Showing posts with label soap. Show all posts
Showing posts with label soap. Show all posts

Monday, October 29, 2012

Hortaleza MD Illuminous Plus Facial Soap

note:
I'm warning you in advanced that i have lots of pictures of my face in this post. I don't usually do this but this soap had convinced me otherwise, so to provide you with pictures that you can use to judge for yourself. this is embarrassing as f*ck for me but i'm doing this for the love of you all.
XD

I tested out a new soap, although i love my Orange Peel & L-Glutathione Soap to death, just because im quite curious to see how other soaps would fare after my finding "THE ONE" soap.

I'll not lie & tell you that i found a better soap than my favorite but i will tell you,people, something... this soap is the only soap that made people compliment me on my skin.

Confusing,huh? I'll tell you why later...

Now question...
How many of you know about glycerin soaps?
You know those "clear soaps" that you mostly see on bath sets, they are just simple glycerin soaps.

Glycerin is a humectant, clear liquid that is a by-product of the soap-making process. Humectant means that it attracts moisture to your skin. Soaps were produced before by combining oils & lye, the end result of it would be soap & glycerin. It is also sweet & is also use for baking & cooking purposes too! Au naturel~

As i made my research i read several claims that other soap manufacturers would strip the glycerin off of the soap. The reason is that these manufacturers also sells lotions,creams or moisturizers together with the soap. Again, glycerin is humectant which means that it will attract moisture on your skin so you won't need anything else to moisturize your skin because your skin will be hydrated anyways.

So i guess this is the reason why most companies who manufactures facial soaps/washes also have moisturizers that they sell together with it,huh? Not saying that you should stop using moisturizers just because you are using glycerin soap,mind you, if your skin is naturally dry then you have to apply moisturizers. (how many "moisturizers" did i use back there?!haha)

Since glycerin soaps contain natural oils it is better in removing oils too. Remember the idea behind OCM? That only oils can take oils off? Well, i'd recommend using glycerin soaps better than OCM!

Glycerin Soaps doesn't lather much. Why?
It doesn't contain sodium laureth or sulfate or any of those agents that makes shampoos & soaps bubbles like detergents. The said chemicals actually dry out the skin. I'm pretty sure that you know what i'm talking about. The reason why we love using facial wash is because you feel squeaky clean after usage. The natural oils are stripped off the skin, that's why.

So now that we got that little info out of the way then we can go straight to the product itself.

Illuminous Soap is specially formulated for lightening blemishes & dark spots. I guess since it contains arbutin so you can use this to address hyper pigmentation as well.


The ingredients list..


It has what they call as TinyWhite (which is combination of Glutathione & Arbutin) which i think is formulated for skin lightening purpose.

By the way, did you know that Arbutin is better than Hydroquinone?
Hydrquinone can cause skin darkening in some cases, on which is a lot worse because there's no way for you to reverse the effect of it, based on what i read. So you have to be wary when using hydroquinone. Do your research first before it's too late.

So it's good that they used a safer alternative for their skin lightening soap,no?

I'm sorry but i seem to have deleted the picture of the product accidentally while i was cleaning out my HD so i just took a picture of the soap when i washed my face a few minutes ago. hehehe


I have been using this for a month now & i can already see the effect. Not only me, even the people around me has seen a subtle glow. My cheek area has that natural flush that i almost look like i had a blusher on.

Tsk!
I hate this part.. where i have to show pictures of my face...
-_-"
but i know it has to be done...
I just never feel comfortable posting pics of my bare face though.. Im sure you could understand no matter how good people say your skin is, posting your pic on the net for every one to see is like being caught naked in a public place over & over. lol!
Plus the fact that i have to scrutinize each & every picture that i'll be posting that i'm sick & tired of my face already after deciding what i'll be choosing. XD

Well then, here goes nothing...

Remember the picture that i posted before when i did my review on the Physician's Formula Mineral Wear Powder? I'll be providing you with the full on pictures of it so you can see for yourself...


My skin is almost clear & blemish-free already except for the zit on my cheek, but im already happy nonetheless so i posted it as reference. Take note of the redness on my cheeks & it may not be too obvious here but there are some pigmentation on the apples of my cheek. Click the 2nd picture for a better view...

Now, I'll be showing you a picture of my face just this morning (October 29,2012) right after taking a shower.


Of course, my skin will be really clean because i just took a bath. I took a picture right after bathing so that you can clearly see if there still any pigmentation left. You can click it for a better view.. i can already vouch that my skin is clear & there are no underlying pigmentation unlike the pictures that i took before.

Now, here is a picture that i took just a few minutes ago... same day of course with the picture on top.


The rosy glow on my cheeks may not be obvious but it's there, believe me! People kept on telling me how naturally flush my cheeks are. 

I really hate this part because it feels like i am complimenting myself because im not really the type of person who do so, but just trust me in on this. I went to a party yesterday, i did not put on any make-up at all but i saw that my cheeks are flushed already. I have washed my face but it's just there. No need for any powders or anything! I even stopped using my Benetint days ago because i don't see the use of it.

This is the main reason why i like using products that are made locally!
They are specifically made for filipina skin so you know that what you are using is something that would agree on your skin. yay for local products~!

It's really liberating to finally free myself from using make-up!
I am already confident enough to go out & brave the big bad world with just a tube of lipstick on my bag.
hehehe

Now, i don't want you all to get excited over it. Please finish reading this post first ok? hehehe

There are still some things that i want you to take note of about this soap.
Yes, it's glycerin & it's humectant... but please be advised that this is not pure glycerin soap so you may still need moisturizer after usage. If you just want a simple glycerin soap then feel free to try out their Puressence facial soap of the same line.

In my case, i felt a need for a little moisture so i use a tiny bit of Watsons Collagen gel or L'oreal Youth Code Essence the first few times that i use it. Now i can get away with not using any but i still apply my essence or gel as much as i can.

