I said before that i  am a great fan of Resident Evil... I have played the game, watched the CGs, & of course i will never miss the movie. I hate movies that have part 2 or 3 & so on, but i make an exception for Resident Evil.

I won't spoil the story for those who haven't watched it yet... I may be a fan but im not the type that is influenced over my likeness for something. I think the effects are good... but the story is just mediocre. I'll be looking forward for the next Resident Evil...

*otaku mode on*
I'm more of a Jill Valentine fan, but Claire Redfield is still a pretty good character. Sienna Guillory Well, considering that there are just 2 female characters... But i wonder if they would be including Leon Kennedy somehow.

I hope if ever they would decide to include Leon that they would choose a hot & rugged actor like Jensen Ackles (who i think is actually very suitable to be Leon for Jensen got that 'cold' look when he is annoyed or crossed). Leon Kennedy is my most favorite RE character. I have watched RE:Degeneration over & over again just to go 'Kyah, Kyah!' over him.

*clears throat*
Anyway, let's go back to random things...

I was with Walter, of course, & we decided to try eating at Kangaroo Jack's. The place was crowded & bustling, which i think is a good sign for it means that the food might be good.


Walter ordered Steak Ala Pobre & we were surprised with how big the serving of the rice is. Compare to the usual restaurant where most serving are just a cup (or make that half-cup most often) each serving, this one isn't. This is good for hearty eaters!


Then we also ordered Beef & Mushroom as an appetizer...i think..
It taste good but nothing special..i feel that this is something that a person can easily whip up at home if you have Worcestershire & Oyster sauce..plus a few spices. I think i need to try it..


Mine is just Spaghetti Meatballs. I think it actually tasted pretty good!
It's spicy with a hint of sweetness & sourness too. I think most filipino would love it since we prefer sweet pasta sauces. I'm not really into sweet sauces, but i don't mind this because it's spicy & the savory flavor are there.

We also ordered Cream of Mushroom soup but i forgot to take a pic for we have been busy talking & eating too. It was a bit salty though... We paid for Php 572 all in all together with 2 regular iced tea & a service charge... can't exactly remember how much the service charge is though.. But i think the price is not that bad...

Then the other day i went to Etude House to check if they have the Eye Primer already & was i glad that they already have it!


Yokatta na! Thank goodness!
I was seriously thinking of buying UDPP which is a lot more expensive. So i bought 2 since i have reviews about this primer saying that this is actually a good alternative to UDPP too... sugoi,ne?

Will do a review once i've really fully tested it. I just have to grab Pocky for it's been a while since i have not eaten it for quite sometime.


Never realized that Pocky with Almonds are way more expensive than the regular ones. I mean, i know it should be but it's almost 3x the price of the regular ones...

Then when i went shopping at the SM Hypermarket the other day, i saw this... Simba Natural  Mosquito Repellent Sticker... see that kawaii lion peeking at the hole below? I think it looks adorable. I was sold with that cute sticker.


Naturally, i was curious too...
I have been using it for a couple of days now & i think it does work..but only for a couple of hours. Doesn't really work for 72 hours.

I had a very relaxing days the past week for it was holiday in Korea & my students were on vacation so i was able to spend time for myself. Whoopee!

I'm slowly saving up for Christmas. I don't think i'll be buying as much gifts as i used to before because i always ends up buying stuff for me when im in the mall. So i'll probably just be giving money away for my godchildren... but i;m still not sure. I have to think of my birthday first before Christmas! I'll really be turning a year older again.. (-__-')

I'll be going on a swimming spree this weekend for it's my bff's birthday! How fun! I'm so looking forward to it!

Anyway, that's just a little update so that you know i haven't really abandoned my blog.hehe. I'm just a silent reader & i do try to leave love messages in the posts that i read. This is my 2nd post for this week.. hope i'll be able to do a 3rd post.

Hope y'all have a great day!
^_^

I'll try to post a weekend nail maybe tomorrow~

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

rants & ramblings:renewing my love for eye make-up

I want to renew my love for doing eye make-up for lately i have been doing the simple make-up look. I decided to experiment with my eyeshadow palette & came up with this look...


