Showing posts with label base coat. Show all posts
Showing posts with label base coat. Show all posts

Sunday, December 13, 2009

weekend haul: collective haul

I'm one happy lady this weekend... utter bliss!
but not my debit card..hehe

I went christmas shopping with bf yesterday (saturday) & went shopping with my family today...bf is with us too. I know that everybody feels the same way about shopping, but the undying question of "why do we love to shop?" is always left hanging...waiting to poke your conscience right after the damage has been done.

Oh well...it's christmas!
hehehe

Anyway,it's been a while since i made a weekend haul post. I stuck with my promise to not buy any cosmetics since i think i already have a lot for personal use...so i just bought other things.

Let's start with the nail stuff...
Yesterday, I stopped by at The Face Shop & since we were in a hurry because we are starving & our arms are already tired from all the bags that we are carrying, i told him that this'll just take a few minutes.I have to say that that is my shortest shopping ever. I was just on the store for like under 4 minutes. I just grabbed the colors that i don't have yet.

& i saw 5 polishes that stood out plus a top coat...

When i went home, i made a note & listed all the colors that i have so if ever i would decide to buy polish again i wouldn't buy the color that i already have. So here is my little TFS polish collection..little by little they are growing...
Currently i have 13 polishes & 1 top coat from TFS...They are the ones dominating my nail polish collection.

Sorry for jumping...back to the haul story.

Now today, we went to SM Mall of Asia & continued my christmas shopping. I bought a dress for myself & other stuff..i'll spare you the boredom of all those stuff..hehe. I bought Sally Hansen's Double Duty base & top coat...just because!


Anyhow, they have free emery board plus they are also on sale. During christmas, all stores are on sale. That's the only thing that i'll be showing you from the stuff that i bought today.hehe

Going back to the saturday haul....

Saizen is the store that i'm looking forward to the most. We bought a couple of things like potteries, utensils & other stuff.


I don't need to say how curious i am about the charcoal mask...i think i always saw that i want to try it. So try it i will..plus the bar of charcoal soap looks nice so i added it on my cart. I also saw the face mask that has been pressed, so i tossed it on my cart too. I want to be able to do home made facial mask.

As for the socks, it just looks so darn cute! Since i have been abusing my feet lately i know that i need to continue wearing socks overtime to make sure that they are protected & it's way easier to use this since i can wear flip flops.

I'll definitely going back for Saizen! But not with bf anymore... I wasn't able to go around that much because i keep on checking bf to make sure that he won't be bored. I like taking my time when i'm going on an all out shopping spree.

Next in line is the hair accessories haul. I love hair accessories!

When i passed by the aisle, the Magic Hair Comb caught my eye so i put it on my cart, same with the head band & a pack of elastics. I like using the magic hair comb because it's even able to hold my thick hair in place!

Now i have a big problem...
As what i have just said, i have a really thick wavy hair. Although hair pins can hold it, but i always favor using hair grips. Like this...

But the problem is that i can't find any hair grips anymore. These are the only ones i have left with me.rolleye smileys

For those who live here in the Philippines, have any of you seen a box of hairgrips?
I am desperate already.character smileys

I have been to countless of malls asking of this kind of hairgrips but what they always point me to is the ordinary bobby pin...or the one that got crystals on them. I'm not going to spend Php100 ($2) for 3 pcs of them. I always misplace my hair grips so me spending that amount for just 3 pcs is out of the question.

I used to buy them at SM, it's at the SM Basics hair accessories but now i can't seem to see them anymore. It's only Php40 ($1) for a box.like 30pcs, i think. Hope one of you can help me find them. evil grin smileys

Anyway, my body is tired but im alive & kicking inside. I can even eat a lion for breakfast. All because of my shopping spree. hehehe

Expect a couple of nail art tutorials...I might not be able to do a full product review this month since i'm busy plus i'm trying to really stick hard to my new skin routine. But i'm trying to work on the info & experience that i have to make reviews for:
  • Himalaya Herbals Neem Face Pack
  • Benefit Dr Feelgood
  • Neutrogena Fine Fairness UV Compact
  • The Face Shop Quick & Clean BB Cream
  • & a couple of random stuff...
Whew!
I never realize that i have a lot of stuff to finish. I'll try my best to make a review on these. Wish me luck in making a good review on those.

I'm almost done with my christmas shopping...Actually i'm 90% done. Yay for that! Just a couple more...

How about you?
Done with the christmas shopping?

Hope y'all have a great week,ladies!

Jaa ne~!
^_~

Monday, July 13, 2009

Kiss Xtreme Growth In Depth Review

I'll take a break with the beauty products first & i'll go with a nail post!

I have used this for a few weeks already & im gonna give my 2 cents on it...