Hortaleza MD products are recommended for people ages 18+.
I'm not really a professional so i can't go into details about each & every ingredients in their products so use at your own discretion. Please don't ask me if it's ok to use it if you are 15.. because i am using it now & i am 28 yrs old already. So the experience that i have over using this is because of my developed & "not-so-young" skin anymore.

A pretty bird told me that HBC is coming up with an anti-acne product specially designed for teens next year.  You might want to wait up for that...

My skin has been acting up again because of hormones but i'm happy to report to you all that i don't have any zits! yay for that!

PROS:
  • locally available (at your HBC stores)
  • very wallet-friendly (P65 only!)
  • it worked for me (hello, rosy skin!)
CONS:
  • might not be available internationally
Will i recommend it?
Well,i'll let you judge that one after seeing my pictures.
^_~

This is already very cheap but if you want to maximize your money's worth then you can cut this up in smaller pieces. Glycerin soaps tend to melt faster than ordinary soaps so just cut a small piece, then store the bigger piece for later use.

If you will be asking me the ultimate question of "which is better, illuminous or orange peel soap?", i would not really know what my answer will be.

I don't want to be called biased because Orange Peel cured me of my acne, but Illuminous gave my clear skin a more refined & rosy glow so i can't really say. I don't know how Illuminous would fare on acne though because i used this with clear skin. So please don't subject me to a life or death option. hahaha!

Hortaleza MD Soaps are available in different variants:
  • Acnesol (for pimple control) P65
  • Puressence (mild skin care) P60
  • Total Solution (skin exfoliating) P60
  • Illuminous (skin lightening) P65
I have tried Acnesol for a few times but since im not a fan of tea tree oil so i'm just not enamored to it.hihihi
But please try out their other variants for your different needs. 

I stand by with what i believe that every skin is different. 
What works for me might not work for you so you have to keep your options open to different choices.
I might not be able to cover everything on this post so feel free to shoot me any questions on the comment box.

Hope you all are enjoying your day!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

ps:
Product sent as sample. I did not receive any monetary compensation for this post. Opinion shared is personal view & is no way influenced by the company. Use at your own discretion.

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Guest Post:Nivea Visage Sparkling White Acne Oil Control Whitening Cleansing Foam Review

Our second guest post came from a very dear friend, Spr Rai. I'm so happy that i was able to meet him because of my blog. We always talk about skincare & we even tried a new regimen together to see if it would deliver the said promise. hahaha. Now here is one product that he swore worked for him almost miraculously! Let's get to know what it is.
It's the Nivea Visage Sparkling White Acne Oil Control Cleansing Foam.


I really like the Sparkling White line of Nivea Visage, especially their facial foams. I probably think that this is by far my favorite among them. I have oily, acne prone skin so it really suits my skin.

Not only does it remove and control oiliness, it does other actions for fairer skin as well:

Cleans into pores to remove dirt & 90% of oil
Acne Reduction Technology helps prevent acne
Skin Nutrient Formula helps lighten dark spots & blemishes
Minimizes appearance of pores
Smoothens skin without dry feeling

NIVEA VISAGE Sparkling White Acne Oil Control contains 2x smaller molecule of:
Acne Reduction Technology that cleans deeper into pores by effectively lifting dirt and oil which is the cause of acne
Skin Nutrient Formula that helps lighten acne marks and dark spots.

Whenever I use this to wash my face, it instantly removes the excess oil. I like how my face feels squeaky clean. I don't get any irritation nor do I get breakouts from it (I experience this when I use some other brands). And it really does somehow lighten my dark spots (I have a lot of them).

I'm so happy with this product. I will certainly buy again. It's very affordable at Php125.00 for the 100g and Php75.00 the 50g. And it's available at all Watsons stores too.

You can add/drop him a message on his Facebook. Click HERE to go to his page.

Saturday, February 25, 2012

Miss Kat AM & PM Face & Body Soap Review

 Did you remember this soap from when i visited the Noel Bazaar late last year?


I guess it's high time for me to make a review about it.

The packaging of the Miss Kat AM/PM soap is gorgeous,huh?
It's really unique by itself... 2 soaps in 1 box! The AM yellow soap is for morning use (obviously!) & the PM blue soap is for evening (of course!).


You can read my initial thoughts on THIS POST for reference.
100% natural! Yay to natural ingredients!


I've talked with Nelly who started these soaps & she said that she had personally tried each & everyone of their products. She herself suffered from acne before & understands how hard it is to deal with acne that's why she formulated her own.

What impressed me the time when we were talking is that she doesn't claim that this one soap will work for everyone.  She knows that every person's skin is different so if something doesn't work for you she could recommend another.

That's why if you are planning to try her soaps i recommend that you buy the trial pack first which consists of 5 mini soaps. It would contain the am & pm soaps, the 3 in 1, 24kgold, & the argan soap.

Anyways, on with the review...


AM Beauty Bar
Soap Idea: Clear it!Our AM beauty bar clears moderate acne and bacne and regulates dull oily skin. It dries out pimples fast that visible result can be seen in just3 days! leaving you a healthy-looking skin!
Direction: Start your day with our AM beauty bar! Lather over  face  in 1 to 2 minutes and you’re done! Visible results can be seen in just two weeks.
For first time users,do patch testing by applying small amount of product for 5-10 minutes. If no irritation occurs, continue to use the product.
Ingredients: glycerin soap base, BHA, Kojic, Calamansi, Borage Oil, Cantalope fragrance oil, black beads



This is how the AM soap looks like...
It smells sweet! What a nice way to start your day!
^_^

I feel like you could get a sugar rush just by sniffing this bar...LOL!