I haven't posted an eyelook for quite sometime... though this one is not really a tutorial for i want to do the tutorial when it is in broad daylight. I mostly experiment in the evening & i actually did it in just my left eye.Sorry about my messy brows.


This is how it looks like on the whole face so that you would have an idea..


I haven't touched my 88 palette for like 8 months so i wasn't able to do a good job in picking the colors...i think..what do think?

I hope that this would actually make me love doing eye make-up again..on which, i have been searching high & low for an eye primer here in the Philippines. Whenever i check E-bay, i would only see some Urban Decay set, which im not really interested in buying since i only need an eyeshadow primer.

Now, i have tried The Urban Decay Primer Potion, Too Faced Shadow Insurance & also ELF Mineral Eyeshadow Primer...on which all of them works for me... even the ELF Mineral Eyeshadow. It didn't crease on me! How awesome is that?!

I've been meaning to do a review on it... but i have lost all my files before so i wasn't able to, but I think for the price that i paid for it exceeded my expectation!

So, does anybody know where i can buy a primer locally? I am really trying to avoid buying abroad for i have become quite impatient & can't abide the waiting time anymore. But mind you, it doesn't mean that im willing to buy it at an exorbitant price. I know that the usual price range of UDPP here in the Philippines is at around $23. Do you know where i can buy it at around that price range? I think buying it for $27 is too much...

Last time i dropped by Etude House in SM Manila they don't have the Proof 10 Eye Primer...
Is it already available?

Tasukete kudasai...
I want to be able to do eye makeup once more & i can't do it without a proper primer.

On the other hand, my zits are drying up already i guess it is because of the soap that i am using.
Yatta!
I will be making a review for that soap, but let me tell you that it's not your usual face soap, in fact it's not a soap that should be used for the face... with that in mind, i guess some filipinas would have an idea about it already. I won't spill the beans yet for i don't want it to just stop working for me..im not really superstitious but i'm calling all the shots just to be able to dry out my zits.

Well, for those who are celebrating the Vernal Equinox, hope that you'll be able to have a great celebration. Koreans are celebrating Chuseok while Japanese celebrate Shunbun no Hi... so for those who will be celebrating the mark of autumn, hope you'll have a happy one.

Until the tut for this look.

Have a happy day,mina-san!
Jaa~!
^_^

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Urban Decay Primer Potion


All beauty mavens know that primers are a must have, whether its a face primer to prep the face for the face makeup application or an eye primer for the eyemakeup application, primers are a sure way to make your makeup to stay on longer. As of now, im still on the lookout for the best face primer for me…hmmm….im about to buy That Gal from Benefit & Photofinish from Smahbox…but wait..this this is not about face primers…its about the most coveted Urben Decay Primer Potion…

“Packaged in a precious, genie-like bottle, Eyeshadow Primer Potion is an ultra-sheer, totally nude eye base that glides on with the wave of a wand and then disappears instantly. It’s the ultimate eye prep for smoother, longer-lasting, crease-proof eyeshadow.”

Well,i agree with it. It’s nude, glides on smoothly& keeps my eyeshadow crease proof & vibrant..what more can a girl ask for?…ah yeah..the price..hehe..it’s not exactly budget-friendly…but if you want to invest in a product that is really worth all the money that you spent…this one is a good buy.

As what i said before, i have an oily skin, which means that i have super oily lids…which makes it hard for my eye make-up to actually stay crease-proof. If i do my makeup in the morning, come afternoon, it would be a total mess already. So during the times that i haven’t tried UDPP, i would just simply take my makeup off, put an eye primer (that doesn’t actually work), then swipe it with a rice powder then apply a new one (which is really so time-consuming)…then in comes UDPP & my whole makeup routine changed…a change for the better of course!

No need to touch-ups…no need for my makeup remover…just a few swipe of it & it goes a long way…. I brought it at around $23 (shipping included of course) & i never regretted spending that much..im pretty sure that every dollar that i spent on this tiny genie is well worth.

I have experienced going on without eye primer & i always end up looking like a mess (because of my oily lids)…now, i know that i won’t ever do my eye makeup without UDPP. It saves me time, effort & money. This is my Holy Grail! :D

A two thumbs up!

^_^

Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...