This is the description of the product:

Xtreme Growth, Nail Growth Activator

Fortified with Calcium and Ceramiane to Protect Soft, Weak Nails

Why Xtreme Growth, Nail Growth Activator

• Gives nails the protection they need to grow stronger and longer

• Calcium provides a strong foundation for soft, thin nails

• Ceramiane helps to retain moisture and improve the surface of the nail keratin


I decided to buy it because i haven't tried a nail growth product yet plus the fact that it is a top coat & a base coat in one!plus the bottle is bigger than my Revlon one...which is almost the same price...

With the Sales Associate promising that my nails would grow faster if i used this, then i gave in to her. The moment that i decided to use this i actually cut my nails short. I took a pic of it before but i accidentally deleted it & i just remembered that i deleted it right after i emptied my recycle bin..(-_-") how lame is that?!

Anyways, i started with short nails. Then so to actually see if it works i just applied it on my left hand..or rather nails...So all through out the time that i was testing i didn't put any nail polish on my nails..so my nails were pretty boring for the whole 2 or 3 weeks..

At first i thought that i just have to apply it every other day for the direction said that i just need "to re-apply every 2-3 days for optimal results"...so i just applied it after every other day. It's no sweat since it dries fast...really fast..like in mere seconds!But i changed my mind & i just applied it everyday to achieve optimal results..lol

Before i started ranting, i didn't take special care of my nails for the duration of the testing period. I do my stuff...household chores, type on the keyboard, cut vegetables, etc..& i occasionally bang or rather just drum my nails on the table when im feeling bored...

After 2 1/2 weeks of using it this is how my nails looks like now:


You might not be able to see it but it's a bit yellowish from using too much...though not that yellowish unlike if i use nail polish....Not bad if to think that i apply this daily...

That is how my nails look like with the Kiss Growth Stimulator....

Now on with my right hand...again, i didn't apply anything on them...just to see if there's any difference....

As what i said before, i didn't take any care for my nails all through out so its not a surprise if it chipped & have rough edges...but then if you notice the length of my nails, they are pretty much the same...

Though its pretty obvious that my nails length is just the same with my left hand...it's all chipped & rough mainly just because i don 't put anything on it.

Again, if you read my past nail product i said that i am right handed & i use it 70% of the time so its no wonder if there are a lot of rough edges & chipped part.

So to let you take a closer look at it, here is another picture.

Right hand without any nail protection
The curved line at the left part indicates the rough edges on the pointer finger...

Left Hand with Kiss Extreme Growth
The white arrows on the left hand indicate the yellowish color on my nails..

Now for my personal opinion...

I think this is not exactly something that would cause me to go gaga over it. I think most base coat can do what this product did..That is to protect your nails from the constant torture to them. It did protect my nails, but that is just because i apply it everyday...If i use the Sally Hansen Hard as nails on my right hand, i bet i'd even have better result with it...with half the price!

When i tried to 'bend' my nails...the one with Kiss was harder than the bare ones...*shrugs shoulder* that's to be expected,right?

But then on the other hand..what's great about this product is that its safe.. Toluene, DBP Camphor & Formaldehyde if sniffed are hazardous to health....That is where this product have its greatest advantage....its free from all of the said chemicals!

I think Sally Hansen Hard as Nails have Formaldehyde...(if i remember it right when i read the ingredients) ....correct me if im wrong,gals....that's why when i use it i try to not really breath & i have to apply it in an open space with the electric fan opened so that the smell of it won't go straight to my nose....especially if i use Caronia Top & Base Coat..i have to really hold my breath for if i smell it, i would be nauseous later on...

Time to do a summary...
Pros:
  • DBP Camphor, Toluene, Formaldehyde free
  • big bottle
  • dries fast
  • can act as a top coat & a base coat
  • gives the nails a shiny glossy finish (just like any other..lol!)
Cons:
  • a bit pricey (Php 385 - more or less $8)
  • not available everywhere (only on selected department stores)
I don't think i'll be buying this again though...I'll try the other nail care products that they have...especially the mineral smoothie (which the SA said is their bestseller)...& they will be adding more products afterawhile...

For those looking for nail art pens, Kiss have some..it's Php 200 per bottle...Im guessing its the same with my LA Colors Nail art pen...Actually, it's not really a pen..it's just a tall bottle with long thin bristles...which makes it easier to use for making nail decorations.

I bought mine at SM North Edsa...im guessing there would be some in major malls out there...

Im done!
Hope you all have a lovely week,girls!

Jaa~!

Believe in B.liv's Dump Off Drawn! I do!

I was contacted by B.liv weeks ago to try out their products. I have been so lazy in applying any skin care products lately that I can alrea...