PM Beauty Bar
Soap Idea: Heal it! Our PM beauty bar will wash away those ugly acne marks , evens skin tone and tighten those large pores but never over dry leaving you a healthy-looking skin!
Direction:  Use PM beauty bar before bed time. Lather over  face  in 1 to 2 minutes and you’re done! Visible results can be seen in just two weeks.
For first time users,do patch testing by applying small amount of product for 5-10 minutes. If no irritation occurs, continue to use the product.
Ingredients: glycerin soap base, BHA, Kojic, Papaya,Borage Oil, lux fragrance oil, black beads
  • No artificial hardeners
  • No harmful colorants
  • No artificial bubble enhancers
  • No harmful preservatives
  • 100% BIODEGRADABLE
  • 100% VEGETABLE SOAP
  • HIGHLY MOISTURIZING



The PM soap smells nice too.
The only thing that differs with the scent is that i think this has somewhat a powdery scent compare to the AM.

Now i'll tell you about my experience...

I am sticking with what i said about how my skin can't stand kojic acids, click HERE to know why.
That's why i am most hesitant to try these 2 because it contains kojic, but it didn't sting at all! That's why i'm so glad that i can finally experience the benefit of kojic acid on my face minus the sting.  Of course this doesn't only contain kojic acid but other ingredients as well.

Now, i don't have acne anymore so i can't really attest how this product will fare for those with acne but what i can say is that the claim for 'visible results can be seen in just two weeks' could most probably be true. Why?

3 days after using this combination i felt a small bump on my jaw area. I thought at first that this product is not good because i got a zit but it just so happens that i had my monthly the day after. When i realized that it was because of hormones & not the soap itself i continued using it to see if it could stop my soon-to-be-pimple.

The next day it became a pimple but wonders! it wasn't the kind that is really red & angry-looking. It was actually just a tiny red spot so i surmised that the soap might have done its job because before they will be really red once it's already a full-blown pimple during my post-acne stage. I continued using it for a week & sure enough, it dried up within the week!

So i guess i would agree to what they claim that visible results could be seen as early as 2 weeks (but not for acne, because again, i don't acne anymore).

Now, these are things that i would just like to point out:
  • 2 soaps for a day
Personally, i find it a nuisance. I mean i've gotten used to using just 1 soap for morning,afternoon & evening washes. I wash my face every now & then. Oh please, before you go saying 'That's not how it's done,Thia. You should just wash your face 2x a day.", i'll just tell you that i know what works for my skin & i find out that i was able to stop my acne by that.

So when i have to wash my face in the afternoon i was like, 'uh, do i use the AM or PM?"
LOL! I just used the Am though, but the point is i find it a nuisance to switch soaps every wash time. But this would sit well for those who got separate products for morning & evening!
  • i don't think you can buy a separate soap
Anyway, you're supposed to use both for 1 day,ne? So i guess you'll be able to use them up both at the same time.
  • smells too sweet
At first i find the scent nice but later on i seem to have 'gotten tired' of the scent. I find the too-sweet scent to be somewhat nauseating. I have a sensitive sense of smell & i wash my face every now & then that's why but if you do not wash your face every now & then like how i do & love the scent of this then good for you.
  • doesn't lather that much
Hey, that's good! It means that it doesn't contain harsh ingredients that could strip your skin's natural moisture. But for someone who is used to/loves products that lather you might not like it.
  • this lasts forever! hahaha
OMG!
These soaps are amazing! I have used it for my body too & it's still whole! Of course i've used much but to think that i started using this december of last year & i still have 1/3 left is just simply amazing! I remember Nelly saying that it could even last for 8 months as long as you just wet your fingers then lathering it on a part of the soap. I agree! this could last for months!

These are just the things that i want you to know so that you could decide if you'll want to try this. You decide for yourself if the things that i wrote at the top would fall on the pros or cons,ok?
Let's summarize,of course:
PROS:

  • locally made with 100% natural ingredients
  • locally available
  • gorgeous packaging
  • it works!
  • it lasts for a long time (i just have to stress on this!)
CONS:
  • can only be bought online (i think?)
  • not internationally available
  • could be a bit expensive at first (it's sold for P249 per box of 2 soaps)
Will i buy it?
Nah. Since this lasts for a long time i think these 2 are enough for me.

Note: 
I stopped using this already just because i am getting nauseous with the scent but it doesn't mean that i didn't like it.

Again, i highly recommend that you buy the trial pack first so you'll know what works for you. they even have argan oil soap! I'm sure most of you know the benefits of argan oil,ne?
^_~

Make sure you visit their WEBSITE because you can get a free beauty book! How awesome is that?
You can really tell that they care for you! Kudos to Miss Kat!

Hope you all are having a great evening,hunnies!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

ps:
Product presented as sample. I did not receive any monetary compensation for this post. Opinion shared is personal view & is no way influenced by the company. Use at your own discretion.

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

New Product: Miss Kat Soap

I have received an invite to get to know a new product which is Miss Kat Soap. Since you all know that i'm a soap fan, there's no way that i would be missing on this.

I prefer to really feature brands that are just starting or just simply isn't known that much all because i think they have a lot to offer that people are just not aware of. So, last Saturday, i went to the Noel Bazaar at World Trade Center to visit them & look at how cute their stall is!


Look at all the goodies they have in their bucket!


Everything smells so good!


Let's get to know everything one by one.
The AM & PM soap... i have to admit that i'm drawn to their packaging! How cute is that?!
2 soaps in one gorgeous packaging. I like the idea that this soap has different benefits that is perfect for a specific time.


The AM & PM Soaps...



Ingredients:
Glycerin soap base, BHA, kojic, papaya, orange oil, lux fragrance oil, black beads

Whoa! It contains BHA, papaya & kojic!
3 known ingredients that are known for fighting acne.. BHA for those who are not aware is Beta Hydroxy Acid which is commonly known as salicylic acid. Did i get that right? I think that's what i rememer on my research when i made a post about aspirin mask.

Y'all know that i can't handle pure kojic acid on my skin. I tried this & i was actually half-expecting that i would experience that familiar but-oh-so-painful tingling that i always feel when i use kojic soaps, but wonder of wonders! i didn't feel any tingling at all!
Very promising!

I'll start using this tomorrow (start of December) so that i know when & what are the effects of it for a specific time. It smells sweet, btw.

Candy sweet actually for the AM Soap! Makes you think of a newly bathed & powdered baby who is chomping on a big,fat lollipop (haha!sorry, my mind is not working yet because i still have a nasty cold). It smells nice.

Sweet Powdery scent for the PM soap. If the AM soap would have a happy baby with a lolly, pm soap would just have a newly bathed & powdered baby who is already in his crib, with his baby bottle about to sleep (what a description!haha!). It smells nice too!

These soaps passed my scent test!

They have other variants as well...


The Moroccan Argan Oil & Egyptian 24k Gold Soaps!


Unfortunately, i haven't tried any of these 2 yet. I have a sample but i won't try all of them because i don't want my skin to go berserk just because of all the new things that i'm trying.hehe

As soon as im done with the AM & PM Soap i'll give these 2 a shot.
If you are a fan of Argan oil, then you shouldn't miss this. You know how expensive argan oil is,ne?
So this is definitely something worth checking out!


They also have the 3 in 1 soap....


A soap that
1. cleanses impurities
2. tones pores
3. moisturizes the skin

How awesome is this?!
I have just tried this & i like how soft it leaves my skin but i don't think i'll be trying this again because i'm scared of any soaps that moisturizes. I already have an oily skin to start with & i don't need any kind of unnecessary moisture anymore. I know all about the logic of using moisturizers for oily skin, but please spare me the sermon. I have suffered a lot on my skin & i know what works & doesn't work on me.

But i really like how soft my skin is afterward. If you have a normal or dry skin, then i would highly suggest that you try this one.

With that said, i'll be trying out the AM & PM Soap this december & i'll let you know if it works after a month or two,ok?

If you wanna know more about their soaps, you can just follow them on their Facebook page.

Thanks to Nelly for answering all my queries when i dropped by at their stall!
Thanks,sis!
You're such a sweetie!
^_^

Hope you all are having a great day!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Acne-free & loving it~!

That's all thanks to Diamond's Orange Peel & L-Glutathione Soap! It's THE ONE!


I ate my words but I don't mind, because this is THE ONE! The one solution to my problem!

For those who have been following my blog, you know how I suffered from adult acne. Yes, suffered! OMG! I can't believe that I can now use the past tense because I am now acne-free! I have been raving & recommending this soap whenever I would receive queries about acne. Why?

Let the pictures do the talking...


This is how my skin looked like when I did my post about this soap. You can read it HERE.
Now, after 6 months of continued use, this is how my skin looks NOW without anything on.


Go ahead, click it!
I don't mind you looking at it because my acne is gone! That red mark there is not acne.

Sugoi,ne?!
Amazing,huh?!

I don't have perfect skin, but I am now confident enough to go out without make-up on. I know I have large pores, but that's the least of my concern because after suffering from acne, you'll realize how minuscule that is compared to acne.

I still have some things that I want to improve on my skin mainly a mild case of acne-scar, large pores, blackheads, broken capillaries, and uneven skin tone amongst others but again, I'm just simply relieved to know that my "acne stage" is finally over! It's really embarrassing to suffer from acne. You go through your everyday activity feeling conscious thinking that people are looking at your acne & not at you when you talk.

It is really a big blow to your self-confidence. I'm just really really glad that my journey to acne-fighting has come to an end.
*whew*

I'm not saying that I can't have pimples anymore. I still get an occasional zit or two, especially during the time of the month but what's amazing about this is that when I use this, it will not grow into a full-grown zit. It will reduce in size & will just disappear! I won't even notice that it's gone!

I love love love this soap!
You might ask me what skin care products do I use?
I'll tell you...
daycare - Nivea Visage Sparkling White UV Blocker 
night care - Collagen by Watsons

You might ask me too if maybe it's the effect of the Nivea why I am acne-free. I don't think so because there was a time when I ran out of this soap, I just used the facial wash that I have here but I broke out. I immediately have to run (literally!) to Hortaleza just to buy this soap. I'm really convinced that it is this soap that made my zits go away!

I'm not an expert, ok? Just a simple blogger who has endless curiosity about things so I made a little research about the effects of orange peel on the skin & I found out that orange peel has been used as a home remedy for treating acne. You can use it as a facial mask too!

The typical home remedy is to finely grind the skin with some water until you achieve a paste-like consistency then apply it to the affected area. If you want to use it as a facial mask, you can click HERE for further info.

It is said to even be used to treat cellulite!
Amazing!
Now I won't look at orange like how I did before. I can see myself saving the orange peels starting now.

I tried looking for an explanation of the components of orange peel & how it works on the skin but simple ol' me can't find any, for now. I just don't have the luxury of time now but I'll sit on it one day to look for explanations, ok?

But for now, my pictures did the talking. You see the effect, so I hope that it helped you somehow in deciding if this soap could work for you.

One thing though, again like what I said in my review, is that the packaging makes it really easy to miss.
I have browsed Watsons countless times thinking that it's not available. I had to even ask the SAs if they have it but only to be dismayed that it's there sitting prettily without me noticing it. This goes on every time I am looking for it. Is it just my eyes or me?

But whatever, I will continue pestering SA's just so that I could get myself a bar or two. I have been repurchasing this soap again & again & again. I can't live without it! This is my saving grace!
Thank you, God for small things!
Nah, this is not small, this is a major thing for me!

If you try this do let me know how it works for you,ok?

Hope you all have a great day,hunnies!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Monday, May 02, 2011

Orange Peel & L-Gluthathione Soap Review

It's been a while since I get to do a facial soap review.

It's not because I have the perfect skin already (mind you, I think that's almost impossible! except if I will also be one of the "produkto ng siyensya", which do not appeal to me.) but because it takes some time before i really get to see what is the real effect of the soap that I am using for. It usually takes 2-3 months...with all the before & after photos that I take... before I do a review of it.

The company contacted me after reading my post about the Shulammite Carrot Soap that I posted before. Yes, they are from the same company. I have to say that this is one product that took a while in seeing the results, but I am quite happy with it nonetheless!

Let's get to know the product first...


I'm sure you have already seen this in Watsons when you go over the soap section. I have to say that the packaging doesn't really have an appeal for it looks just like one of the ordinary soaps out there... adding the fact that it's a bit expensive compared to ordinary soaps out there, you most probably have just passed this by.

But let me tell you that you ought to at least give it a moment's thought because this soap packs a wallop! LOL! Give it enough time & you'll be able to see the difference. It doesn't promise instant effect but there will definitely be a difference between before & after.
^_~
*wink*

Feel free to read the description... I guess you know what the benefits of oranges are, right?


I won't go into details about Glutathione because I think it deserves a separate post all by itself. To make it short it's one heck of an anti-oxidant in combating those free radicals. It's a super anti-oxidant & detoxifier.

If you take Vitamin E in neutralizing those free radicals that destroy the cell, Gluta works even better because it is on the prime spot, which is inside so it destroys free radicals way better than Vit E. It helps keep the cells strong & healthy.

Now don't go asking me about Met & all sorts of -tathione there is available in the market. I'm not an expert. I only read this information on catalogs & research. hehehe

Ingredients list...


This is what it looks like...


The first thing that I love about this is the scent. It has this yummy orange scent. It's not the artificially sweet scent but a real orange scent! It almost makes me wanna reach out for a glass of pure orange juice because it smells delicious! For those who love the scent of orange, I'm sure you'll be sniffing this every now & then. Using this is a pleasure too because the scent relaxes you as you continue massaging it on your skin.

I hate products that have that artificially sweet scent (as I call it) like in facial creams but I do appreciate natural scents & this one has my seal of approval! hahaha!

Going on...
As I said before, you can maximize any soap by cutting it into small pieces. The good thing about this soap is that it doesn't melt that easily. I have gone through tons of soap bars that melt like ice when you leave them in a wet soap dish, luckily, this one is not like that. In fact, this one lasted for a long time! I have used it not just on my face but on my body as well.

As I said, it took a long time for me to finish the whole bar. I think I was able to use it for 2-3 months... cutting it in pieces definitely made it last longer! I took a before & after picture of using it with just one bar.


I'm sure you'll notice the change in the skin condition. Pardon the lighting because i took the Before picture in better lighting. Anyway, my main concern is to show you the difference of my acne condition. You'll see that  the top part of my cheek on the Before picture has a group of annoying zits. In the After picture you'll see that it's gone & it didn't really leave a bad pigmentation/dark spot compare if i'm just going to use an ordinary soap.

I guess you can see the difference between the 2. As far as I know, the whole time I was using this I didn't experience any major break out, if there is it would just be really small, not quite alarming unlike before. I know that there is a big zit on the After picture. I actually took the After picture 3 days after I ran out of it & I used Cyleina Organic Tomato Soap. I told you before that not all organic soaps are a sure thing!

Thanks to Cyleina, I have a new zit after 2-3 months of being nearly zit-free. @_@ *rolls eyes*
Anyway, it's my fault because I got excited after seeing that it's already available in Watsons. Why haven't I learned my lesson that i shouldn't just pick up any stray soaps that I see on the shelves & stick to ones that work for me! LOL!

As for whitening, I'm not really sure since it's summer & I don't wear sunblock as often as I should. Knowing that I tan easily, I won't be able to tell if I did whiten during the time that I was using this. Sorry, ladies, I wasn't able to take notice of it.
:(

I'm not using any skincare the whole time I'm using this... except for an occasional sunblock. I'll be sharing with you my favorite facial sunblock after a couple of days. But then that's it! So whatever difference there is on the before & after picture, it's really just because of this soap. Anyway, I never did like putting anything on my face because it makes my skin feel suffocated!

I also forgot to add about one good thing while using this is that I notice when I had pimples, it usually results in blemishes & dark spots. But not with this, it will just heal the pimple without leaving any dark spots! Amazing! It reminded me of my favorite Neutrogena bar that was phased out.

I'm not sure if this is available in drugstores or groceries but I only see this in Watsons. It's always there! Just pay extra careful once you already see an orange bar, I know it can be quite easy to miss with all of the orange-colored packages that you see when you walk on the soap section. But do try to take notice of the L-Gluthatione, ok?
^_~

It is sold for Php 145 (i think)... I'm not sure if it's 143 or 149 though, but 1 thing I'm certain of is that this is somewhere in that price range. It might be a bit expensive at first but since it lasts a long time plus it really works then this is definitely well worth the price!

Let's summarize...
PROS:
  • locally available
  • smells wonderful!
  • doesn't melt very easily (2-3 months for just a bar? how's that?! haha)
  • it really works
  • takes a while before you see the result
  • lessens pigmentation
CONS:
  • may not be internationally available
  • may be expensive at first but you'll see that it's actually cheap in the long run
  • packaging makes it easy to miss

Will I buy it again?
I like this product! I have repurchased it & will most likely be purchasing it again & again! I highly recommend this! I'm glad that the company contacted me to try this because I would never really buy this one again the packaging doesn't stand out to me. You can't judge the book by its cover, right? This one is definitely true about this product!

If you are looking for a soap that can target those dark spots made by acne or some sunspots then please give this a try. Who knows if this is THE ONE? LOL! I will not really call it my THE ONE but it did make it on my "products to buy again & again & again" list so this is really good!

Have you tried any glutathione soaps?
Did it work for you?

Hope y'all have a great day, ladies!
Jaa ne~!
^_^

Sunday, May 01, 2011

Summer Saver:Dr. Bronner's Hemp Peppermint Pure Castille Soap

Last week...Wednesday, I think, was said to be one of the hottest days of this year on which the temperature soared to 36 degree C. I think it can even get hotter than that for the next couple of days/weeks because it's just the start of summer & is not yet in full swing.

I felt like being broiled alive yesterday but I was saved by Dr. Bronner's All-One Hemp Peppermint Pure Castille Soap! *pants for breath* The name of this product is quite long...I just call it castille soap for short.


I've had this for a long time but I am only able to use this only now because it's perfect for summer. I mainly bought this because I read from reviews that this provides a cool sensation when used as a bath soap. Since I am a sucker for anything that provides a cooling sensation, I won't pass up the opportunity on trying it!

That's why I was so bummed out when I missed out on MAC's VV collection for I wasn't able to grab the cooling powder but I'm ecstatic that they put it on the permanent line already! I can't wait until I can get my grubby hands on it! hahaha!

Going back.... castille soap was used way way way long ago. It is made up of oil... mainly it uses olive oil but other vegetable oils can be used as well. I'm pretty sure you are familiar with all the good things about olive oil so I'll just be skipping about it.

For those who don't like the scent of peppermint it might turn you off of it. It has a strong peppermint scent... as strong as the cooling sensation that it would provide once you lather it up on your skin. You can put a few drops of it on your sponge then just squeeze it again & again to lather it or you can just apply it directly on your skin then lather it for a really cool sensation.

On really hot days, i would just lather it straight on my skin. It cools me instantly to the point where even if you are using hot water you would still feel the coldness! I LLLLLLLOOOOOVVVVVEEEEE IT!

I know that some ladies even use Dr. Bronner's as a brush cleaner.
I don't. It's just that somehow the first time I used it, it feels like it has this mild oil residue that it leaves behind. I guess I just got used to using it over & over that I don't feel it anymore but I won't ever forget it. Knowing that a tiny oil when applied to my face can cause a break out so I'm just extra careful in anything that might put oil on my face even if it's indirectly.

Anyway, summer is not yet in full swing here in the Philippines, ladies but the temp had already spiked up to 36 deg... Cool off with this!

You can buy it at Healthy Options available in different sizes.
The smallest one is Php 375, the size same as mine which would be the medium one is Php435 & the biggest one which I think is like a whole gallon is Php 1005... I'm not 100% sure of the price but that's what I can remember from my visit to Healthy Options yesterday.

You can just buy the small one if you are still unsure. I know it could somehow be expensive at first but then you'll just be using a few drops every time you take a bath so I think it's still economical. A few drops go a long way because this really lathers!

What's good about Castille soap is that it's an all-around soap. It has existed way back & has been used for almost anything whether it be a bath soap, dishwashing soap, cleaners soap, mane it & this soap will do it for you so you don't need to worry about any waste even if you won't be able to use this a bath soap!


Have you ever tried using it?

Wednesday, September 01, 2010

Shulammite Carrot Soap Review

Another soap review...
*sigh*

Ever since Neutrogena acne-prone soap just disappeared in the Philippine market *cough*thanks so much to J&J*cough* (bitterness oozing from this) , i have been looking high & low for a soap that can work as good as that. I remember seeing this in Watson & has wanted to try it before. Since my favorite, now non-existing soap is nowhere to be found, i had the chance to give this a shot.


I'm sure y'all know that carrots are good for the skin.. not to mention that if you wanted to make sure that your sight stay sharp, munching on carrots is a must.

As a kid, i used to hate it... Why? because of the color!

I abhor orange!

Sorry for those who loves the color, but that is what i always thought of orange as a kid. Anything orange-colored is ugly & horrible...i just can't understand the reason why i felt so, but i did. So, i never did eat anything orange...yes, even the orange fruit. I never did use the orange color on my box of crayon even if i am making the sunset. My other crayons are already broken & badly mistreated, but not the color orange. It always looks new & unloved... that's how strong my dislike is.

Anyway, that was when i was a kid.
I think most kids hate vegetables,ne? That was before i was aware of the importance of it, how it keeps us healthy & gives us all the good blah-blahs. I slowly began to learn what's good & what's bad... eating all the good foods & try really hard to not eat the bad ones (but not that successful!). Along with this, i began to start eating vegetables, my mum shifted my all-meat diet to veggies & meat diet. That now i can't seem to eat my main meals without any vegetable-dish accompaniment.

Often times, when i go grocery shopping i make sure that i include veggies that i could munch on like lettuce, celery, carrots, etc. I would just eat them without any dressing for i try to limit any intake of 'artificial' stuff if i can.

The first thing that you'll know if the vegetables are really detoxifying your body is when your skin begins to clear up, on which i really notice. As my battle with acne went on & on, eating green salad has been one of my ultimate 'weapon'. I stopped using anything on my face like moisturizers & toners, mainly depending on soaps & prayers. But there are sometimes when my skin would throw temper tantrums & would act like a spoiled brat, making mommy do everything in her powers to placate it. Acne would flare up during that 'time of the month'. Hence, the search for the second-ultimate-weapon goes on.

After my lengthy introduction, it's time to really get to the grits about the product itself.


SHULAMMITE CARROT SOAP


 Feel free to read the description of the product below


I don't think we actually need to know the directions for use, but then you'll see that the active ingredient would be carrot essence.


How exactly is carrot beneficial to the skin when used as soap? That is the question that is most probably playing on your mind.

We know that carrots got a boat load of:
Beta-carotene which gives a fruit/vegetable that red-orange pigment, that is transformed as Vitamin A when it's already in the body. Vitamin B1, B3, B6, C, K which nourishes the body plus throw in Potassium, Magnesium, Phosphorus & a lot more to make this vegetable something that would really make this as an all-time keeper.

The high-level of carotenoids help protect skin from free radicals, encourage cell renewal & promote healthy skin. I think this is the main reason why this is mainly marketed as soap meant for those who have acne-prone skin, like me.


I used this for a month & i think it's time to give a feedback. After reading all the good things about carrots you might think that this actually solved my acne problem,ne? Well sadly, it didn't work for me. :(

How sad...

It didn't made a difference on my skin. I used this the time that my acne flared up. It didn't minimize my zits or even regulate oil. After rinsing my face, my skin felt a bit tight which indicates that my skin has been thoroughly cleanse. It's just like an ordinary soap for me. I think eating carrots are more beneficial compare to using soap (for me).

Or maybe it's just because i have a very high expectation (after thoroughly researching the effects of carrots) to this carrot soap that i felt disappointed? I hoping that it would at least minimize my zits, you know, like reduce the size of it...but i didn't notice any difference. It's like i wasn't using anything on my face.
*sigh*

I think the good thing about this is that it didn't gave me a stinging sensation unlike other soaps that i have tried *cough*Cyleina Carrot & Pineapple Soap*cough*, which is definitely a plus point. Since it didn't work on my face, i just decided to use it as a body soap. It lathers really good. It gives off a mild scent that is not overwhelming & won't clash with your body mist. It also lasts really long! I think mine lasted for 2 months or so.

But then, don't lose hope, ladies. I just have a very sensitive skin that often times what works for 95% of the ladies just doesn't work for me. As what i keep on saying, what works for me might not work for you. For those who have followed my blog & know my skin condition & can somehow relate to my skin problem & is planning to purchase this soap, let me enumerate some points to that might help.

PROS:
  • locally available
  • doesn't sting
  • doesn't melt that easily -this will really last for a long time (since this is big, i suggest you cut it in half)
  • gives that clean "feeling" every time you use it
  • it got carrot extract (i have enumerated the good things about carrots)
CONS:
  • I actually find it pretty expensive for a bar of soap - Php 100 (approx $2.10)
  • it just didn't work for me (personal experience)
I don't have anything about the soap, but since it didn't work for me, i won't be buying it anymore. Regardless to say this goes to any carrot soap. i'd rather spend the money for the real vegetable making several dishes or salads. I think it's better if not only my skin will benefit from it, but my vision as well. hehehe

Have you tried a carrot soap before?
Did it work for you?

Hope y'all have a great day,hunnies!
Jaa~!
^_~

ps:
I have been receiving a lot of messages showing support & love for my blog from my friends & everybody. i just want to say thank you to everyone. I just can't enumerate all of you, but you know who you are who always reads my blog & shows support. It never fails to amaze me how many people actually read my blog & appreciate all the ramblings & rantings that i do.

Thank you so much. It really gives me great pleasure & a warm feeling of appreciation each & every time someone leaves me messages on facebook, chat & text messages & also on my email.

Hontoni Arigato gozaimasu!
^_^

Friday, July 09, 2010

Soap Review: Acne-aid Cleansing Bar

When i reformatted my pc i thought that i saved everything on my portable hard drive. I make it a point to make a back-up of it on my portable HD & my flash disk, but for some reason i can't find it. I know that i saved it but now it's gone.. Maybe the years has just caught up on me already for it seems that i've been forgetting a lot of things lately. *sigh*

Sadly, the pics that i have of Acne-aid bar is lost.. same with all the personal photos that i've accumulated... argh! So im saying sorry in advanced if this post doesn't seem like how i do product review. I hate that i post incomplete details..but since i won't waste my money on this so i think it's better to just let this out of my way already..

Well, even if there are no pics, i can still do the review. Though it may not be as fun as it is supposed to be.


On my quest for finding a good substitute for my fave soap, i stumble upon this soap. At first i was hesitant since i find it to be a bit expensive, but since i can't go home empty-handed i decided to give it a try. With the price that i pay, i sure thought that this would be the perfect substitute.. but WAS I WRONG!

Again, since i don't have the box with me already i won't be able to show you the ingredients list but as far as i remember it says that it is Dermatologist-tested & recommended....making it sound like a dream-come-true-for-acne-sufferer. I can't go into details so i'll just share my experience...

When i use Neutrogena acne-prone facial bar on my zits, i find that they disappear the next day without leaving any marks at all (this is why i'm still simmering up for it is THAT effective to me & it's already phased-out!!!!).

When i use Acne-aid bar on my zits, i find that the zits stayed on my face like forever for it doesn't do a fig.

I know that Neutrogena doesn't really have any pimple-fighting ingredients, but it's sure as hell effective in getting rid of the dirt deep down inside the pores therefore minimizing zits & eventually gets rid of them. While Acne-aid might not have pimple-fighting ingredients (i think...correct me if im wrong,ladies), it's not effective in cleaning my pores.

What the?!
Safeguard soap is even better in getting rid of pimples than this one!

On the other hand, this one is not as soluble as Neutrogena because i have been using this for quite sometime but it still looked full. It's like i can use it for the whole year.

When using this one, it leaves my skin felling squeaky clean & it's not good because any soap that does that means that it strips away lipids that is essential in your skin.. So thumbs down for that..


I'm not satisfied at all... but i notice that this work for body acne. I have 2 zits on my chest & i tried using this & it reduce the size. Though it didn't really dried up, after using it 2-3x unlike just using an ordinary body soap. But since i don't suffer from body acne, i don't have any further need for this.

I find this expensive compared to other facial bars out there... i think i bought it for Php 172.

PROS:
  • the bar is huge so it will last for sometime
  • locally available
CONS:
  • didn't work for me
  • expensive
Needless to say that i won't be buying this again...

What facial bar are you using?
Any recommendations for me?

Hope y'all have a great weekend!

Jaa ne~!
^_~

ps:
If you know any store where i can still buy the Neutrogena facial bar acne-prone please let me know. I'm dying to get my hands on it & i'll buy everything out to make sure that i have enough stock..LOL

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

on brushes & cleansers....

Last friday i went on the hunt for the elusive Neutrogena Facial Bar, but it was a total failure! I went to 3 malls but i wasn't able to find it. *sniff* So, as my search goes on, my eyes wandered too which is bad for it made me buy some things that wasn't in my plans at all....

When i dropped by at the department store, i saw the Marionnaud brushes.


I have seen it before in Watsons but i didn't buy it. I was actually surprised by these brushes because they are really soft! The brushed that i bought are foundation brush, concealer & a pencil brush.. They are synthetic, but they are softer than the ones that i have like the Ecotools & Elianto. Remember my Ecotools foundation brush? This one is waaaayyyyyyyyyy better & cheaper than that!

Foundation brush - Php 139.75 - (approx $3)
Concealer brush - Php 69.75 - (approx $1.50)
Pencil brush - Php 89.75 - (approx $2)

I dropped by at Etude House because i was looking the Cleansing Water but they don't have it on stock. I saw this Sun Guard & tested it, it was better than the blue sun guard so i decided to buy it together with the Teatime Cleansing Wipes.


As i can't go back empty handed, i decided to buy the Acne-aid cleansing bar to see if it could be a good alternative for my favorite soap. I'll let you know after a couple of weeks what i think about this soap.


There you go...
I decided to not haul as much as i did before & i have actually just set a specific amount for spending on beauty 'wants'.

More posts will come as i try to complete my list of products to review.
Hope y'all have a great day/evening!

Jaa ne~!
^_^

Tuesday, June 08, 2010

Likas Papaya Soap Review

For all of those who have read my "how i broke the break out cycle" post, i'm sure you know that i use Likas Papaya Soap aside from the Neutrogena Facial Bar in battling out acne. Here in the Philippines, being fair is considered beautiful compare to being tan, that's why there are loads & loads of whitening products here.

Whitening soaps....
Whitening lotions....
Whitening toners....
Whitening scrubs...
Whitening facial washes....
Whitening creams...

The list is endless!!!!
The only thing that doesn't have a whitening benefit is shampoo for goodness' sake!
-__-"

I notice it a couple of days ago when i went grocery shopping with bf & i was looking for a good ol' soap that doesn't have beneficial effects. It was only then that i noticed how lots of soaps are mostly in an orange box, which indicates that it got 'papaya' which is a good skin whitener. Then i saw this lady who bought 5 boxes of papaya soap all the while chattering with her friend saying how she envies her neighbor who is so fair.

I mean, i do grocery shopping every now & then but it was only right there & then that i realize that most filipinos have this thinking that fair is better... Well, isn't it the same with others? For those who got naturally fair skin, being tan is better & goes to tanning salon just to achieve a good tan. In my case, no matter how people say that having a good tan makes you look slimmer, i can't do so because being exposed to too much sun gives me freckles on my chest area.

I remember too when i was a kid when i got a serious sunburn, my skin never peeled. If for some people it's normal for the skin to peel when they have a bad case of sunburn, mine never did. It took a year before my skin became lighter again. Which i then promise myself never to go swimming when it's really hot. All year long my classmates called me as 'negra' because i really went from being fair to a dark tan.

Ok, after the lengthy introduction about whitening & whatever, it's time to talk about the main product.... I don't have a before & after picture..just take my word that it does whiten the skin.


I remember my aunt suggested this soap as a solution to blemishes when i was still a teenager but i find that it didn't work for me so i just crossed it out on my 'soaps-to-try' list. I tried other soaps & found one that worked for me. But when that said brand changed their formula it stopped working on me so i switch to facial washes once more until i developed acne. Then a few months ago, on impulse i decided to buy this.

And it worked!

It did lighten my blemishes. So i use this side by side with Neutrogena Facial Bar. Again, i only use this when i take a bath. Actually, i use this soap for my body too. I'm not the type who got like a lot of facial products all lined in the bathroom cabinet. I only use one, both for the body & the face. That's why most of my body soaps are those that is either made from natural/organic products or is addressed for facial use.

This is how the back carton looks like:


I guess it is true that they are the first organic soap since i remember this soap being around since i was young... And i guess because of that, they have received lots of awards....


Now that we are finished talking about the brand, let's dissect how papaya can actually lighten the skin. It is said that the Papaya fruit contains enzymes which are called papain, which promotes skin renewal & cell turnover. It helps in skin exfoliation which then reveals new cells. Unlike the usual exfoliation that we do where we use scrubs, whitening soaps uses enzymes to help promote exfoliation, which i think is better compare to forcefully sloughing away the dead skin

I used to use fresh papaya on my skin as a facial mask, but i can't abide the smell of ripe papaya. There's something about the scent that turns me off of it.

The thing about using papaya soaps (i have tried other papaya soaps too) is that they does whiten the skin but it takes time. Unlike kojic soaps, that can whiten your skin in as fast as days, this one takes months, but i prefer this since i feel that my skin is adjusting to the change gradually instead of a quick change which can cause trauma to the skin.



I don't use lotions or anything so i really know that this works simply because this is the only product that i'm using as a skin lightener. I don't even use sunblock!

Yes, that's bad, but i haven't found a sunblock that won't make me sweat like crazy. It always feels like sunblock suffocates my skin..like it blocks my pores therefore making my sweat gland work doubly hard in getting rid of that film blocking it. Hence i make sure that i always carry an umbrella with me. It's not enough but i can't help it.


I will not say that i have a flawless skin, i do break out every now & then. But now i know that there is a way to help clear my skin so i'm not THAT worried about it.

Whenever i use it, i let it sit in my skin for a couple of minutes to make sure that it got enough time to for it to penetrate & do the work. It might dry out the skin & even leave the skin feeling tight but unlike the kojic soap, this is tolerable. It's better to apply moisturizer after using it. I don't use any moisturizers though, i only do so in extreme cases.

I think it's a must to let every soap sit in the skin for a couple of minutes if you really want to get the benefits that it promises.

It's priced at P80 (approx $2) & is available in leading stores & malls.

PROS:
  • available locally
  • cheap
  • it does lighten the skin
CONS:
  • will leave your skin feeling tight afterward so it's better to apply moisturizer
  • might not be available internationally
This is a staple product for me & i do make it a point to include it in my shopping basket whenever i do my monthly grocery.

So tell me, what helps you in getting rid of those unwanted blemishes from the those unwanted pimple marks?

Hope you had a great start for your week!

Jaa ne~!
^_^

ps:
don't forget to join my giveaway. just click the pic at the top
^_~

Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...